

U.S. ELECTION ASSISTANCE COMMISSION BOARD of ADVISORS

RESOLUTION 2006-05

Whereas, several members of the Board of Advisors have resigned or given notice that, for various reasons, they will be resigning as members of the Board of Advisors since the last meeting of the Board of Advisors;

Whereas, the Honorable Rebecca Vigil-Giron of New Mexico, who was appointed by National Association of Secretaries of State, will be resigning following the expiration of her service as Secretary of State for the state of New Mexico;

Whereas, Mr. James Elekes, who was appointed by the Architectural and Transportation Barrier Compliance Board, will be resigning as member of the Board of Advisors upon the expiration of his service on the Architectural and Transportation Barrier Compliance Board;

Whereas, Mr. James R. Harding, who was appointed by the Architectural and Transportation Barrier Compliance Board, will be resigning as member of the Board of Advisors upon the expiration of his service on the Architectural and Transportation Barrier Compliance Board;

Whereas, Mr. Thomas H. Shortbull, who was appointed by Senate Minority Leader, Tom Daschle, will be resigning as a member of the Board of Advisors upon the expiration of his current term;

Whereas, Mr. Hans von Spakovsky, who was appointed by the Chief, Voting Section, US Department of Justice, resigned since the last meeting of the Board of Advisors upon his appointment as a Commissioner of the Federal Elections Commission:

Whereas, Mr. Noel Hillman, who was appointed as Chief, Office of Public Integrity, US Department of Justice, resigned since the last meeting of the Board of Advisors upon his nomination to be a judge on the United States District Court for the District of New Jersey;

Whereas, during the meeting of the Board of Advisors conducted May 23 and 24, 2006, Chair Beverly Kaufman resigned from her position as Chair, and Vice Chair

Christopher Thomas was elected Chair, Mr. Wesley R. Kliner, Jr., was elected Vice Chair, and Secretary Tony Sirvello, III, was reelected Secretary of the Board of Advisors;

And whereas each of these members has served with honor and distinction and contributed significantly to the work of the Board of Advisors,

Be It Resolved that the Board of Advisors thanks the above mentioned members and officers for their excellent and significant public service to the Board of Advisors and to the causes of democracy and election reform, and wishes them well in their new endeavors.