

2003-2004

President Clark T. Sawin, M.D. Washington, D.C.

Secretary Gregory A. Brent, M.D. Los Angeles, California

Treasurer Charles H. Emerson, M.D. Worcester, Massachusetts

President-Elect Paul W. Ladenson, M.D. Baltimore, Maryland

Directors Peter A. Singer, M.D. Los Angeles, California

Jeffrey R. Garber, M.D. Boston, Massachusetts

Stephanie L. Lee, M.D., Ph.D. Boston, Massachusetts

John C. Morris, III, M.D. Rochester, Minnesota

Rebecca S. Bahn, M.D. Rochester, Minnesota

Donald L. St. Germain, M.D. Lebanon, New Hampshire

Steven I. Sherman, M.D. Houston, Texas

Bryan R. Haugen, M.D. Denver, Colorado

Sandra M. McLachlan, Ph.D. Los Angeles, California

Executive Director Barbara R. Smith, CAE

Headquarters Office American Thyroid Association 6066 Leesburg Pike, Suite 650 Falls Church, Virginia 22041 Phone: 703 998-8890 Fax:: 703 998-8893 E-mail: bsmith@thyroid.org Web: www.thyroid.org

7373 '03 NOV -3 P1:29

• ,

October 28, 2003

Dockets Management Branch, HFA-305 Food and Drug Administration 5630 Fishers Lane, Room 1061 Rockville, Maryland 20852

To whom it may concern:

Please add the attached letter to the docket 2003P-0387

Sincerely,

203P-0387

with-

Barbara R. Smith, CAE **Executive Director**

AMERICAN THYROID ASSOCIATION FOUNDED 1923

2003-2004

President Clark T. Sawın, M.D. Washington, D.C.

Secretary Gregory A. Brent, M.D. Los Angeles, California

Treasurer Charles H. Emerson, M.D. Worcester, Massachusetts

President-Elect Paul W. Ladenson, M.D. Baltimore, Maryland

Directors Peter A Singer, M.D. Los Angeles, California

Jeffrey R. Garber, M.D. Boston, Massachusetts

Stephanie L. Lee, M.D., Ph.D Boston, Massachusetts

John C. Morris, III, M.D. Rochester, Minnesota

Rebecca S. Bahn, M.D. Rochester, Minnesota

Donald L. St. Germain, M.D. Lebanon, New Hampshire

Steven I. Sherman, M.D. Houston, Texas

Bryan R. Haugen, M.D. Denver, Colorado

Sandra M. McLachlan, Ph.D. Los Angeles, California

Executive Director Barbara R. Smith, CAE

Headquarters Office

American Thyroid Association 6066 Leesburg Pike, Suite 650 Falls Church, Virginia 22041 Phone: 703 998-8890 Fax:: 703 998-8893 E-mail: bsmith@thyroid.org Web: www.thyroid.org October 1, 2003

7874 O3 NOV -3 P1:29

Dochet 2003 P- 0387

Janet Woodcock, M.D. Director, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research Food and Drug Administration 5600 Fishers Lane, HFD-240 Rockville, MD 20857

Dear Dr. Woodcock:

I am writing on behalf of Dr. Peter Singer, Immediate Past President of the American Thyroid Association; Dr. E. Chester Ridgway, President of the Endocrine Society; and Dr. Donald Bergman, President of the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists. We thank you for the thoughtful manner in which you and your staff recently listened to the concerns of our societies, physician members, and patients regarding dose precision and bioequivalence standards for levothyroxine sodium formulations.

We are heartened by the commitment that you made to plan and hold a workshop of sufficient depth and duration to address all of the relevant issues: bioequivalence testing baseline correction, optimal test subjects, and acceptable confidence limits; and TSH as a pharmacodynamic measure. We also support your interest in designing a crossover chronic thyroxine therapy trial with serum TSH as an outcome. We agree with you that a properly designed and executed study could address the fundamental concerns that physicians and their patients have about optimizing the safety and effectiveness of thyroxine therapy. We offer our assistance in designing, implementing, and interpreting the results of such a study.

Because of the concerns that we all share regarding thyroxine dose precision and limitations in the current bioequivalence standard, we ask that 1) FDA suspend approval of new formulations until these matters are resolved, and 2) FDA not make a final decision regarding equivalence testing until it has received further input from experts at the workshop that you proposed.

As you requested, we will send to you a draft agenda and list of potential contributors to the workshop program that you have proposed.



Dr. Janet Woodcock October 1, 2003 Page 2 of 2

Although I am no longer Secretary of the American Thyroid Association, I have become president-elect and our new president, Dr. Clark Sawin, has asked me to remain the primary point of contact between the three societies and FDA. We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Paul Acidenson

Paul W. Ladenson, M.D. President-Elect, American Thyroid Association

PWL:sr

- xc: Dr. Peter Singer, Past President, American Thyroid Association
 - Dr. Clark Sawin, President, American Thyroid Association
 - Dr. Gregory Brent, Secretary, American Thyroid Association
 - Dr. E. Chester Ridgway, President, Endocrine Society
 - Dr. Donald Bergman, President, American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists
 - Ms. Barbara Smith, Executive Director, American Thyroid Association
 - Mr. Scott Hunt, Executive Director, Endocrine Society
 - Mr. Donald Jones, Executive Director, American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists