**Denali Commission** 510 L Street, Suite 410 Anchorage, AK 99501

907.271.1414 tel 907.271.1415 fax 888.480.4321 toll free www.denali.gov



## Denali Commission Energy Advisory Committee Meeting Anchorage, Alaska

The Denali Commission will hold its next Energy Advisory Committee meeting on Tuesday, May 12, 2009 in Anchorage, Alaska. The meeting is from 10:00am to 4:00pm at the Denali Commission office. There will be an opportunity for public comment.

The agenda for this meeting will be available at the Denali Commission offices prior to the meeting. The agenda will also be available on the Commission website at <u>www.denali.gov</u>.

The Denali Commission concept was passed into federal law in 1998 for the purpose of providing an efficient tool for addressing the staggering infrastructure and utility needs in rural Alaska. The Commission provides important government coordination and funding for infrastructure which can demonstrate long-term sustainability including; power generation and transmission facilities, bulk fuel storage facilities, health care facilities, teacher housing, elder supportive housing, and solid waste facilities. The Commission also provides funding for job training, and economic development in rural communities.

The Energy Advisory Committee is an advisory body to the Denali Commission. The members are John MacKinnon, Executive Director, Associated General Contractors of Alaska; Vince Beltrami, President, Alaska AFL-CIO; Nels Anderson, Jr.; Eric Marchegiani, P.E., USDA-Rural Development; Bob Martin, Goldbelt Corporation; Brad Reeve, Kotzebue Electric Association; and Dr. Buck Sharpton, University of Alaska Fairbanks.

Questions regarding this meeting can be directed to the Denali Commission offices at 907.271.1414 or toll free at 888.480.4321.