## Pharm-PAC Agency Liaison Report Indian Health Service 1 March 2007 Submitted by CDR Bradley Bishop

- 3 of the 5 APhA Foundation 2007 Federal Pharmacist Incentive Grants were awarded to IHS pharmacists:
  - LCDR Michael Beiergrohslein
    Co-investigator: LCDR John McGilvary
    Southcentral Foundation Primary Care Clinic Anchorage, AK
  - LT Heather Huentelman
    Co-investigator: Dr. Keri Chin-Culligan
    PIMC HIV Center of Excellence
    Phoenix, AZ
  - RADM Robert Pittman
    U.S. Public Health Service
    Rockville, MD
- 12 IHS Pharmacists passed the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties examination in October to become Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialists (BCPS):
  - o LCDR Michael A. Beiergrohslein Anchorage, AK
  - o LT Anne M. Bott Anchorage, AK
  - o LT John J. Carothers Anchorage, AK
  - o LCDR Dean T. Goroski Haines, AK
  - o LT Katie E. Johnson Whiteriver, AZ
  - o LCDR Joy E. Lee Tahlequah, OK
  - o CDR Lisa Olson Phoenix, AZ
  - o LCDR Jacquie Roth Ft. Thompson, SD
  - o LT Kofi D. Sallar Gallup, NM
  - o CDR Brian D. Schilling Anchorage, AK
  - o CDR Derek Teschler Phoenix, AZ
  - o LCDR Mary Jo Zunic Albuquerque, NM
- The IHS Pharmacy Professional Specialty Group (PSG) annual face-to-face meeting was held February 8-9, 2007 in Albuquerque. Minutes from the meeting are being posted on the IHS Pharmacy Intranet site
- The IHS National Pharmacy Council had a face-to-face meeting February 28, 2007 in San Diego at the IHS National Combined Councils Meeting. Minutes from the meeting will be posted on the IHS Pharmacy Intranet site. Primary topics of discussion concerned recruitment and retention strategies, workload and automation, and the changing role of pharmacists and pharmacy technicians in utilizing the Electronic Health Record. Specific work assignments were made regarding IHS Pharmacy Orientation, recruitment, workload, staffing formula, space requirement formula, and leadership training (curriculum development and delivery method)
- The 2007 IHS Southwest Clinical Pharmacy Meeting (Quad) will be held April 27-29, 2007 in Phoenix.
- The pharmacy residents for 2007-2008 have been selected.