27

HISTORY OF THE COMMITTEE ON THE JUDICIARY

American War served as a private in Company B, Thirty-first Regiment Michigan Volunteer Infantry, April 26, 1898-May 17, 1899; studied law in the law department of the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor in 1902 and 1903, and was graduated from the law department of Columbian University (now George Washington Uni-versity), District of Columbia, in 1903; was admitted to the bar in 1903 and commenced practice in Adrian, Mich.; assistant prosecuting attorney for Lenawee County, Mich., 1907-10; prosecuting attorney, 1911-14; elected as a Republican to the Sixty-sixth, Sixty-seventh, Sixty-eighth, Sixty-ninth, Seventieth, Seventy-first, Seventy-second, Seventy-fourth, Seventy-fifth, Seventy-sixth, Seventy-seventh, Seventy-eighth, Seventy-ninth, and Eightieth Congresses; one of the managers appointed by the House of Representatives in 1926 to conduct the impeachment proceedings against George W. English, judge of the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Illinois.

HIGH CALIBER OF PERSONNEL OF COMMITTEE

Among the 503 persons who have been members of this committee in the 134 years of its continuous existence there is found the following:

Three Presidents of the United States.

Three unsuccessful candidates for the Presidency. One Vice President.

Three unsuccessful candidates for the Vice Presidency.

Seven Speakers of the House.

Three unsuccessful candidates for Speaker.

Fifteen Secretaries in Cabinets of Presidents.

Three Presidents pro tempore of the Senate.

Two Solicitor Generals.

Twenty-two Ambassadors and Ministers.

One Associate Justice of the Supreme Court.

Three United States circuit-court judges.

Thirteen United States district-court judges.

Four United States Territorial judges.

Two District of Columbia court judges.

Three special assistants to the Attorney General.

Thirty-four United States attorneys.

Three United States marshals.

Fifty United States Senators.

Thirty-seven Governors of the several States.

Twenty-five attorneys general of the several States.

Eleven deputy State attorneys general.

Six secretaries of state in the several States.

Ten chief justices of State supreme courts.

Twenty-two justices of State supreme courts.

One hundred and thirteen common pleas and circuit court judges.

One hundred and thirty-five district attorneys.

Five presidents of State constitutional conventions.

Fifty delegates to State constitutional conventions.

Two hundred and twenty-eight members of State legislatures. Forty-five speakers of State legislatures.

One hundred and eight State senators.

Twelve presidents of State senates.

HISTORY OF THE COMMITTEE ON THE JUDICIARY

Three presidents of the American Bar Association. Five presidents of State bar associations. Four college and university presidents. Nine college professors. Five railroad presidents. One president of the Bank of the United States.

Ten members who declined Cabinet and diplomatic appointments.

Membership

From the second session of the Thirteenth Congress, to and including this session of the Eightieth Congress, 503 men have composed the personnel of this committee.

Three, Franklin H. Pierce, of New Hampshire; James Buchanan, of Pennsylvania; and William McKinley, Jr., of Ohio, have been Presidents of the United States, while three other members have been unsuccessful candidates for the high office, viz, John Bell, of Tennessee, on the Constitutional Union ticket of 1860; Stephen A. Douglas, of Illinois, on the Democratic ticket that same year; and John W. Davis, of West Virginia, on the Democratic ticket in 1924.

of West Virginia, on the Democratic ticket in 1924. One, James S. Sherman, of New York, has been Vice President, and three, George H. Pendleton, of Ohio, Allen G. Thurman, of Ohio, and John Sergeant, of Pennsylvania, have been unsuccessful candidates for the office.

Seven, Philip P. Barbour, of Virginia, in the Seventeenth; John Bell, of Tennessee, in the Twenty-third; John W. Jones, of Virginia, in the Twenty-eighth; Michael C. Kerr, of Indiana, in the Fortyfourth; Thomas B. Reed, of Maine, in the Fifty-first, Fifty-fourth, and Fifty-fifth; David B. Henderson, of Iowa, in the Fifty-sixth and Fifty-seventh; and Frederick H. Gillett, of Massachusetts, in the Sixty-sixth, Sixty-seventh, and Sixty-eighth Congresses, have been Speakers of the House; and three, Timothy Pitkin, of Connecticut, in the Thirteenth Congress; Samuel S. Marshall, of Illinois, in the Fortieth Congress; and Joseph W. Bailey, of Texas, in the Fifty-third and Fifty-fourth Congresses, have been unsuccessful candidates for the speakership. Another, Amristead Burt, of South Carolina, served as Speaker in 1848 during the absence of Speaker Winthrop.

In later years three have been President pro tempore of the Senate, viz, Allen G. Thurman, of Ohio; Isham G. Harris, of Tennessee; and William P. Frye, of Maine.

Fifteen have been Secretaries in the Cabinets of the Presidents, to wit:

Three, Daniel Webster, of Massachusetts; James Buchanan, of Pennsylvania; and Edward Livingston, of Louisiana, have been Secretaries of State.

One, Charles Toucy, of Connecticut, has been both Secretary of the Navy and Attorney General. Two, James M. Beck and W. E. Fuller, have been Assistant Attorneys General of the United States.

Two, John W. Davis, of West Virginia, and James M. Beck, of Pennsylvania, have been Solicitor General of the United States.

Four, John C. Spencer, of New York; John Bell, of Tennessee; William Wilkins, of Pennsylvania; and George W. McCrary, of Iowa, have each served as Secretary of War; Spencer had also been ap-

 $\mathbf{28}$