Federal Communications Commission 1919 M St., N.W. Washington, D.C. 20554 News media information 202 / 418-0500 Fax-On-Demand 202 / 418-2830 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov ftp.fcc.gov

FCC 98J-3

Released: September 10, 1998

## FEDERAL-STATE JOINT BOARD ON UNIVERSAL SERVICE SOLICITS ADDITIONAL NOMINATIONS FOR WIRELESS REPRESENTATIVE TO SERVE ON RURAL TASK FORCE

## **CC Docket 96-45**

On July 1, 1998, the Federal-State Joint Board on Universal Service (Joint Board) released a Public Notice announcing the individuals selected to serve as members of the Rural Task Force (RTF). The Joint Board selected seventeen RTF members, representing seven categories, who will consider specific issues related to establishing a forward-looking economic cost (FLEC) mechanism for rural carriers, including the timing of the transition to such a mechanism. The RTF will submit to the Joint Board a report that makes specific recommendations on the rural FLEC mechanism. This report is due nine months after the date on which the Commission implements a FLEC mechanism for non-rural carriers. The RTF held its first meeting on July 29, 1998 in Seattle, Washington.

On August 13, 1998, Western Wireless Corporation submitted a letter to the Joint Board requesting that an additional member be added to the RTF to represent the wireless telecommunications industry.<sup>3</sup> Western Wireless contends that none of the current members of the RTF represents the interests of wireless carriers that seek to compete with incumbent local exchange carriers in rural areas.<sup>4</sup>

Federal-State Joint Board on Universal Service Announces Rural Task Force Members, *Public Notice*, FCC 98J-1 (rel. July 1, 1998).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> *Id*.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Letter from Michele C. Farquhar, Counsel for Western Wireless, to Magalie Roman Salas, Secretary, Federal Communications Commission, dated August 13, 1998.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> *Id.* Western Wireless nominates Mr. Gene DeJordy, Executive Director of Regulatory Affairs for Western Wireless, to serve on the RTF.

We believe the RTF would be well-served by the addition of a member who represents the unique concerns of the wireless industry. The Joint Board hereby solicits nominations to fill one additional position in Category 7 (other non-LEC participants) for a representative of the wireless industry.<sup>5</sup> Nominees should meet the criteria established for RTF members, including sufficient resources to devote to the project.<sup>6</sup>

Additional nominations for a representative for the wireless representative category will be accepted until September 17, 1998. **All nominations must be submitted by September 17, 1998** to the Secretary of the Federal Communications Commission, 1919 M Street, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20554 and to Sheryl Todd, Federal Communications Commission, 2100 M Street, N.W., 8th Floor, Washington, D.C. 20554. Parties should also send copies of their nominations to the individuals listed on the attached Service List (Appendix). Questions regarding this Public Notice or the nomination process may be directed to Sheryl Todd at (202) 418-7386.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> We will include Western Wireless's nominee, Gene DeJordy, among the nominations received in response to the Public Notice.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> Federal-State Joint Board on Universal Service Announces the Creation of a Rural Task Force; Solicits Nominations for Membership on Rural Task Force, *Public Notice*, FCC 97J-1 (rel. September 17, 1997).

## **Service List**

The Honorable Susan Ness, Chair, Commissioner Federal Communications Commission 1919 M Street, N.W., Room 832 Washington, DC 20554

The Honorable Harold Furchtgott-Roth, Commissioner Federal Communications Commission 1919 M Street, N.W., Room 802 Washington, DC 20554

The Honorable Gloria Tristani, Commissioner Federal Communications Commission 1919 M Street, N.W., Room 826 Washington, DC 20554

The Honorable Julia Johnson, State Chair, Chairman Florida Public Service Commission 2540 Shumard Oak Blvd. Gerald Gunter Building Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850

The Honorable David Baker, Commissioner Georgia Public Service Commission 244 Washington Street, S.W. Atlanta, GA 30334-5701

The Honorable Laska Schoenfelder, Commissioner South Dakota Public Utilities Commission State Capitol, 500 East Capitol Street Pierre, SD 57501-5070

The Honorable Patrick H. Wood, III, Chairman Texas Public Utility Commission 1701 North Congress Avenue P.O. Box 13326 Austin, TX 78701 Martha S. Hogerty Missouri Office of Public Council 301 West High Street, Suite 250 Truman Building Jefferson City, MO 65102

James Casserly Federal Communications Commission Commissioner Ness's Office 1919 M Street, N.W., Room 832 Washington, DC 20554

Rowland Curry Texas Public Utility Commission 1701 North Congress Avenue P.O. Box 13326 Austin, TX 78701

Irene Flannery, Federal Staff Chair Federal Communications Commission Accounting and Audits Division Universal Service Branch 2100 M Street, N.W., Room 8922 Washington, DC 20554

Paul Gallant Federal Communications Commission Commissioner Tristani's Office 1919 M Street, N.W., Room 826 Washington, DC 20554

Lori Kenyon Alaska Public Utilities Commission 1016 West Sixth Avenue, Suite 400 Anchorage, AK 99501

Mark Long Florida Public Service Commission 2540 Shumard Oak Blvd. Tallahasse, FL 32399-0866

Sandra Makeeff-Adams Iowa Utilities Board Lucas State Office Building Des Moines, IA 50319

Kevin Martin Federal Communications Commission Commissioner Furchtgott-Roth's Office 1919 M Street, N.W., Room 802 Washington, DC 20554

Philip F. McClelland Pennsylvania Office of Consumer Advocate 1425 Strawberry Square Harrisburg, PA 17120

Susan Stevens Miller Maryland Public Service Commission 16th Floor, 6 Paul Street Baltimore, MD 21202-6806

Thor Nelson Colorado Office of Consumer Counsel 1580 Logan Street, Suite 610 Denver, CO 80203

Mary E. Newmeyer Alabama Public Service Commission 100 N. Union Street Montgomery, AL 36104

Barry Payne Indiana Office of the Consumer Counsel 100 North Senate Avenue, Room N501 Indianapolis, IN 46204-2208

James B. Ramsay National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners 1100 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W. P.O. Box 684 Washington, DC 20044-0684

Brian Roberts California Public Utilities Commission 505 Van Ness Avenue San Francisco, CA 94102

Tiane Sommer

Georgia Public Service Commission 244 Washington Street, S.W. Atlanta, GA 30334-5701

Sheryl Todd (plus 8 copies)
Federal Communications Commission
Accounting and Audits Division
Universal Service Branch
2100 M Street, N.W., Room 8611
Washington, DC 20554

Tom Wilson Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission 1300 Evergreen Park Drive, S.W. Olympia, WA 98504-7250