Minutes of the National Advisory Committee on Violence Against Women

Date and Time

Thursday, February 10, 2005, 8:30 am to 5:00 pm Friday, February 11, 2005 8:30 am to 12:00 pm

Location

Westin Embassy Row 2100 Massachusetts Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20008

Meeting Participants (in attendance)

(1) Advisory Committee Members

Rhonda Arena

Judge Michael Brennan

Lydia Chassaniol

Colleen Coble

Rep. Sharon Cooper

Anne Crews

Rosemary Elebash

Pamela Galbraith

Joxel Garcia

Margot Hill

Gerald Isaacs

Mary Lauby

Dianna Lightfoot

Elizabeth McCord, MD

Rev. Aldean "Al" Miles

Beverly Nuckols, MD

Nancy Pfotenhauer

Delilah Rumburg

Sherolyn Smith-DeSantis

(II) Federal Employees

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Dr. Cristina V. Beato

Josephine Robinson

Dr. Wanda Jones

Frances Ashe-Goins

Diedra Henry-Spires

U.S. Department of Justice

Diane M. Stuart
Catherine Pierce
Jana Sinclair White
Natalie Voris

(III) Members of the Public Who Presented Oral or Written Statements

Oral Statements

Scott Hampton – Director, Ending the Violence

Deborah Shepherd – Executive Director of the New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault Sandra George – Legislative Assistant, Senator Jon Corzine

Stanley Green - Victims' Resources Advocate, Stop Abuse for Everyone (SAFE)

Todd Hosterman - Men Against Sexual Violence Coordinator, Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape

Written Statements

Scott Hampton – Director, Ending the Violence

Deborah Shepherd – Executive Director of the New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault The Honorable Jon S. Corzine

The Honorable Christopher Shays

Janet E. Fine – Executive Director of the Massachusetts Office for Victim Assistance Lee Newman – President, New Hampshire Chapter of SAFE (Stop Abuse for Everyone) Jennifer McAllister-Nevins - State Strategies Attorney, ACLU Reproductive Freedom Project The Honorable Carolyn Maloney

Other

There were approximately 20 members of the general public in attendance.

Matters Discussed

Wednesday, October 8, 2003

- l. Diane M. Stuart, Director of the Office on Violence Against Women, U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ), and Dr. Christina V. Beato, M.D., Acting Assistant Secretary for Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) welcomed the National Advisory Committee (Committee) members.
- 2. Catherine Pierce, Deputy, Office on Violence Against Women, updated the Committee on activities of the OVW since the last Committee meeting.
- 3. Dr. Wanda Jones, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Health (Women's Health, U.S.

Department of Health and Human Services, updated the Committee on the activities of the Department of Health and Human Services activities since the last Committee meeting.

4. Public Comment Session

- Scott Hampton, Director of Ending the Violence, spoke about the critical role that programs funded through the Violence Against Women Act play in holding abusers accountable for their actions.
- Deborah Shepherd, Executive Director of the New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault, spoke about the need for victims of sexual assault to be provided the actual drug, rather than information about or a prescription for emergency contraception, during a medical forensic examination.
- Sandra George, Legislative Assistant, Senator Jon Corzine, read a prepared statement submitted by Senator Jon S. Corzine. The statement asked the Department of Justice to amend the Sexual Assault Medical Forensic Examination protocol to specifically include information about emergency contraception and to recommend its provision to sexual assault victims as part of a medical forensic examination. Ms. George presented copies of a letter signed by 20 Senators and another letter signed by 97 members of the House of Representatives expressing concern about the failure to include emergency contraception in the SAFE protocol. Ms. George also a copy of the Centers for Disease Control's recently-released guidelines on HIV prophylactic treatment for sexual assault victims.
- Stanley Green, representing Stop Abuse for Everyone (SAFE), spoke about the importance of accurate information in implementing the Violence Against Women Act.
- Todd Hosterman, the Men Against Sexual Violence Coordinator for the Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape, spoke about the role of men in preventing violence against women and a program he works with called Men Against Sexual Violence (MASV).
- 5. Judge Michael Brennan gave a presentation to the Committee on the impact of <u>Crawford v. Washington</u>, 124 S. Ct. 1354 (March 8, 2004) on the investigation and prosecution of domestic violence cases.
- 6. DOJ and DHHS employees spoke to the Committee about Federal programs that address the intersections of children, domestic violence, and sexual violence. Presentations were given by:
 - Jerry Silverman, MSW, MS, Social Science Analyst, Division of Children and Youth Policy, Office of Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, DHHS. Mr. Silverman

spoke about the Greenbook Iniative.

- Michelle Dodge, program specialist, Office on Violence Against Women, DOJ. Ms. Dodge spoke about the Safe Havens: Supervised Program.
- Woodie Kessell, M.D., MPH, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, DHHS. Mr. Kessell spoke about the Safe and Bright Futures for Children Program.
- 7. Throughout the day, Judge Michael Brennan, Chairman of the Drafting Subcommittee, led the Committee in a discussion of the draft "Response to the Charge." The Committee discussed each section of the draft Response. Any changes to the draft Response were approved or rejected by a voice vote of the Committee.

The Committee adjourned for the day at approximately 5 pm.

Friday, February 11, 2005

- 1. Catherine Pierce welcomed the Committee back for a second day of discussions.
- 2. Patrick Purtill, Director of the Department of Justice Task Force for Faith-Based and Community Initiatives spoke to the Committee about the President's Faith-Based and Community Initiative.
- 4. The Committee continued with the discussion of the draft Response. At the conclusion of the meeting, the Committee asked Margot Hill and Colleen Coble to conduct a final edit of the Response. The Committee also asked Colleen Coble to add language that reflected the Committee's discussion regarding Batterer's Intervention Programs to question 3. Pending these additions, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the Response to the Charge.
- 5. The Committee adjourned at 12:00 pm.

I hereby certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the foregoing minutes are accurate and complete.

Diane M. Stuart Director Office on Violence Against Women

National Advisory Committee on Violence Against Women Designated Federal Official