

907.271.1414 tel 907.271.1415 fax 888.480.4321 toll free www.denali.gov

## Denali Commission Transportation Advisory Committee Meeting Anchorage, Alaska

The Denali Commission will hold its next Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) meeting on Monday, May 11, 2009 in Anchorage, Alaska. The meeting will run from 12:00pm to 7:00pm and be held in the East conference room at the Denali Commission offices• 510 L Street • Suite 410 • Anchorage, Alaska 99501 • 907.271.1414. There will be an opportunity for public comment; please view the Agenda on our website for times. Please call 1.866.524.6520, pass code is: 2393460.

The agenda for this meeting will be available at the Denali Commission offices prior to the meeting. The agenda will also be available on the Commission website at <a href="https://www.denali.gov">www.denali.gov</a>.

The Denali Commission was passed into federal law in 1998 for the purpose of providing an efficient tool for addressing the staggering infrastructure and utility needs in rural Alaska. The Commission provides important government coordination and funding for infrastructure which can demonstrate long-term sustainability including; power generation and transmission facilities, bulk fuel storage facilities, health care facilities, teacher housing, elder supportive housing, and solid waste facilities. The Commission also provides funding for job training, and economic development in rural communities.

The Denali Access System Transportation Advisory Committee makes project and program recommendations for the Denali Commission Transportation Program. The nine member committee includes by law, four members who represent existing regional native corporations, native non-profit entities tribal governments, and four members who represent rural Alaska regions or villages. The committee chair is Denali Commission Federal Co-Chair, George Cannelos. The committee is designed to guide the new Denali Access System's Roads and Waterfront Development program. Appointed committee members are: Norm Phillips, Natural Resource Manager, Doyon, Ltd.; Walter Sampson, Vice President, Lands and Resources, NANA Regional Corporation; Steven Ivanoff, Transportation Planner, Kawerak, Inc.; Charles Quinlan, CEO, K'oyitl'ots'ina, Limited; Randy Romenesko, P.E., Nome; Carvel Zimin, Jr., Assemblyman, Bristol Bay Borough; Michael Hoffman, Transportation Director, Association Village Council Presidents; Charles Pool, P.E., President, Pool Engineering, Inc.

Questions regarding this meeting can be directed to the Denali Commission offices at 907.271.1414 or toll free at 888.480.4321.