THIS DOCUMENT IS AVAILABLE ON THE GES DISC WEB SITE FOR HISTORICAL INFORMATION
PURPOSES ONLY.
Information provided in this document may not be accurate. We recommend
checking other sources related to these data or sensors to acquire reliable and
updated information.
Explanation: The Dataset or Sensor Guide Document you are accessing is no longer actively
maintained. The Dataset Guide Documents were created for earlier versions of
the NASA EOSDIS system. The content of these documents, particularly with
regard to characteristics of the data or technical descriptions of a sensor, is
likely still accurate. However, information such as contact names, phone
numbers, mailing addresses, email addresses, software programs, system
requirements, and data access procedures may no longer be accurate. We
therefore recommend searching for updated information from other sites to
insure that reliable and current information is obtained.
Link to WINDII home page
Summary:
The Wind Imaging Interferometer (WINDII) is one of 10 instruments aboard
the Upper Atmosphere Research Satellite (UARS). Its primary objective is
the measurement of winds and temperatures in the upper mesosphere and lower
thermosphere. WINDII is the first instrument to make direct measurements of
mesosphere and thermosphere winds from space. Regular data collection began
24 December 1991 and has continued, with a few interruptions, to the
present. WINDII data have been processed to levels 1, 2, 3AL and 3AT.
Currently, WINDII level 3A version 9 data products are available from the
Goddard Space Flight Center (GSFC) Distributed
Active Archive Center (DAAC).
Table of Contents:
-
-
-
- UARS WINDII LEVEL 3AL DAILY LATITUDE ORDERED
DATA
- UARS WINDII LEVEL 3AT DAILY TIME ORDERED
DATA
-
-
The WINDII level 3A data are a subset of the UARS dataset. The
WINDII data are archived as two data products at the DAAC:
- Level 3AL
-
WINDII level 3AL data are daily latitude- and time-ordered data
interpolated to intervals of 4 degrees latitude at the
intersection of the tangent track of the instrument's line of
sight (LOS). Each record consists of a single array of data of
one parameter for a specific time. Level 3AL data records are
written to UARS defined standard latitudes, which range from
-88 to +88 degrees in 4 degree intervals.
- Level 3AT
- WINDII level 3AT data are daily time-ordered data, arranged
at time intervals of 65.536 seconds, or about 495 km intervals
along the LOS tangent track. The reference time at which level
3AT data are arranged is common across all UARS level 3AT
files.
-
- WINDII measures wind, temperature, and emission rate in the upper
mesosphere and lower thermosphere (80 to 300 km) from observations of
the Earth's airglow. Measurements are made both day and night
providing global coverage of this region of the atmosphere.
-
- Vertical profiles of wind (meridional and zonal components) and
temperature.
-
-
The WINDII Level 3AL and 3AT data are written as Standard Data
Format Units (SFDU) files. Each file consists of three records
called SFDU, LABEL, and DATA. The SFDU and LABEL records contain
descriptive information about the instrument and the data, such as
start/stop time of the data, number of records in the file, etc.
The DATA record contains the profile data and their standard
deviations. Time, latitude longitude, local solar time, and solar
zenith angles are provided with each DATA record. Each data file is
accompanied by a short ASCII metadata file, which provides
descriptive information such as the start and stop time of the
data, file record lengths, and the UARS quality flag.
After the original level 3A file formats were agreed to, it was
realized that additional parameters were needed to describe the
WINDII data. Level 3LP and 3TP parameter files were created to
include values for the WINDII JOB version number, CDB version
number, inversion quantity flag, temperature source flag, and
filter number and quality flag. Each level 3AL file for a given day
is accompanied by a level 3LP file. Similarly, each level 3AT file
for a given day is accompanied by a level 3TP file. The 3LP and 3TP
files also consist of the three record types SFDU, LABEL and DATA,
and are also accompanied by their own ASCII metadata files.
-
- All UARS level 3AL and 3AT files use the same formats to allow
for intercomparisons of atmospheric profiles between the different
instruments. The UARS High-Resolution
Doppler Imager (HRDI) instrument also measures wind and
temperature data.
-
-
-
- Name:
- Dr. Gordon Shepherd
- Addresses:
- Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
- York University
- 4700 Keele Street
- North York, Ontario
- Canada, M3J 1P3
- Electronic Mail
Address:
-
gordon@windic.yorku.ca
- Name:
- Dr. Brian Solheim
- Addresses:
- Centre for Research in Earth and Space Science
- York University
- 4700 Keele Street
- North York, Ontario
- Canada, M3J 1P3
- Electronic Mail
Address:
- brian@windii.yorku.ca
-
- Wind Imaging Interferometer
-
- See the WINDII Instrument
Home page.
-
- The WINDII instrument utilizes emission lines for the basic Doppler
shift measurements of wind fields. In addition to lines of neutral and
ionized atomic oxygen, these include two lines of the OH molecule and a
molecular oxygen line. WINDII takes measurements during daylight and
night conditions. For a thorough description on the theory of measurement
see the article "WINDII - the Wind Imaging Interferometer on the Upper
Atmosphere Research Satellite" listed in the reference
section 17.1 below.
-
-
-
-
-
-
The UARS WINDII instrument is a field widened Michelson
interferometer with an eight position filter wheel to select
target emissions. It has a large forward baffle which together
with limb pointing mirrors and telescopes define two fixed
fields of view (FOV). The two FOVs are combined in a field
combining prism and are then imaged, side by side, through the
Michelson and camera optics onto a charge coupled detector
(CCD).
One FOV looks forwards at 45 degrees from the satellite
velocity vector and one FOV looks backwards at 135 degrees from
the velocity vector. Both FOV boresights are inclined 22.1
degrees below the spacecraft nominal horizontal plane. Each FOV
is 4 degrees horizontal by 6 degrees vertical. This gives an
altitude coverage of 70 to 300 km for each field of view. The
horizontal range is 160 km at the limb in each field of view.
Due to oblateness of the earth the vertical coverage varies by
about 20 km over one orbit. The attitude of the UARS satellite
is controlled and the final attitude is known so that the look
direction is well known. The CCD has 320 pixels in the
horizontal, 160 pixels in each FOV, and 256 pixels in the
vertical. This gives a maximum altitude resolution of 1 km.
-
- Satellite data are collected from a near-circular Earth orbit
of about 585 km altitude and 57 degree inclination.
-
- Upper Atmosphere Research Satellite (UARS).
-
- UARS was launched in September 1991 with the mission of
investigating the chemistry, dynamics, and energy inputs of the
Earth's upper atmosphere. See the UARS Project
and UARS
Platform documents for more information.
-
- Data are telemetered from UARS through the Tracking and Data Relay
Satellite System (TDRSS) to the Data Capture Facility (DCF) at NASA GSFC.
There the data are given an initial quality check, and are then forwarded
to the UARS
Central Data Handling Facility (CDHF). The instrument PI teams are
connected to the CDHF through remote analysis computers (RACs), where
they have developed software to convert the raw data to higher level
processed data. The CDHF uses the production software to convert the
level 0 data to level 1, 2, 3AT, and 3AL data. The Goddard DAAC acquires
the UARS data from the CDHF.
-
-
-
- None at this time.
-
-
-
-
-
- Spatial coverage alternates each UARS yaw cycle,
approximately 36 days, from latitude -45 to 72 (northward
looking), and from latitude -72 to 45 (southward looking).
Vertical coverage is from approximately 80 to 300 km.
-
-
Data coverage for WINDII looking northward on 10/1/1993.
-
- Level 3AL: 4 degrees latitude, varies in longitude.
-
Level 3AT: varies in latitude and longitude. Near the equator,
latitude resolution is about 3 degrees.
- Vertical resolution is 3 to 5 km.
-
- Not Applicable.
-
-
All WINDII level 3A data have been referenced to the UARS
standard altitude grid. The index of the data array defines the
altitude as given by:
Z(i) = 5 * i, i <= 12
Z(i) = 60 + (i - 12) * 3, 13 <= i <= 32
Z(i) = 120 + (i - 32) * 5, 33 <= i <= 88.
- Altitude levels are in kilometers.
-
-
-
-
Temporal coverage is from 24 December 1991 to the present. The
GSFC DAAC currently has the first 2.5 years of WINDII level 3AL
and 3AT data (up to 10 April 1994). Listed below are the dates
within the above time period for which WINDII data are missing
or unavailable:
28-Dec-1991, 03-Jan-1992, 13-Jan-1992, 14-Jan-1992,
17-Jan-1992 to 29-Jan-1992, 07-Feb-1992, 08-Feb-1992,
10-Feb-1992, 15-Feb-1992, 23-Feb-1992, 01-Mar-1992,
03-Mar-1992, 18-Mar-1992, 21-Mar-1992, 24-Mar-1992,
08-Apr-1992, 09-Apr-1992, 30-Apr-1992, 03-May-1992,
07-May-1992, 10-May-1992, 17-May-1992, 24-May-1992,
28-May-1992, 03-Jun-1992 to 20-Jul-1992, 22-Jul-1992,
27-Jul-1992, 04-Aug-1992, 06-Aug-1992, 07-Aug-1992,
10-Aug-1992, 14-Aug-1992, 15-Aug-1992, 17-Aug-1992,
31-Aug-1992, 04-Sep-1992, 07-Sep-1992, 12-Sep-1992 to
14-Sep-1992, 18-Sep-1992, 28-Sep-1992, 12-Oct-1992,
15-Nov-1992, 18-Dec-1992, 03-Feb-1993 to 05-Feb-1993,
08-Feb-1993, 09-Feb-1993, 14-Feb-1993, 18-Feb-1993,
21-Feb-1993, 25-Feb-1993, 28-Feb-1993, 04-Mar-1993,
07-Mar-1993, 09-Mar-1993, 14-Mar-1993 to 16-Mar-1993,
20-Mar-1993, 23-Mar-1993, 27-Mar-1993, 30-Mar-1993,
01-Apr-1993, 03-Apr-1993 to 05-Apr-1993, 07-Apr-1993,
10-Apr-1993, 13-Apr-1993, 17-Apr-1993 to 20-Apr-1993,
24-Apr-1993, 28-Apr-1993, 03-May-1993, 03-Jul-1993,
06-Jul-1993, 10-Jul-1993, 13-Jul-1993, 14-Jul-1993,
19-Jul-1993, 25-Jul-1993, 31-Jul-1993, 05-Aug-1993 to
12-Aug-1993, 15-Aug-1993, 19-Aug-1993, 26-Aug-1993,
29-Aug-1993, 02-Sep-1993, 18-Sep-1993 to 26-Sep-1993,
30-Sep-1993, 02-Oct-1993 to 26-Oct-1993, 28-Oct-1993,
31-Oct-1993, 11-Nov-1993, 12-Nov-1993, 14-Nov-1993,
18-Nov-1993, 21-Nov-1993, 22-Nov-1993, 25-Nov-1993,
28-Nov-1993, 02-Dec-1993, 05-Dec-1993, 09-Dec-1993,
10-Dec-1993, 12-Dec-1993, 16-Dec-1993, 19-Dec-1993,
23-Dec-1993, 27-Dec-1993, 30-Dec-1993, 03-Jan-1994,
06-Jan-1994, 09-Jan-1994, 12-Jan-1994, 20-Jan-1994,
24-Jan-1994, 27-Jan-1994, 31-Jan-1994, 10-Feb-1994,
26-Feb-1994, 15-Mar-1994 to 17-Mar-1994, 19-Mar-1994 to
21-Mar-1994, 24-Mar-1994, 25-Mar-1994, 05-Apr-1994,
07-Apr-1994, 09-Apr-1994
-
- Daily.
-
-
-
-
There are three measured parameters for WINDII Level 3AL and
3AT data products. The parameters are vertical profiles gridded
to the UARS standard altitude grid (see above). The measured
parameters are listed in the table below with the original
subtype name, DAAC parameter name, units, and valid range:
| Subtype |
DAAC Parameter Name |
Units |
Range |
| MERWIN_A |
MERIDIONAL WIND, ALTITUDE GRID |
m/s |
-200 to +200 |
| ZONWIN_A |
ZONAL WIND, ALTITUDE GRID |
m/s |
-200 to +200 |
| TEMP |
ATMOSPHERIC TEMPERATURE |
K |
0 to 2000 |
-
-
-
-
WINDII Level 3A granules are defined such that there is one granule
for each process level (3AL and 3AT), and parameter/subtype per
day. Thus, for WINDII there are 6 granules per day. Each granule is
a multi-file granule consisting of four files:
-
The binary data file (files ending with PROD, or *PROD
extension) which contains the vertical profile data, and
quality (standard deviations), along with time, latitude,
longitude, local solar time, and solar zenith angle.
-
An ASCII metadata file (files ending with META, or *META
extension) associated with the data file containing items such
as the begin date, end date, PI assigned quality flag and
record length size of the data file.
-
A binary parameter file (also *PROD extension) designated 3LP
for 3AL granules, and 3TP for 3AT granules. The subtype for
these files is PARAM. The WINDII parameter files contain JOB
version number, CDB version number, inversion quantity flag,
temperature source flag, and filter number and quality. These
files were added to accommodate the additional WINDII values
after the 3AL and 3AT file formats had already been finalized.
- An ASCII metadata file associated with the parameter file
(also *META extension). The information is identical to the
metadata file associated with the data file, except that the
record length applies to the parameter file.
The format for granule file names is
WINDII_Llll_Sssss_Ddddd
.Vvvvv_Ccc_xxxx, where lll is the data
processing level (3AL, 3AT, 3LP, or 3TP), ssss is the parameter
subtype, dddd is the UARS day (0001 = 12 September 1991), vvvv is
the data version number, and cc is the data version cycle number.
The file extension xxxx is either PROD for the binary files, or
META for the ASCII metadata files.
The average size for WINDII level 3AL granules is about 260
kilobytes, and 320 kilobytes for level 3AT granules. The *META
files are small, only about 700 bytes each.
-
- The data are in a native UARS format (SFDU). The files were
originally created on a VAX/VMS system at the UARS CDHF, and now
exist as UNIX stream files at the Goddard DAAC. WINDII data file
structures are presented in the Standard Formatted Data Units (SFDU)
documents listed in the References section.
-
-
-
-
-
- All the algorithms used to process the data are defined in
detail in various software design documents, however, these are
not needed to understand the WINDII data. The algorithms are set
up to operate on measurements in sequence. One atmospheric
measurement is composed of a background image and 4 (90 degree
phase steps), 8 (45 degree phase steps) or 2*4 (90 degree phase
steps for each group of 4 images) phase images. A 2*4 phase image
measurement is called a "repeated measurement". Frequent
calibration measurements are also processed and used with the
corresponding atmospheric measurements. A frequent calibration
measurement comprises a dark current image and 4 phase images of
one of the onboard calibration lamps.
-
-
-
-
The data processing is divided into three main jobs. The first
job reads the raw telemetry files or level 0 data and
interprets the data packet headers. The measurements are
separated according to the atmospheric line observed and saved
in intermediate files. Next the instrument calibration data is
used to subtract dark current and to convert the count rate per
bin to a line of sight intensity given in rayleighs. Once the
known instrument corrections are made effects due to the UARS
spacecraft are determined. The orbit attitude data are used to
compute the location of the tangent point for each line of
sight for each measurement bin. The frequent phase measurements
are also processed in the first job step. The level 1 data,
cataloged at the end of job step 1, contain the calibrated data
and the geo-referencing data. These data are input to job step
2.
WINDII views the limb of the airglow and so the intensity
measured in each bin is the line of sight integral of the
volume emission rate modified by the Michelson interferogram.
In the second job step the level 1 bin intensities for each of
the 4 or 8 phase steps are used to compute what are termed
"apparent quantities". These contain the atmospheric
information. The apparent phase is the intensity weighted line
integral giving the atmospheric wind. The apparent visibility
is the intensity weighted line integral giving the atmospheric
temperature. The apparent intensity is the line integral of the
volume emission rate. Each measurement is composed of vertical
columns of bins. A column gives a vertical scan through the
airglow layer. A typical image has 6 columns, each about 25 km
wide. In order to reduce the effects of gravity waves on the
final wind and temperature these 6 columns are averaged
together to form a single vertical profile for each field of
view. The apparent intensity is inverted using constrained
Twomey inversion to give the volume emission rate profile (see
"Introduction to the Mathematics of Inversion in Remote Sensing
and Indirect Measurements" by S. Twomey, Development in
Geomathematics series, Elsevier, New York, 1977). This is then
used to deconvolve the apparent phase and visibility. Finally
the wind and temperature profiles are computed from the
inverted phase and visibility for each field of view. The last
step in the level 2 processing is to combine the line of sight
winds from each FOV to form the desired vector winds. This is
done by selecting data from the forward FOV which overlaps data
from the backward FOV. The zonal and meridional components of
the wind are computed only if the two FOVs see the same volume
and the volume emission rates and temperatures (both scalar
quantities) agree within specified limits. The level 2 data are
saved for each measurement with no interpolation.
The final job step reads the level 2 data and interpolates
from the natural measurement locations to the standard UARS
grid. Only the wind and the temperature are gridded and saved
in the level 3 data product. A parameter file at level 3 gives
the source of the data used to derive the wind and
temperature.
-
- Reprocessing of the data occur about once a year.
-
-
-
- None.
-
- Meridional and zonal wind components are calculated, as well
as temperature.
-
-
-
- The data quality is given by the standard deviation of the
quantity. Each data element in each file is stored along with a
standard deviation which has been calculated by the analysis
software. The nominal error is 10 m/s for the wind and 25 K for
temperature.
-
-
-
-
All data are checked by the WINDII science team and assigned
quality values. These values appear as the DATA_QUALITY_UARS
fields in the ASCII metadata files. The format for
DATA_QUALITY_UARS is a 3 character field of the form "p.q"
where:
VALUE MEANING
for p 0 Machine inspected
1 Qualitative evaluation
2 Intensive analysis
for q 1 less than 50% good data
2 50% - 75% good data
3 76% - 98% good data
4 better than 98% good data
-
- Variances are included with each data value.
-
- None.
-
- Data files are checked to ensure that they are properly
transferred and translated from their original VAX/VMS format at
the UARS CDHF to the DAAC's UNIX format. No additional data
checks are performed by the DAAC.
-
-
-
- The data and parameter files exist as UNIX stream files at the
DAAC. Binary data are big-endian IEEE formatted. The binary data
files should be read on 32 bit machines running UNIX operating
systems. This is especially important for fields which are IEEE
floating point values, such as the profile data and quality values.
If you are going to use a non 32-bit and/or non-UNIX machine, then
you will need to write your own conversion routines to read the data
files. File record length information is only listed in the ASCII
metadata files (*META extension) which accompany the data and
parameter files.
-
- None at this time.
-
- The data may be used to provide global synoptic maps of wind and
temperature in the upper mesosphere and lower thermosphere.
-
- None.
-
-
WINDII has produced an enormous amount of data on the upper atmosphere.
Scientists around the world are using the data in a number of
applications, for example:
- to characterize large scale atmospheric wave phenomena
- to measure seasonal and long term variations in the atmospheric
composition
- to measure polar mesospheric cloud phenomena and
- to model the global upper atmosphere weather
-
- The WINDII instrument continues to acquire data. Future reprocessing
of the data are anticipated.
-
-
-
-
Simple read/dump programs are available for reading the WINDII
level 3A data files. The read programs are available in both
Fortran and C languages. These programs simply print the file
contents to the screen.
The *META and *PROD files (see section 8 Data
Granularity) must be kept in the same directory, because the
programs require the *META file as the input parameter in order to
read the *PROD file. The *META file is necessary because it
contains file record length information, which is not in the *PROD
files.
If you are using the Fortran READ programs you may need to
change the OPEN statement. Some machines read 4 byte words, while
other machines read 1 byte. If the program isn't working correctly,
you should try changing RECL=RECSIZ/4 to RECL=RECSIZ.
Contact science@eosdata.gsfc.nasa.gov for
problems with the read/dump software.
-
-
To compile the programs, just type:
f77 FILE_NAME.F -o FILE_NAME (Fortran programs)
or cc file_name.c -o file_name (C programs)
Below are examples showing how to run the programs:
$ READUMP_L3AL_DATA (Fortran program)
PLEASE ENTER META DATA FILE NAME BELOW:
WINDII_L3AL_SMERWIN_A_D0124.V0009_C01_META
or $ readump_l3al_data WINDII_L3AL_SMERWIN_A_D0124.V0009_C01_META (C program)
-
-
-
- Name:
- Help Desk
- Address:
- NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
- Distributed Active Archive Center
- Code 610.2
- Greenbelt, MD 20771
- Telephone Numbers:
- Phone: 1-301-614-5224
- FAX: 1-301-614-5268
- Electronic Mail
Address:
- daacuso@daac.gsfc.nasa.gov
-
-
The UARS WINDII data are archived at the GSFC DAAC, and can be
identified by the attributes listed below.
Data Set = UARS
Data Product = WINDII L3AL DAILY LAT ORDERED
WINDII L3AT DAILY TIME ORDERED
-
-
The WINDII level 3A data files can be obtained from the Goddard
DAAC by several mechanisms. These include the following:
-
The DAAC Web-Based Archive
Interface provides a means for searching and
ordering data. To search the data holdings and place an order,
go to the DAAC Home Page located at "/index.shtml", and click
on the "Search and Order" icon. Next, pick the "Data Set" link,
and from there choose "UARS".
-
Earth
Observing System Data Gateway (EDG). You can place
orders for the UARS data through the Earth Observing System
(EOS) Data Gateway. From here you can also order data products
from other data centers. The web address for the EDG is
"http://eos.gsfc.nasa.gov/imswelcome/".
- DAAC Help
Desk. Data can also be obtained by contacting the
GSFC DAAC Help Desk listed above.
Data can be ordered electronically (FTP).
-
- The DAAC currently supports level 3AL and 3AT data products from
WINDII.
-
- The WINDII level 3A data are available. To obtain data, visit http://disc.sci.gsfc.nasa.gov/data/datapool/UARS/WINDII/.
For more information on WINDII, please refer to the WINDII Instrument Home
Page.
-
- Satellite/Instrument/Data Processing
Documentation:
-
- Reber, C. A., C. E. Trevathan, R. J. McNeal, and M. R.
Luther, The Upper Atmosphere Research Satellite (UARS) Mission,
J. Geophys. Res. 98, D6, 10643-10647, 1993.
- G.G. Shepherd, G. Thuillier, W.A. Gault, B.H. Solheim, C.
Hersom, J.M. Alunni, J.-F. Brun, S. Brune, P. Charlot, L.L.
Cogger, D.-L. Desauliniers, W.F.J. Evans, R.L. Gattinger, F.
Girod, D. Harvie, R.H. Hum, D.J. W. Kendall, E.J. Llewellyn, R.P.
Lowe, J. Ohrt, F. Pasternak, O. Peillet, I. Powell, Y.J. Rochon,
W.E. Ward, R.H. Wiens, J. Wimperis, WINDII - The Wind Imaging
Interferometer on the Upper Atmosphere Reseasrch Satellite. J.
Geophys, Res., 98: 10725-10750, 1993.
- Gault, W.A., G.G. Shepherd, W.E. Ward, C.H. Hersom, Y.J.
Rochon, and B.H. Solheim, On-orbit performance of the WINDII
instrument on UARS. Proceedings of the SPIE Conference on Optical
Spectroscopic Techniques and Instrumentation for Atmospheric and
Space Res. Vol 2266, San Diego, 1994.
- Journal Articles and Study
Reports:
-
- G.G. Shepherd, G. Thuillier, B.H. Solheim, S. Chandra, L.L.
Cogger, M.L. Duboin, W.F.J. Evans, R.L. Gattinger, W.A. Gault, M.
Herse, A Hauchecorne, C. Lathuilliere, E.J. Llewellyn, R.P. Lowe,
H. Teitelbaum and F. Vial, Longitudinal Structure in Atomic
Oxygen Concentrations Observed with WINDII on UARS. Geophys. Res.
Lett. 20: 1303-1306, 1993.
- W.E. Ward, Y.J.Rochon, C. McLandress, D.Y. Wang, J.R.
Criswick, B.H. Solheim, G.G. Shepherd. Correlations between the
mesospheric O(1S) emission peak intensity and height and
temperature at 98 km. using WINDII Data. Adv. Space Res. 14:
57-60, 1994.
- W.F.J. Evans, L.R. Laframboise, and G.G. Shepherd,
Mesospheric temperatures from Rayleigh scattering measurements by
the WINDII instrument on UARS. Adv. Space Res. 14:285-288 (No. 9)
1994.
- McLandress, C., Y. Rochon, G.G. Shepherd, B.H. Solheim, G.
Thuillier, and F. Vial, The meridional wind component of the
thermospheric tide observed by WINDII on UARS. Geophys. Res.
Letts. 21: 2417-2420, (November) 1994.
- G.G. Shepherd and C. McLandress Southern Hemisphere Dynamics
Observed by WINDII: The WIND Imaging Interferometer on the UARS
Mission. Adv. Space Res. 16: (5) 53-60, 1995.
- Evans, W.F.J., L.R. Laframboise, K. R. Sine, R.H. Wiens, and
G.G. Shepherd, Observation of polar mesospheric clouds in
scattered sunlight by the WINDII instrument on UARS. Geophys.
Res. Letts. 22: 2793-2796, 1995.
- Wiens, R.H., W.F.J. Evans, D.Y. Liang, M.S. Zalcik, and A.H.
Manson, WINDII Observation of a PMC breakup event during ANLC-93.
Geophys. Res. Letts. 22: 2797-2800, 1995.
- G. Hernandez, R.H. Wiens, R.P. Lowe, G.G. Shepherd, G.J.
Fraser, R.W. Smith, L. LeBlanc, and M. Clark Optical
determination of the vertical wavelength of propagating upper
atmosphere oscillations. Geophys. Res. Letts., 22: 2389-2392,
1995.
- Evaluation of the UARS Data, American Geophysical
Union, Washington, DC, 1996.
- Goddard DAAC IMS online
documentation:
-
- Brian Solheim,
WINDII Level 3AL Temperature and Wind SFDU, NURSWI04, March,
1995.
- Brian Solheim,
WINDII Level 3 Altitude/Time Data SFDU, NURSWI03, March,
1995.
- Brian Solheim,
WINDII Level 3 Latitude Parameter Data SFDU, NURSWI02, March,
1995.
- Brian Solheim,
WINDII Level 3 Time Grid Parameter Data SFDU, NURSWI01,
March, 1995.
- C. Horne,
UARS granule level metadata file description, 1994.
-
- DATA PRODUCT
- A collection of parameters packaged with associated ancillary and
labeling data. Uniformly processed and formatted. Typically uniform
temporal and spatial resolution.
- DATA SET
- A logically meaningful grouping or collection of similar or
related data. Data having mostly similar characteristics (source or
class of source, processing level and algorithms, etc.).
- GRANULE
- A Granule is the smallest aggregation of data which is
independently managed.
-
-
| CCD |
Charged Coupled Device |
| CDHF |
Central Data Handling Facility |
| DAAC |
Distributed Active Archive Center |
| DCF |
Data Capture Facility |
| EOS |
Earth Observing System |
| FOV |
Field of View |
| GSFC |
Goddard Space Flight Center |
| IMS |
Information Management System |
| K |
Kelvin |
| km |
kilometer |
| m |
meter |
| m/s |
meters per second |
| NASA |
National Aeronautics and Space Administration |
| PI |
Principal Investigator |
| RAC |
Remote Analysis Computer |
| SFDU |
Standard Formatted Data Units |
| WINDII |
Wind Imaging Interferometer |
| TDRSS |
Tracking and Data Relay Satellite System |
| UARS |
Upper Atmosphere Research Satellite |
-
-
-
- 01 May 1997
-
- 01 May 1997
-
-
-
- -- mailto:web-contact-disc@listserv.gsfc.nasa.gov
-
-
http://disc.sci.gsfc.nasa.gov/guides/GSFC/guide/uars_windii_l3a_dataset.gd.shtml
|
 |
Atmos Composition
