Committee Members Serving in Higher Offices or Attaining Other Accomplishments

MEMBERS OF CONTINENTAL CONGRESS

Abraham Baldwin Elias Boudinot Lambert Cadwalader Thomas Fitzsimons Abiel Foster Elbridge Gerry Nicholas Gilman William Hindman John Laurance Samuel Livermore James Madison John Patten Theodore Sedgwick William Smith John Vining Jeremiah Wadsworth

SIGNER OF THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE Elbridge Gerty

DELEGATES TO CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION

Abraham Baldwin Thomas Fitzsimons Elbridge Gerry Nicholas Gilman James Madison

SIGNERS OF THE CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES

Abraham Baldwin Thomas Fitzsimons Nicholas Gilman James Madison

SPEAKERS OF THE HOUSE

Nathaniel P. Banks Philip P. Barbour James G. Blaine John G. Carlisle Langdon Cheves James B. (Champ) Clark Howell Cobb Charles F. Crisp John Nance Garner John W. Jones Michael C. Kerr Nicholas Longworth John W. McCormack James K. Polk Henry T. Rainey Samuel J. Randall Thomas B. Reed Theodore Sedgwick Andrew Stevenson John W. Taylor Robert C. Winthrop

SUPREME COURT JUSTICES

Philip P. Barbour Joseph McKenna John McKinley Fred M. Vinson, *Chief Justice*

PRESIDENTS

George H.W. Bush Millard Fillmore James A. Garfield Andrew Jackson James Madison William McKinley James K. Polk John Tyler

VICE PRESIDENTS

John C. Breckinridge George H.W. Bush Charles Curtis Millard Fillmore John Nance Garner Elbridge Gerry Richard M. Johnson John Tyler

CABINET MEMBERS

SECRETARIES OF STATE

James G. Blaine William Jennings Bryan Cordell Hull Louis McLane John Sherman

SECRETARIES OF THE TREASURY

George W. Campbell John G. Carlisle Howell Cobb Thomas Corwin Charles Foster Albert Gallatin Samuel D. Ingham Louis McLane Ogden L. Mills John Sherman Phillip F. Thomas Fred M. Vinson

ATTORNEYS GENERAL

James P. McGranery Joseph McKenna A. Mitchell Palmer Caesar A. Rodney

POSTMASTERS GENERAL Samuel D. Hubbard

Cave Johnson Horace Maynard William L. Wilson

SECRETARIES OF THE NAVY

Thomas W. Gilmer Hilary A. Herbert Victor H. Metcalf Claude A. Swanson

SECRETARIES OF THE INTERIOR Rogers C.B. Morton Jacob Thompson

SECRETARY OF COMMERCE AND LABOR Victor H. Metcalf

SECRETARY OF COMMERCE Rogers C.B. Morton

SECRETARY OF AGRICULTURE Clinton P. Anderson

COLUMN HEADINGS

CHS: Chamber seniority based on continuous term of service SP: Senior party member status CMS: Committee seniority DOA: Date of Assignment DOT: Date of termination AE: Status of assignment at end of this congress MN: Status of member in next congress AN: Status of assignment in next congress

PARTY

AI: Anti-Jacksonian AM: Anti-Masonic AP: American Party CU: Constitutional Unionist D: Democrat F: Federalist FS: Free Soil I: Independent ID: Independent Democrat I: Jacksonian IR: Jeffersonian Republican LR: Liberal Republican N: Nullifier NAM: National Anti-Monopolist **OP: Opposition Party** PAU: Party Affiliation Unknown P: Progressive R: Republican SRD: States Rights Democrat U: Unionist UU: Unconditional Unionist UR: Union Republican W: Whig

KEY

RANK

Org: Original Rpl: Replacement Maj: Majority Min: Minority MjR: Majority Replacement MnR: Minority Replacement MjA: Majority Addition

SP

Chr: Only Chairman Ch1: First Chairman that Congress Ch2: Second Chairman that Congress RM: Ranking Minority RM1: First Ranking Minority that Congress RM2: Second Ranking Minority that Congress RM3: Third Ranking Minority that Congress

AE

CA: Left this committee for another committee before adjournment. CN: Completed Congress in chamber; left this committee for no other before adjournment. LB: Not in chamber; left this committee before departing chamber. MD: Not in chamber; Member died. RH: Not in chamber; Member resigned to hold other office. RS: Not in chamber; Member resigned before adjournment to seek other office unsuccessfully. RN: Not in chamber: Member resigned but neither held nor sought other office.

. . .: Inapplicable; Member not assigned to a committee.

MN

DE: Member defeated for election to subsequent Congress. DN: Member defeated for nomination to subsequent Congress.

EF: Member elected to other federal post.

ES: Member elected to state or local post.

AF: Member appointed to federal post. AS: Member appointed to state or local post.

RT: Member retired from public life. UC: Unsuccessful contest for other office.

. . .: Inapplicable; Member died or left chamber before end of previous Congress.

AN

NT: Member continues in the subsequent Congress but *not* on this committee or its successor.