

## **American Academy of Family Physicians**

2021 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-1011

December 16, 2003

9728 '03 DEE 15 A9 44

Karen M. Templeton – Somers, PhD
Executive Secretary, Nonprescription Drugs Advisory Committee
Documents Management Branch HFA-305
Food and Drug Administration
5630 Fishers Lane, Room 1062
Rockville, MD 20852

Dear Ms. Templeton-Somers:

On behalf of the 94,300 members of the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), I am writing to support over-the-counter status for Plan B, the emergency contraception pill.

At the AAFP's recent 2003 Congress of Delegates meeting, the national representatives voted to support making emergency contraception available over the counter. The Congress also recommended the inclusion of information on safe sexual practices and birth control with any of the OTC EC products. We believe that over-the-counter emergency contraception will be of benefit to some patients, particularly if educational information is included on various birth control options and recommendations regarding the advantage of having a personal physician to help make these decisions and encourage healthy behaviors.

The AAFP supports the change to OTC status because of emergency contraception's reported long-term safety record, its ease of use for our patients, the time sensitive element of therapy, and increased access to the medication for the uninsured in this country.

Currently, family physicians conduct almost 200 million office visits each year (and over 40 million of these women of childbearing age). As a result, we are especially qualified to respond to this issue.

Thank you very much for allowing us to provide our views on this important health matter.

Sincerely,

James C. Martin, MD, FAAFP

Board Chair

01P-0075

Dwanidant

Michael O. Fleming, M.D. Shreveport, Louisiana

President-elect

Mary E. Frank, M.D. Mill Valley, California

**Board Chair** 

James C. Martin, M.D. San Antonio, Texas

Speaker

Carolyn C. Lopez, M.D. Chicago, Illinois

Vice Speaker

Thomas J. Weida, M.D. Hershey, Pennsylvania

Executive Vice President Douglas E. Henley, M.D. Leawood, Kansas

Directors

Arlene M. Brown, M.D. Ruidoso, New Mexico

Larry S. Fields, M.D. Ashland, Kentucky

Daniel J. Heinemann, M.D. Canton, South Dakota

Rick Kellerman, M.D. Wichita, Kansas

John E. Sattenspiel, M.D. Salem, Oregon

Mary Jo Welker, M.D. Columbus, Ohio

Jim King, M.D. Selmer, Tennessee

Thomas A. Kıntanar, M.D. Fort Wayne, Indiana

Timothy S. Komoto, M.D. Mendota Heights, Minnesota

Lisa Corum, M.D. (New Physician Member) Fort Mill, South Carolina

Saria Carter, M.D. (Resident Member) Davie, Florida

Eddie J. Turner (Student Member) *Memphis, Tennessee* 

(888) 794-7481 (202) 232-9033 Fax: (202) 232-9044 E-mail: capitol@aafp.org

http://www.aafp.org

C309