FDIC Home - Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
FDIC - 75 years
FDIC Home - Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation

Skip Site Summary Navigation   Home     Deposit Insurance     Consumer Protection     Industry Analysis     Regulations & Examinations     Asset Sales     News & Events     About FDIC  

Home > About FDIC > Advisory Committee on Economic Inclusion (ComE-IN)

Advisory Committee on Economic Inclusion (ComE-IN)  

The FDIC Advisory Committee on Economic Inclusion (ComE-IN) was established by Chairman Sheila C. Bair and the FDIC Board of Directors pursuant to the Federal Advisory Committee Act. The Committee was chartered in November 2006.  The Committee is to provide the FDIC with advice and recommendations on important initiatives focused on expanding access to banking services by underserved populations. This may include reviewing basic retail financial services such as check cashing, money orders, remittances, stored value cards, short-term loans, savings accounts, and other services that promote asset accumulation by individuals and financial stability.

 Videos/Webcast of Advisory Committee Meetings (Video Help)

Advisory Committee Meetings


Meeting Information


02/05/2009 Strategies to Increase Access to the Financial Mainstream Agenda  HTML
Transcript - PDF 472k


07/09/2008 Strategies for Encouraging Mortgage Lending for Low and Moderate Income Households Agenda  HTML
Minutes - PDF 578k
03/19/2008 Asset Building Opportunities for Individuals and Banks Agenda  HTML | PDF
Minutes - PDF 885k


10/24/2007 Money Services Businesses – Access to the Banking System Agenda  HTML | PDF
Minutes - PDF
07/16/2007 Subprime Mortgage Situation - How Did We Get Here and
What Can We Do?
Agenda  HTML | PDF
Minutes - PDF
03/28/2007 Small Dollar Lending Agenda  HTML | PDF
Minutes - PDF
PDF Help - Information on downloading and using the PDF reader.

Advisory Committee Members

Diana L. Taylor, Committee Chairman
Managing Director
Wolfensohn & Company, L.L.C.
New York, New York
Ted Beck, President and CEO,
National Endowment for Financial Education (NEFE)

Kelvin Boston, Executive Producer and Host of PBS' Moneywise with Kelvin Boston

Martin Eakes, Chief Executive Officer,
Self-Help/Center for Responsible Lending

Rev. Dr. Floyd H. Flake, Senior Pastor,
Greater Allen A.M.E. Cathedral of New York

Ester R. Fuchs, Professor,
School of International and Public Affairs,
Columbia University

Ronald Grzywinski, Chairman,
ShoreBank Corporation of Chicago

Wade Henderson, President and CEO,
Leadership Conference on Civil Rights, and Counselor to the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights Education Fund.

Alden J. McDonald, Jr., President and CEO of Liberty Bank and Trust Company, New Orleans, LA

Manuel Orozco, Senior Associate at the Inter-American Dialogue; and Senior Researcher, Institute for the Study of International Migration, Georgetown University

Maria Otero, President and CEO,
ACCION International

John W. Ryan, Executive Vice President, Conference of State Bank Supervisors

Peter Tufano, Sylvan C. Coleman Professor of Financial Management, Harvard Business School, and Senior Associate Dean and Director of Faculty Development

Elizabeth Warren, Leo Gottlieb Professor of Law, Harvard University

Deborah C. Wright, Chairman and CEO,
Carver Bancorp, Inc.

Committee Charter and Purpose      

Other Documents

Last Updated 03/23/2009 come-in@fdic.gov

Home    Contact Us    Search    Help    SiteMap    Forms
Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Service Center    Website Policies    USA.gov
FDIC Office of Inspector General