EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

A. Russell Smith President 904/355-5633

Richard Hersch President Elect 305/358-0570

Paula Saunders

Vice President

850/606-8535

Robert B. Fisher

Norman A. Green Richard A. Greenberg

John M. Howe Victoria McFadyen

James T. Miller

Kelly B. Sims William R. Wade Barry M. Wax

CHAPTER REPRESENTATIVES

Lisa Anderson Kevin T. Beck Mitchell J. Beers

Chris Brown James H. Burke, Jr.

Derek Byrd

Michael P. Chauvin

Andrew Cotzin Gregory J. Cummings

Bob Dillinger Ronald L. Ecker, II

Robert H. Gray Ross Haine, II Steven G. Horneffer

Richard E. Hornsby

Michael H. Lambert Gregg Lerman

Martin W. Lester Beatriz Llorente

Domenic Lucarelli Michael P. Maddux Carlos J. Martinez

Brett McIntosh

David Mengers Andrew B. Metcalf

Sabrina D. Puglisi Marianne S. Rantala

Dennis J. Rehak Gary A. Roberts Robert A. Sanders, Jr.

Leonard A. Sands

Hal G. Schuhmacher Ian S. Seitel

M. Stephen Stanfield Robert Wesley

Eugene Zenobi

Ross Alan Keene Michael Kessler

Jason W. Kreiss

Treasurer 305/374-7850 Nellie L. King

Elect
Secretary

0570
561/833

BOARD OF DIRECTORS DIRECTORS AT LARGE James S. Benjamin Lisa Call H Scott Fingerhut

561/833-1084 Jeffrey M. Harris

Brian L. Tannebaum

Immediate Past President 954/522-7000



Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Kathryn L. Bradley, CAE Post Office Box 1528 Tallahassee, Florida 32302 1419 N. Bronough Street Tallahassee, Florida 32303 Phone: 850/385-5080 800/369-9503

Facsimile: 850/385-6715

E-mail: kbradley@facdl.org Web Site: www.facdl.org

October 26, 2007

Ricardo H. Hinojosa United States Sentencing Commission One Columbus Circle, NE Suite 2-500, South Lobby Washington, DC 20002-8002

Re: Public Comment for 72 FR 28558 (May 21, 2007)

Dear Chairman Hinojosa:

I am writing on behalf of the more than one thousand, six hundred (1600) active members of The Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers. On their behalf, I would first like to commend the Commission for beginning to redress the severe disparity between the powder cocaine and crack cocaine sentencing guidelines. I would also like to urge the Commission to take further action to correct the injustices caused by this disparity in previous cases.

The disparity between crack and powder cocaine sentences has always been unsupported by research. That simple fact requires that the Commission mandate retroactive application of the Guidelines amendment. Individuals who have been wrongfully sentenced based upon this disparity should not be made to serve their current sentences while people sentenced after November 1, 2007 receive shorter sentences for the same offenses.

Retroactive application of the amendment would also help combat the racially discriminatory effect of the previous disparity in Guidelines sentencing between crack and powder cocaine, which has resulted in longer sentences for a much higher percentage of African American defendants.

In the past, the Commission has made amendments affecting LSD, marijuana, and Percocet retroactive. I encourage the Commission to take the same action in this case and make the amendment applicable to all crack cocaine defendants currently serving their sentences.

PAST PRESIDENTS

Jeffrey M. Harris Michael J. Snure Tom Kurrus David D. Fussell Denis M. deVlaming Јепту Вепту David Rothman Barry W. Beroset Diane Buerger J. Cheney Mason Carey Haughwout Thomas L. Powell Carl H. Lida Kirk N. Kirkconnell Donnie Murrell George E. Tragos Larry G. Turner Kirk W. Munroe Barry A. Cohen

Sincerely Russell Smit

President