The ONR Chair in Arctic Marine Science at the Naval Postgraduate School

The Naval Postgraduate School (NPS) Chair in Arctic Marine Science was initiated in 1976, largely through the efforts of Ron McGregor, then head of the Arctic Research Program at the Office of Naval Research, and Warren Denner, then of the NPS. The objectives of the Chair, throughout its existence, were to conduct polar research and assist in translating basic knowledge into operational products and to inculcate an interest in polar science in NPS students in order to provide the Navy with a cadre of officer and civilian polar experts.

Over the course of the Chair's existence, the Chairholders represented a broad spectrum of countries, universities, labs, and disciplines. Five came from other countries: Allen Milne from Canada, Peter Wadhams from England, Ola Johannessen and Arne Foldvik from Norway, and Ursula Schauer from Germany. Government laboratories were represented by Alan Beal of the Arctic Submarine Laboratory, Willy Weeks and Steve Ackley from the U.S. Army Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory, and John Newton from the Navy Research and Development Activity. Private consultant and small business Chairs were Miles McPhee, Bob Pritchard, Jim Wilson, and Max Coon.

When categorized by scientific discipline, the largest preponderance, not surprisingly, were associated with sea ice; in this category, I have placed Warren Denner, Willy Weeks, Peter Wadhams, Steve Ackley, Bob Pritchard, Alan Thorndike, Bill Hibler, Martin Jeffries, Mark Johnson, and Max Coon. Their studies mainly dealt with the mechanics, properties, strength, thickness, and temporal and spatial distribution of ice. The study of the underlying ocean was the focus of work by Arne Foldvik, Joe Niebauer, Jamie Morison, Miles McPhee, Ursula Schauer,

and, if we also associate the specialty of remote sensing, Ola Johanessen and Lawson Brigham. The lone Antarctic oceanographer was, of course, Arnold Gordon. The Navy has had a long and intense interest in acoustic propagation and noise generation in the polar seas, tied to its interest in submarine operations in ice-covered waters and the conduct of antisubmarine warfare (ASW). This group of scientists included John Newton, Jim Wilson, Allen Milne, Alan Beal, and Warren Denner. The lone biological oceanographer who occupied the Chair was Walker Smith, but he was well known for his interactions with physical oceanographers. Climate variability was the focus of John Walsh and Andrey Proshutinsky.

Some remarks are in order on the typical experience of a Chairholder. All enthusiastically enjoyed their tenure at the NPS in Monterey. Most found time to complete long-overdue manuscripts, to thoughtfully examine old and recent data sets, or to participate in planning future field projects. It was no coincidence that Chairholders played prominent roles in the early planning of the Marginal Ice Zone Experiment (MIZEX) and follow-on experiments such as the Coordinated Eastern Arctic Experiment (CEAREX) and the Leads Experiment (LEADEX). Many Chairs served as thesis advisors for Naval Officer students, and their expertise was highly sought after by both faculty and students.

I believe that the original goals of the Arctic Chair were consistently met. The U.S. Navy developed a pool of officers who had a strong appreciation for the impact of the Arctic environment on all aspects of naval operations, and many of these officers went on to occupy positions of technical and strategic importance at the National/Naval Ice Center, the Office of Naval Research, the Naval Research Laboratory, and other commands.

This article was prepared by Robert Bourke, Naval Postgraduate School.

Occupants of the ONR Arctic Marine Science Chair

1976-77 Warren W. Denner

Naval Postgraduate School (Ice Dynamics/Mechanics)

1977-78 Alan M. Beal

Arctic Submarine Laboratory (Sea Floor Bathymetry)

1978-79 Wilford (Willy) F. Weeks

Cold Regions Research and Engineering Lab (Ice Mechanics)

1979-80 Allen R. Milne

Institute of Ocean Sciences (Canada) (Acoustics/Ambient Noise)

1980-81 Peter Wadhams

Scott Polar Research Institute (England) (Ice-Wave Interaction)

1981-82 Ola M. Johannessen

University of Bergen (Norway) (Marginal Ice Zone)

1982-83 Miles G. McPhee

Private Consultant (Ice-Water Boundary Layer)

1983-84 Walker O. Smith

University of Tennessee (Ice Edge Biology)

1984-85 Joseph Niebauer

University of Alaska (Ice Dynamics)

1985-86 Stephen A. Ackley

Cold Regions Research and Engineering Lab (Ice Mechanics)

1986-87 John E. Walsh

University of Illinois (Sea Ice Variability)

1987-88 Robert S. Pritchard

Private Consultant (Ice Dynamics)

1988-89 Arne Foldvik

University of Bergen (Norway) (Ocean/Ice Shelf Interaction)

1989-90 James H. Morison

University of Washington (Ice Boundary Layer Dynamics)

1990-91 John L. Newton

Private Consultant (Arctic Antisubmarine Warfare)

1991-92 Alan S. Thorndike

University of Puget Sound (Sea Ice Physics)

1992-94 James H. Wilson

Private Consultant

(Arctic Ambient Noise and Antisubmarine Warfare)

1994-95 Arnold L. Gordon

Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory (Antarctic Circulation)

1995-96 Lawson W. Brigham

CAPT, U.S. Coast Guard (Ret.) (Ice Operations, Remote Sensing)

1996-97 William D. Hibler, III

Dartmouth College (Sea Ice Modeling)

1997-98 Martin O. Jeffries

University of Alaska (Sea Ice Processes)

1998-99 Andrey Proshutinsky

University of Alaska (Arctic Climate Modeling)

1999-00 Ursula Schauer

Alfred Wegener Institut (Germany) (Arctic-Subarctic Fluxes)

2000-01 Mark Johnson

University of Alaska (Sea Ice Processes)

2001-02 Max Coon

Private Consultant (Sea Ice Modeling)