Assessment. In each of these areas, Congress has asked the Committee to: monitor progress toward implementing the Amendments of 1998; conduct independent, objective assessments; and make recommendations for improvement to the Congress and the Secretary. Each of these responsibilities flows logically from and effectively implements one or more of the Committee's original statutory functions and purposes.

The proposed agenda includes: (a) Round table discussion sessions regarding the findings of Access Denied and related research, in particular, the implications of unmet need on lowincome students, and the role of academic preparation on access; and (b) the Committee's plans for fiscal year 2002. In addition, other Committee business will be addressed. Space is limited and you are encouraged to register early if you plan to attend. You may register through Internet at ADV.COMSFA@ed.gov or Tracy.Deanna. Jones@ed.gov. Please include your name, title, affiliation, complete address (including Internet and e-mail—if available), and telephone and fax numbers. If you are unable to register electronically, you may mail or fax your registration information to the Advisory Committee staff office at (202) 401-3467. Also, you may contact the Advisory Committee Staff at (202) 708-7439. The registration deadline is Tuesday, September 4, 2001.

The Advisory Committee will meet in Washington, D.C. on Thursday, September 13, 2001, from 9:00 a.m. until approximately 6:00 p.m., and on Friday, September 14, from 8:30 a.m. until approximately 2:00 p.m. The meting will be closed to the public on September 13, from approximately 4:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. to discuss personnel matters. The ensuing discussions will relate to internal personnel rules and practices of an agency and will disclose information of a personal nature where disclosure would constitute a clearly unwarranted invasion of personal privacy if conducted in open session. Such matters are protected by exemptions (2) and (6) of Section 552(b)(c) of Title 5 U.S.C. A summary of the activities at the closed session and related matters that are informative to the public consistent with the policy of Title 5 U.S.C. 552(b) will be available to the public within fourteen days after the meeting.

Records are kept of all Committee proceedings, and are available for public inspection at the Office of the Advisory Committee on Student Financial Assistance, Portals Building, 1280 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Suite 601,

Washington, D.C. from the hours of 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., weekdays, except Federal holidays.

Dated: August 17, 2001.

Brian K. Fitzgerald,

Staff Director, Advisory Committee on Student Financial Assistance.

[FR Doc. 01–21216 Filed 8–22–01; 8:45 am]

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Office of Management; Notice of Membership of the Performance Review Board (PRB)

AGENCY: Department of Education. **ACTION:** Notice of membership of the Performance Review Board (PRB).

SUMMARY: The Secretary announces the names of members of the PRB for the Department of Education. Under 5 U.S.C. 4314(c)(1) through (5), each agency is required to establish one or more Senior Executive Service (SES) PRB(s). The PRB reviews and evaluates the initial appraisal of a senior executive's performance along with any comments by senior executives and any higher level executive and makes recommendations to the appointing authority relative to the performance of the senior executive, including making recommendations on performance awards. The Department of Education's PRB also makes recommendations on SES pay level adjustments for career senior executives.

Membership

The following executives of the Department of Education have been selected to serve on the Performance Review Board of the Department of Education: Chair: Willie H. Gilmore, Cochair: Rebecca O. Campoverde, Philip Link, Thomas Skelly, Ricky Takai, Linda A. Stracke, Danny Harris, Susan Bowers, John Higgins, Števen Winnick, Patricia Guard, Arthur Cole, Francisco Garcia, Robert Belle, Maureen McLaughlin, Sue Betka, Peirce Hammond, Dennis Berry, James Lynch, Linda Paulsen, James Manning, C. Todd Jones, and Susan Sclafani. The following executives have been selected to serve as alternate members of the PRB: Carol Cichowski, John Klenk, Art Love, and Craig Luigart.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:

Althea Watson, Director, Executive Resources Team, Human Resources Group, Office of Management, Department of Education, room 2E124, FOB–6, 400 Maryland Avenue, SW., Washington, DC 20202–4573, Telephone: (202) 401–0546. If you use a telecommunications device for the deaf (TDD), you may call the Federal Information Relay Service (FIRS) at 1–800–877–8339.

Individuals with disabilities may obtain this document in an alternative format (e.g., Braille, large print, audiotape, or computer diskette) on request to the contact person listed under FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT.

Electronic Access to This Document

You may view this document, as well as all other Department of Education documents published in the **Federal Register**, in text or Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF) on the Internet at the following site:

www.ed.gov/legislation/FedRegister To use PDF you must have the Adobe Acrobat Reader, which is available free at this site. If you have questions about using PDF, call the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO), toll free, at 1–888–293–6498; or in the Washington, DC, area at (202) 512–1530.

Note: The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html.

Dated: August 17, 2001.

Rod Paige,

Secretary of Education.

[FR Doc. 01-21217 Filed 8-22-01; 8:45 am]

BILLING CODE 4000-01-P

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

Environmental Management Site-Specific Advisory Board, Pantex

AGENCY: Department of Energy. **ACTION:** Notice of open meeting.

SUMMARY: This notice announces a meeting of the Environmental Management Site-Specific Advisory Board (EM SSAB), Pantex. The Federal Advisory Committee Act (Pub. L. 92–463, 86 Stat. 770) requires that public notice of these meetings be announced in the Federal Register.

DATES: Tuesday, September 25, 2001, 1:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m.

ADDRESSES: The Wellington Room, Wellington Square @ Interstate 40 and Georgia Street, Amarillo, TX.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Jerry S. Johnson, Assistant Area Manager, Department of Energy, Amarillo Area Office, P.O. Box 30030, Amarillo, TX 79120; phone (806) 477–3125; fax (806)