Skip Navigation

News Release

Friday, May 8, 2009

Contact: HHS Press Office
(202) 690-6343

HHS Announces Members of Committees That Will Advise on Implementation of Health IT

Policy and Standards Committees Will Meet Next Week

The Department of Health and Human Services today announced the appointment of three members to the Health Information Technology (HIT) Policy Committee as well as members of the HIT Standards Committee. The two new federal advisory committees were established by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009. The first meeting of the Health IT Policy Committee will be held on Monday, May 11, in Washington, D.C. 

“The Policy and Standards Committees bring together a wide diversity of key stakeholders to help guide the advancement of health IT as an integral part of health reform,” stated Dr. David Blumenthal, National Coordinator for Health Information Technology at HHS and Chairman of the Policy Committee.  “It is an honor to lead one of these committees, and I am confident that these committees will provide valuable insight to help develop important health IT policy in the next few years.”

The HIT Policy Committee will make recommendations to the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology on a policy framework for the development and adoption of a nationwide interoperable health information infrastructure, including standards for the secure and private exchange of patient medical information.

The HHS appointees to the Policy Committee are:

David Blumenthal, M.D., M.P.P.
National Coordinator for Health Information Technology
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 

Michael J. Klag, M.D., M.P.H.
Dean, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Deven C. McGraw, J.D., M.P.H., Director
Health Privacy Project, Center for Democracy & Technology

An additional 13 members were appointed by the Acting Comptroller General of the United States, and four members appointed by the Majority and Minority Leaders of the Senate and the Speaker and Minority Leader of the House of Representatives. A complete list of the Policy Committee members and information about the May 11th meeting can be found at . The Presidential appointments from relevant federal agencies are expected to be announced prior to the HIT Policy Committee’s second meeting in June.

In addition, appointments were made to the HIT Standards Committee, also a federal advisory body, which is charged with making recommendations to the National Coordinator on standards, implementation specifications, and certification criteria for the electronic exchange and use of health information.  The first meeting of this committee is scheduled for Friday, May 15, 2009.

Members appointed by HHS are:

Jonathan Perlin, M.D., Chair
Healthcare Corporation of America

John Halamka, M.D., Co-Chair
Harvard Medical School

Dixie Baker, Ph.D.
Science Applications International Corporation

Anne Castro
BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina

Christopher Chute, M.D.
Mayo Clinic College of Medicine

Janet Corrigan, Ph.D.
National Quality Forum

John Derr, R.Ph.
Golden Living, LLC

Linda Dillman
Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.

James Ferguson
Kaiser Permanente

Steven Findlay, M.P.H.
Consumers Union

Douglas Fridsma, M.D., Ph.D.
Arizona Biomedical Collaborative

C. Martin Harris, M.D., M.B.A.
Cleveland Clinic Foundation

Stanley M. Huff, M.D.
Intermountain Healthcare

Kevin Hutchinson
Prematics, Inc.

Elizabeth O. Johnson, R.N.
Tenet Health

John Klimek, R.Ph.
National Council for Prescription Drug Programs

David McCallie, Jr., M.D.
Cerner Corporation

Judy Murphy, R.N.
Aurora Health Care

J. Marc Overhage, M.D., Ph.D.
Regenstrief Institute

Gina Perez, M.P.A.
Delaware Health Information Network

Wes Rishel
Gartner, Inc.

Sharon Terry, M.A.
Genetic Alliance

James Walker, M.D.
Geisinger Health System

Representatives from relevant federal agencies will be named separately.  For more information about these committees, meeting dates and preliminary agendas please visit


Note: All HHS press releases, fact sheets and other press materials are available at

Last revised: May 08, 2009