U.S. DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND URBAN DEVELOPMENT



GOVERNMENT NATIONAL MORTGAGE ASSOCIATION

September 8, 2005

APM 05-16

MEMORANDUM FOR: All Participants in Ginnie Mae Programs

FROM: Michael J. Frenz, Executive Vice President

SUBJECT: Temporary Expansion of Ginnie Mae's Targeted Lending Initiative

for Loans in Disaster Areas caused by Hurricane Katrina

In continuing support for victims of Hurricane Katrina, Ginnie Mae is temporarily expanding its Targeted Lending Initiative ("TLI") to include counties in the states of **Alabama**, **Louisiana and Mississippi** declared disaster areas by the President of the United States. TLI status will apply to those areas identified as eligible for individual assistance within the respective counties.

Loans backing Ginnie Mae securities, where the property is located in an individual assistance area in one of the designated counties listed in Attachment 1, will be given TLI status, effective for securities with an issue date of October 1, 2005 through September 1, 2009.

Under the TLI, Ginnie Mae reduces its guarantee fee by up to 50% when approved issuers originate (or purchase) eligible home mortgage loans in designated communities and place them in Ginnie Mae pools. Issuers may combine these newly eligible loans with other eligible single-family loans. The Ginnie Mae guarantee fee is reduced by one to three basis points on a pool, depending on the percentage of unpaid principal balance of eligible loans in the pool at the time of issuance.

If you have any questions regarding this memorandum, please contact your Ginnie Mae Account Executive in the Office of Mortgage-Backed Securities at (202) 708-1535.

Attachment 1

Listing of Eligible Counties for Ginnie Mae Targeted Lending Status

Designated Counties for Louisiana

The parishes of Acadia, Ascension, Assumption, Calcasieu, Cameron, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberia, Iberville, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, Lafourche, Livingston, Orleans, Pointe Coupee, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. Helena, St. James, St. John, St. Mary, St. Martin, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Terrebonne, Vermilion, Washington, West Baton Rouge, and West Feliciana.

Designated Counties for Alabama

Baldwin, Mobile, and Washington Counties.

Designated Counties for Mississippi

Amite, Forrest, George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Lamar, Marion, Pearl River, Perry, Pike, Stone, Walthall, and Wilkinson Counties.