

February 9, 2009 DO-09-006

MEMORANDUM

TO: Designated Agency Ethics Officials

FROM: Patricia C. Zemple

Associate Director

SUBJECT: OGE Desk Officer Program – Changes to desk officer agency assignments

New OGE desk officer agency assignments have been made, effective February 9, 2009. Agency ethics officials will be contacted by their new OGE desk officer within the next few days. A complete list of assignments and contact information for each OGE desk officer is attached to this DAEOgram.

Desk Officer Program

OGE established the desk officer program over 20 years ago to provide dedicated liaison and program support services to each agency ethics office in executive branch agencies and departments. The OGE desk officer program comprises government ethics specialists who serve as the primary point of contact at OGE for agency ethics programs.

OGE desk officers provide the following services:

- Answer questions on the conflict of interest laws, standards of conduct regulations and financial disclosure rules
- Assist agencies in preparing for program reviews
- Develop and deliver training
- Collect and disseminate agency model practices
- Provide orientation to new Designated Agency Ethics Officials
- Assist ethics officials in developing, maintaining and improving all systems within the ethics program
- Deliver agency-specific training
- Ensure nominee, annual and termination public financial disclosure reports are conflicts-free and technically accurate
- Provide timely reminders of various ethics program requirements, including compliance with ethics agreements entered into by PAS officials
- Review draft waivers

Ethics officials are highly encouraged to utilize the OGE desk officer program. However, before contacting your OGE desk officer with questions about conflicts of interest laws or the standards of conduct regulations, you should check with your Designated Agency Ethics Official to determine your agency's protocol for contacting OGE (e.g., some agencies prefer that questions are funneled through the Designated Agency Ethics Official first).

If you have any questions about the OGE desk officer program, please contact me at (202) 482-9286 or by email at patricia.zemple@oge.gov. For all other inquiries, please contact your OGE desk officer. If your assigned OGE desk officer is out of the office, his or her voicemail will designate an alternate point of contact.

Attachment

DESK	PHONE	EMAIL ADDRESS	AGENCY ASSIGNMENTS
OFFICERS	NUMBER		
Grace Clark	(202) 482-9225	grace.clark@oge.gov	Arctic Research Commission Court Services & Offender Supervision Agency for DC Defense Finance and Accounting Service Equal Employment Opportunity Commission Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Institute of Museum and Library Services International Trade Commission Merit Systems Protection Board National Security Agency Office of Navajo and Hopi Indian Relocation
Cheryl Kane- Piasecki	(202) 482-9252	cheryl.kane- piasecki@oge.gov	Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals Defense Logistics Agency Department of Agriculture Department of Defense/Office of the Secretary Department of Education Department of Health and Human Services Farm Credit Administration and Farm Credit System Insurance Corporation Federal Election Commission Morris K. Udall Foundation National Aeronautics and Space Administration Office of Special Counsel Peace Corps U.S. Trade and Development Agency
Kim Kaplan	(202) 482-9309	kimberley.kaplan@oge.gov	General back-up
Jennie Keith	(202) 482-9295	jennie.keith@oge.gov	Committee for Purchase from People Blind or Severely Disabled Defense Contract Audit Agency Denali Commission Department of Justice Department of the Army Department of Veteran Affairs Environmental Protection Agency Federal Housing Finance Board James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation Marine Mammal Commission National Labor Relations Board National Science Foundation Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission Office of Personnel Management

DESK OFFICERS	PHONE NUMBER	EMAIL ADDRESS	AGENCY ASSIGNMENTS
Keith Labedz	(202) 482-9248	keith.labedz@oge.gov	Appalachian Regional Commission Broadcasting Board of Governors Council on Economic Advisors Council on Environmental Quality Defense Intelligence Agency Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission General Services Administration National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency National Security Council Office of Administration Office of Management and Budget Office of National Drug Control Policy Office of Science and Technology Policy Office of the Vice President Office of U.S. Trade Representative Postal Regulatory Commission Presidio Trust White House Office
Jack MacDonald	(202) 482-9310	jack.macdonald@oge.gov	Department of Commerce Department of Energy Department of Transportation Federal Communications Commission Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Federal Trade Commission International Joint Commission Office of the Director of National Intelligence Social Security Administration Tennessee Valley Administration U.S. Access Board

DESK OFFICERS	PHONE NUMBER	EMAIL ADDRESS	AGENCY ASSIGNMENTS
Stephanie Nonluecha	(202) 482-9243	stephanie.nonluecha@oge.gov	African Development Foundation Armed Forces Retirement Home Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board Department of Homeland Security Federal Labor Relations Authority Federal Mediation & Conciliation Service National Capital Planning Commission Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board Office of Federal Coordination for Alaska Natural Gas Transportation Projects Special Inspector General for Afghanistan Reconstruction Special Inspector General for Iraq Reconstruction US Commission for the Preservation of America's Heritage Abroad
Patrick Shepherd	(202) 482-9206	patrick.shepherd@oge.gov	General back-up
Dan Skalla	(202) 482-9222	daniel.skalla@oge.gov	Appraisal Subcommittee Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation Consumer Product Safety Commission Defense Information Systems Agency Defense Security Service Export-Import Bank of the United States International Boundary and Water Commission Millennium Challenge Corporation National Archives and Records Administration Nuclear Regulatory Commission Small Business Administration Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences U.S. Postal Service

DESK OFFICERS	PHONE NUMBER	EMAIL ADDRESS	AGENCY ASSIGNMENTS
Leigh Snyder	(202) 482-9319	leigh.snyder@oge.gov	General back-up
Nicole Stein	(202) 482-9255	nicole.stein@oge.gov	American Battle Monuments Commission Commission on Civil Rights Corporation for National and Community Service Defense Commissary Agency Federal Maritime Commission Federal Retirement Thrift Investment Board Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation Japan-U.S. Friendship Commission National Credit Union Administration National Mediation Board Overseas Private Investment Corporation Selective Service System
Mark Stewart	(202) 482-9273	mark.stewart@oge.gov	Advisory Council on Historic Preservation Agency for International Development Commission of Fine Arts Department of State Department of the Air Force Department of the Navy Election Assistance Commission Inter-American Foundation National Endowment for the Arts National Endowment for the Humanities National Transportation Safety Board Surface Transportation Board
Lorna Syme	(202) 482-9277	lorna.syme@oge.gov	Central Intelligence Agency Commodity Futures Trading Commission Defense Threat Reduction Agency Department of Defense/Office of the Inspector General Department of Housing and Urban Development Department of Interior Department of Labor Department of the Treasury Federal Reserve System Board of Governors Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation Railroad Retirement Board Securities and Exchange Commission