Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, DOT

§ 372.227

municipality included under the terms of paragraph (d) of this section.

[41 FR 56654, Dec. 29, 1976, as amended at 46 FR 56424, Nov. 17, 1981; 62 FR 15422, Apr. 1, 19971

§372.221 Twin Cities.

For the purpose of determining commercial zones, utilizing the general population-mileage formula as set forth in §372.241, each of the following combinations of cities shall be considered as a single municipality:

(a) Having a population equal to the sum of their combined populations, and

(b) Having boundaries comprised of their combined corporate limits, with the common portion thereof dis-

regarded: (1) Bluefield, Va.-W. Va.

(2) Bristol, Va.-Tenn.

(3) Davenport, Iowa, and Rock Island and Moline, Ill.

(4) Delmar, Del-Md.

(5) Harrison, Ohio-West Harrison, Ind.

(6) Junction City, Ark.-La.

(7) Kansas City, Mo.-Kansas City, Kans.

(8) Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minn.

(9) St. Louis, Mo.-East St. Louis, Ill.

(10) Texarkana, Ark.-Tex.

(11) Texhoma, Tex.-Okla.

(12) Union City, Ind.-Ohio.

[41 FR 56654, Dec. 29, 1976, as amended at 62 FR 15422, Apr. 1, 1997]

§372.223 Consolidated governments.

The zone adjacent to, and commercially a part of a consolidated government within which transportation by motor vehicle, in interstate or foreign commerce, not under common control, management, or arrangement for a continuous carriage or shipment to or from a point beyond the zone, is partially exempt from regulation under 49 U.S.C. 13506(b)(1) includes and is comprised of all points as follows:

(a) All points within the boundaries of the consolidated government.

(b) All points beyond the boundaries of the consolidated government which were at any time within the commercial zone of the formerly independent core municipality.

(c) When the present population of the formerly independent core municipality is identifiable, all points beyond the boundaries of the consolidated government which are within the territory determined by the most recent population-mileage formula measured from the limits of the formerly independent core municipality.

(d) All of any municipality wholly surrounded, or so surrounded except for a water boundary, by the consolidated government or by any other municipality included under the terms of paragraphs (a), (b), or (c) of this section.

[41 FR 56654, Dec. 29, 1976, as amended at 62 FR 15422, Apr. 1, 1997]

§372.225 Lexington-Fayette Urban County, KY.

The zone adjacent to and commercially a part of Lexington-Fayette Urban County, Ky., within which transportation by motor vehicle, in interstate or foreign commerce, not under a common control, management, or arrangement for a continuous carriage or shipment to or from a point beyond the zone, is partially exempt from regulation under 49 U.S.C. 13506(b)(1) includes and is comprised of all points as follows:

(a) Lexington-Fayette Urban County, Kv. itself.

(b) All other municipalities and unincorporated areas within 5 miles of the intersection of U.S. Highway 27 (Nicholasville Road) with the corporate boundary line between Jessamine County, Ky., and Lexington-Fayette Urban County, Ky.

[39 FR 18769, May 30, 1974. Redesignated at 41 FR 56655, Dec. 29, 1976. Further redesignated at 55 FR 42198, Oct. 18, 1990, as amended at 62 FR 15422, Apr. 1, 1997]

§372.227 Syracuse, NY.

The zone adjacent to, and commercially a part of Syracuse, N.Y., within which transportation by motor vehicle, in interstate or foreign commerce, not under common control, management, or arrangement for shipment to or from points beyond such zone, is partially exempt from regulation under 49 U.S.C. 13506(b)(1) includes and is comprised of all points as follows:

(a) The municipality of Syracuse, N.Y., itself;

§372.229

(b) All points within a line drawn 10 miles beyond the municipal limits of Syracuse;

(c) Those points in the towns of Van Buren and Lysander, Onondaga County, N.Y., which are not within the area described in paragraph (b) of this section, but which are within an area bounded by a line beginning at the intersection of new New York Highway 48 with the line described in (b) of this sectio. thence northwesterly along new New York Highway 48 to junction New York Highway 370, thence westerly along New York Highway 370 to junction Emerick Road, thence northerly along Emerick Road to junction Dunham Road, thence northerly along Dunham road to junction New York Highway 192, thence easterly along New York Highway 192 to junction new New York Highway 48, thence northerly along new New York Highway 48 to junction New York Highway 213, thence easterly along New York Highway 213 to junction New York Highway 213A, thence easterly along New York Highway 213A to junction New York Highway 37, thence southerly along New York Highway 37 to its intersection with the line in (b) above:

(d) All of any municipality any part of which is within the limits of the combined area defined in (b) and (c) of this section, and

(e) All of any municipality wholly surrounded, or so surrounded except for a water boundary, by the municipality of Syracuse or any other municipality included under the terms of (d) of this section.

[42 FR 44816, Sept. 7, 1977. Redesignated at 55
FR 42198, Oct. 18, 1990, as amended at 62 FR 15422, Apr. 1, 1997]

§372.229 Spokane, WA.

The zone adjacent to, and commercially a part of Spokane, WA, within which transportation by motor vehicle, in interstate or foreign commerce, not under control, management, or arrangement for shipment to or from points beyond such zone, is partially exempt from regulation under 49 U.S.C. 13506(b)(1) includes and is comprised of all points as follows:

(a) The municipality of Spokane, WA, itself,

49 CFR Ch. III (10–1–02 Edition)

(b) All points within a line drawn 8 miles beyond the municipal limits of Spokane;

(c) All points within that area more than 8 miles beyond the municipal limits of Spokane bounded by a line as follows: From the intersection of the line described in (b) of this section and U.S. Highway 2, thence westerly along U.S. Highway 2 to junction Brooks Road, thence southerly along Brooks Road to junction Hallett Road, thence easterly along Hallett Road to its intersection with the line described in (b) of this section;

(d) All of any municipality any part of which is within the limits of the combined areas in (b) and (c) of this section; and

(e) All of any municipality wholly surrounded, or so surrounded except for a water boundary, by the municipality of Spokane or any other municipality included under the terms of (d) of this section.

[45 FR 62085, Sept. 18, 1980. Redesignated and amended at 55 FR 42198, Oct. 18, 1990; 62 FR 15422, Apr. 1, 1997]

§372.231 Tacoma, WA.

The zone adjacent to, and commercially a part of Tacoma, WA, within which transportation by motor vehicle, in interstate or foreign commerce, not under common control, management, or arrangement for shipment to or from points beyond such zone, is partially exempt from regulation under 49 U.S.C. 13506(b)(1), includes and is comprised of all points as follows:

(a) The municipality of Tacoma, WA, itself;

(b) All points within a line drawn 8 miles beyond the municipal limits of Tacoma;

(c) Those points in Pierce County, WA, which are not within the area described in paragraph (b) of this section, but which are on Washington Highway 162 beginning at its intersection with the line described in paragraph (b) of this section, extending to and including Orting, WA, and all points within the Orting commercial zone.

(d) All of any municipality any part of which is within the limits of the combined area defined in (b) and (c) of this section, and