

U.S. Department of the Interior Indian Affairs



Bureau of Indian Affairs Commissioners/Deputy Commissioners/Directors 1824 – 2008

Thomas L. McKenney ^{a/}	1824-30
Samuel S. Hamilton	1830-31
Elbert Herring ^{b/}	1831-36
Carey Allen Harris	1836-38
Thomas Hartley Crawford	1838-45
William Medill	1845-49
Orlando Brown	1849-50
Luke Lea	1850-53
George W. Manypenny	1853-57
James W. Denver	1857
Charles E. Mix	1858
James W. Denver	1858-59
Alfred Burton Greenwood	1859-61
William P. Dole	1861-65
Dennis Nelson Cooley	1865-66
Lewis Vital Bogy	1866-67
Nathaniel Green Taylor	1867-69
Ely Samuel Parker (Seneca)	1869-71
Francis A. Walker	1871-73
Edward Parmelee Smith	1873-75
John Q. Smith	1875-77
Ezra A. Hayt	1877-80
Roland E. Trowbridge	1880-81
Hiram Price	1881-85
John D. C. Atkins	1885-88
John H. Oberly	1888-89
Thomas Jefferson Morgan	1889-93
Daniel M. Browning	1893-97
William A. Jones	1897-1904
Francis Ellington Leupp	1905-09
Robert Grosvenor Valentine	1909-12
Cato Sells	1913-21
Charles Henry Burke	1921-29
Charles James Rhoads	1929-33

John Collier	1933-45
William A. Brophy	1945-48
William Zimmerman, Jr. ^{c/}	1946-48
John Ralph Nichols	1949-50
Dillon Seymour Myer	1950-53
Glenn L. Emmons	1953-61
John O. Crow ^{c/}	Jan. – July 1961
Philleo Nash	1961-66
Robert L. Bennett (Oneida)	1966-69
Louis R. Bruce (Mohawk/Oglala Sioux)	Aug. 1969 – Jan. 1973
Marvin L. Franklin (Iowa) ^{<u>d</u>/}	Jan. – Dec. 1973
Morris Thompson (Athabascan)	Dec. 1973 – Nov. 1976
Raymond V. Butler (Blackfeet) ^{c/}	Nov. – Dec. 1976
Benjamin Reifel (Rosebud Sioux) ^{e/}	Dec. 1976 – Jan. 1977
Raymond V. Butler (Blackfeet) ^{c/}	Feb. – May 1977
Martin E. Seneca, Jr. (Seneca) ^{f/}	Oct. 1978 – July 1979
Sidney L. Mills (Oglala Sioux) ^{f/}	July – Dec. 1979
William E. Hallett (Red Lake Chippewa)	Dec. 1979 – Jan. 1981
Kenneth Payton (Cherokee) ^{f/}	April – May 1981

Terry Virden, Acting Deputy Commissioner .	July 1, 2002 – Feb 9, 2003
Terry Virden, Deputy Commissioner	Feb 10, 2003 - ????
Brian Pogue, Acitng Dir, BIA	Feb 26, 2004 – May 26, 2004
Brian Pogue, Dir, BIA	May 27, 2004 - ???
Mike Smith, Acting Dir, BIA	??
William Patrick (Pat) Ragsdale	Feb. 2005 – Sept. 2007
Gerold (Jerry) Gidner	Sept. 2007 - Present

- On October 13, 1977, Forrest J. Gerard began his tenure as the first Assistant Secretary Indian Affairs.
- William Hallett was the last to hold the title of Commissioner of Indian Affairs.
- On May 15, 1981, Assistant Secretary Ken Smith appointed Kenneth Payton as the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary Indian Affairs for Operations to oversee the BIA's day-to-day operations.
- From 1981 to 2003, the title "Deputy Commissioner" replaced "Commissioner" for the head of the BIA.
- In 2003, following a major reorganization of the Bureau that had begun the previous year, the title was administratively changed to Director, which is still in use today.

a/First head of the BIA when it was administratively established during President James Monroe's administration by Secretary of War John C. Calhoun on March 11, 1824.

b/First Commissioner of Indian Affairs following congressional action in 1832 to legislatively establish the BIA and the commissionership (4 Stat. 564, chap. 174).

Acting Commissioner of Indian Affairs.

 $\underline{\mathbf{d}}'$ Assistant to the Secretary for the Bureau of Indian Affairs

e/Named Commissioner under a recess appointment.

^f/Acting Deputy Commissioner of Indian Affairs.

g/Deputy Commissioner of Indian Affairs.

Director, Bureau of Indian Affairs

01/05/08