OFFICE OF SAFETY (February 2009) Associate Administrator Joe Toole, HSA

Director, Office of Safety Design
David A. Nicol, HSSD
Intersection Team Leader, Ed Rice
Intersection /Cooperative Intersection Collision Avoidance /Emergency Ops – Larry
Brown
Rail-highway Grade Crossings/Geometric Design/High Speed Rail – Guan Xu
Speed Management/Red-light running/Automated Enforcement – Edward Sheldahl
Ped Bike Team Leader, Tamara Redmon
Human Factors/Older Drivers– Dick Schaffer
Roadway Departure Team Leader, Mary McDonough
Longitudinal Barriers/Clear Zones/Hardware Testing Standards – Nick Artimovich
Sign and Luminaire Supports/Retroreflectivity (signs and markings) – Matt Lupes
Horizontal Curves/Pavement Safety/Rumble Strips – Cathy Satterfield
Hardware Acceptance/RD Countermeasures – Will Longstreet
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·

Director, Office of Safety Programs
Beth Alicandri, HSSP
Hwy Safety Improvement Program Team Leader, Erin Kenley
Strategic Hwy Safety Plan/Transp Safety Planning– Tamiko Burnell
402 Program/Penalty Transfer Provisions/130 Program/Work Zones – Ken Epstein
HSIP implementation and evaluation-Karen Yunk
Professional development and capacity/HSIP technical assistance coordination – Ben Gribbon
State and Local Programs Team Leader, John Dewar
Road Safety Audits/Safe Routes to School – Becky Crowe
Local and Rural Roads/Local Technical Assistance Program – Karen Timpone
Local and Rural Roads – Rosemarie Anderson

Director, Office of Safety Integration
Michael Griffith, HSSI
Strategic/Policy/Partnership Team Leader, Margie Sheriff
R&T and ITS Program Coordination and External Partnerships (SCOHTS) – Ewa Flom
Legislative/Regulatory Coordination/HSPV – Kathy Krause
National Transportation Safety Board/International Coordination – Shirley Thompson
Vacant (vice Balser)
Evaluation Team Leader, Vacant (vice Smith) (acting team leader Mo Oliver)
Analysis Tools - Esther Strawder
Data assistance/MMIRE – Bob Pollack
Evaluation/MAC – Mo Oliver
Safety Support Team Leader Debbie Bargar
Administrative Support – Tamara Barreros
Admin Support – Deena Payton
Admin Support – Maria Bonilla
Budget/Finance (GOE)/Human Resources – Sharon Johnson
Budget/Finance (Program) – Vacant
Communication and Outreach – Janet Ewing
IDIQ/COOP/unit plan/risk/dashboard– Aimee Krumich (Detail)