appointment of members to the NOAA PRB will be for periods of 24 months. **EFFECTIVE DATE:** The effective date of service of appointees to the NOAA Performance Review Board is September 4, 1998.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Monica M.P. Matthews, Executive Resources Program Manager, Human Resources Management Office, Office of Finance and Administration, NOAA, 1305 East-West Highway, Silver Spring, Maryland 20910, (301) 713–0534 (ext. 204).

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: The names and position titles of the members of the NOAA PRB (*NOAA officials unless otherwise identified*) are set forth below:

- James D. Belville: Director, NEXRAD Operational Support Facility, National Weather Service
- Jeffrey R. Benoit: Director, Office of Ocean and Coastal Resource Management, National Ocean Service
- Irwin T. David: Chief Financial Officer/ Chief Administrative Officer, National Weather Service
- Margaret A. Davidson: Director, NOAA Center for Coastal Ecosystem Health, National Ocean Service
- John T. Forsing: Director, Eastern Region, National Weather Service
- Susan B. Fruchter: Counselor to the Under Secretary, Office of Policy and Strategic Planning
- Margaret F. Hayes: Assistant General Counsel for Fisheries, Office of the General Counsel
- Bruce B. Hicks: Director, Air Resources Laboratory, Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research
- Jay S. Johnson: Deputy General Counsel for Fisheries, Enforcement and Regions, Office of the General Counsel
- John E. Jones, Jr.: Deputy Assistant Administrator for Weather Services, National Weather Service
- David M. Kennedy: Chief, Hazardous Materials Response and Assessment Division, National Ocean Service
- Gerald R. Lucas: Director, Eastern Administrative Support Center, Office of Finance and Administration
- Gary C. Matlock: Director, Office of Sustainable Fisheries, National Marine Fisheries Service
- P. Krishna Rao: Senior Scientist for Environmental Satellite, Data and Information Service, National Environmental Satellite, Data and Information Service
- James L. Rasmussen: Director, Environmental Research Laboratories, Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research
- Michael P. Sissenwine: Science and Research Director, Northeast Region, National Marine Fisheries Service

- Louis W. Uccellini: Director, Office of Meteorology, National Weather Service
- Rance A. Velapoldi: Chief, Surface and Microanalysis Science Division, Chemical Science and Technology Laboratory (National Institute of Standards and Technology)
- James K. White: Executive Director for the Economics and Statistics Administration (Economics and Statistics Administration)
- Gregory W. Withee: Deputy Assistant Administrator, National Environmental Satellite, Data and Information Service
- Helen M. Wood: Director, Office of Satellite Data Processing and Distribution, National Environmental Satellite, Data and Information Service
- Sally J. Yozell: Deputy Assistant Secretary, Office of the Assistant Secretary

Dated: August 26, 1998.

D. James Baker,

Under Secretary for Oceans and Atmosphere. [FR Doc. 98–23623 Filed 9–1–98; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 3510–12–P

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

National Assessment Governing Board; Meeting

AGENCY: National Assessment Governing Board; Education. **ACTION:** Notice meeting.

SUMMARY: This notice sets forth the schedule and proposed agenda of a forthcoming teleconference meeting of the Design and Methodology Committee of the National Assessment Governing Board. This notice also describes the functions of the Board. Notice of this meeting is required under Section 10(a)(2) of the Federal Advisory Committee Act.

Dates: September 9, 1998. *Time:* 10 a.m. to 12:00 noon. *Location:* 800 North Capitol Street, NW., Suite #825.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Mary Ann Wilmer, Operations Officer, National Assessment Governing Board, Suite 825, 800 North Capitol Street, NW., Washingon, DC 20002–4233, Telephone: (202) 357–6938.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: The National Assessment Governing Board is established under section 412 of the National Education Statistics Act of 1994 (Title IV of the Improving America's Schools Act of 1994), (Pub. L. 103–382).

The Board is established to formulate policy guidelines for the National

Assessment of Educational Progress. The Board is responsible for selecting subject areas to be assessed, developing assessment objectives, identifying appropriate achievement goals for each grade and subject tested, and establishing standards and procedures for interstate and national comparisons. Under P.L. 105–78, the National Assessment Governing Board is also granted exclusive authority over developing Voluntary National Tests pursuant to contract number RJ97153001.

On September 9, 1998 in open session, 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m., the Design and Methodology Committee will hold a teleconference meeting to approve the Year 2 Research Designs and an addendum to the Pilot Test Design for the Voluntary National Tests.

Records are kept of all Board proceedings and are available for public inspection at the U.S. Department of Education, National Assessment Governing Board, Suite 825, 800 North Capitol Street, NW., Washington, DC, from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Roy Truby,

Executive Director, National Assessment Governing Board. [FR Doc. 98–23572 Filed 9–1–98; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 4000–01–M

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

International Energy Agency Meeting

AGENCY: Department of Energy. **ACTION:** Notice of meeting.

SUMMARY: The Industry Advisory Board (IAB) to the International Energy Agency (IEA) will meet September 10, 1998, in Castelgondolfo, Italy.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Samuel M. Bradley, Acting Assistant General Counsel for International and Legal Policy, Department of Energy, 1000 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20585, 202–586–6738.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: In accordance with section 252(c)(1)(A)(i) of the Energy Policy and Conservation Act (42 U.S.C. 6272(c)(1)(A)(i)), the following meeting notice is provided:

A meeting of the Industry Advisory Board (IAB) to the International Energy Agency (IEA) will be held on September 10, 1998, at the Conference Center of Agip Petroli, Villa Montecucco, Viale Bruno Buozzi, 14, 00040 Castelgondolfo, Italy, beginning at 10:00 a.m. The agenda for the meeting is as follows: 1. Approval of Record Notes

- 2. Evolution of IEA Emergency Response Measures and the
 - Response Measures and the Changing Role of Companies