Acknowledgments

Undertaken as a cooperative venture between the U.S. Capitol Historical Society and the Committee on Ways and Means, this project could not have succeeded without the inspiration, foresight, and devotion to congressional history provided by Chairman Dan Rostenkowski and Fred Schwengel, President of the Historical Society. Charles M. Brain, Assistant Staff Director of the Committee on Ways and Means, supervised all phases of the project with keen interest and a dedication to accuracy and fairness. Margaret Hostetler, Ralph Birch, Gage Price, and other members of the staff made significant contributions. Ralph Birch's expert knowledge of the printing process was particularly crucial to the book's timely completion.

The five members of the advisory board acknowledged in the Foreword: Richard Baker, Ray Smock, Robert Peabody, Charles Jones, and Fred Pauls, contributed far more to this project than this book reflects. Whatever value the work has as historical scholarship is largely due to their guidance. The book's shortcomings reflect the authors' inability to translate the advisory board's suggestions into the text.

The following individuals and institutions also contributed reference assistance for the text or for the illustrations: David J. Rabasca, Holly Mirchell, James Blakely, and Mary Ison, all of the Library of Congress; R. Michael McReynolds, Charles E. Schamel, Robert W. Coren, and William F. Sherman, all of the National Archives: Jane Barton and Anita Claybrooke of the Treasury Department; Peggy Diamond of the Bureau of the Public Debt; Shellev E. Davis of the Internal Revenue Service: Lynn W. Vosloh and Charles Rand, Numismatic Division of the Smithsonian Institution; Barbara Wolanin, Florian Thayn, Pam Violante, John Hackett, and the staff of the Architect of the Capitol; the staff of the Congressional Research Service, Government Division; and William B. Bushong, U.S. Capitol Historical Society fellow. Professor Randall Strahan of Emory University graciously allowed the authors to use the manuscript of his forthcoming book on the committee in the 1970s and '80s. Special thanks go to the production staff, especially to editor Paul Martin, design director Cindy Scudder, illustrations editor Winthrop Scudder, and caption writer Richard Crum. Without their professionalism and attention to detail, this book could not have been produced to schedule.

The authors wish to single out Ms. Judy Schneider, Specialist in American Government, Congressional Research Service for special praise. Ms. Schneider read every one of the several drafts of this manuscript and offered expert advice at every stage. She also prepared an exhaustive and invaluable jurisdictional history of the committee.

The authors owe a debt of gratitude to each of these individuals. But, in a sense, the most important debt is the one that we owe to each other. This book could not have been written without the contributions of each coauthor. Donald R. Kennon bore the primary responsibility for writing the text, and Rebecca M. Rogers conducted the research and wrote detailed chapter outlines. Each coauthor read and revised the initial chapter drafts. It proved to be a productive partnership.

