The United States FlagHome | Site Index | FAQs | E-mail | Phone | Chat | Our Blog | Mobile
Español | Other Languages
1 800 FED INFO 1 800 333-4636

For Citizens SelectedFor Businesses and NonprofitsFor Government EmployeesFor Foreign Visitors

Home > Agencies > U.S. Federal Government

U.S. Federal Government

Official information and services from the U.S. government

The three branches of U.S. government—legislative, judicial, and executive—carry out governmental power and functions. View a complete diagram (.PDF) of the U.S. government's branches.

  • A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
    Government departments, agencies, bureaus, commissions, committees, and offices
  • Executive Branch
    The executive branch of the government is responsible for enforcing the laws of the land. The president, vice president, department heads (cabinet members), and heads of independent agencies carry out this mission.
  • Judicial Branch
    Courts decide arguments about the meaning of laws and how they are applied. They also decide if laws violate the Constitution—this is known as judicial review, and it is how federal courts provide checks and balances on the legislative and executive branches.
  • Legislative Branch
    Article I of the Constitution establishes the legislative or law making branch of government. It has a two-branch Congress—the Senate and the House of Representatives—and agencies that support Congress.

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Contact Government | FAQs | Website Policies | Privacy | Suggest-A-Link | Link to Us
Page Last Reviewed or Updated: April 2, 2009