

## U.S. Department of the Interior Indian Affairs



## Assistant Secretaries - Indian Affairs 1977 – 2009

Forrest J. Gerard (Blackfeet)<sup>1/</sup>
Sidney L. Mills (Oglala Sioux)<sup>4/</sup>

Thomas W. Fredericks (Mandan-Hidatsa)<sup>3/</sup>

Thomas W. Fredericks (Mandan-Hidatsa)<sup>1/</sup>

James F. Canan<sup>2/</sup>

Kenneth L. Smith (Wasco)<sup>1/</sup>

John W. Fritz (Cherokee)<sup>2/</sup> **Ross O. Swimmer** (Cherokee)<sup>1/</sup>

William P. Ragsdale (Cherokee)<sup>2/</sup>

Dr. Eddie F. Brown (Tohono O'Odham/Yaqui)<sup>1/</sup>

Ada E. Deer (Menominee)<sup>1/</sup>

Kevin Gover (Pawnee)<sup>1/</sup>

Michael J. Anderson (Muscogee Creek)<sup>2/</sup>

James V. McDivitt<sup>2/</sup>

Neal A. McCaleb (Chickasaw)<sup>1/</sup>

Aurene M. Martin (Bad River Band Chippewa)<sup>2/</sup>

**David W. Anderson** (Lac Courte Oreilles Chippewa)<sup>1/</sup>

James E. Cason<sup>5</sup>/

Carl J. Artman (Oneida Tribe of Wisconsin)<sup>1/</sup>

George T. Skibine (Osage)<sup>6/</sup>

October 13, 1977 – January 19, 1980

January – July 1980

August 1980 – January 1981

**January 2 – 16, 1981** 

January - May 1981

May 15, 1981 - December 7, 1984

December 1984 – December 1985

December 5, 1985 – January 29, 1989

January – June 1989

June 26, 1989 – July 7, 1993

July 16, 1993 – November 1997

November 12, 1997 – January 3, 2001

January 5 - 21, 2001

January 22 – July 3, 2001

**July 4, 2001 – December 31, 2002** 

January 5 – August 1, 2003

February 2, 2004 – February 12, 2005

February 13, 2005 – March 8, 2007

March 5, 2007 – May 23, 2008

May 23, 2008 - Present

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1/</sup>Assistant Secretary – Indian Affairs (ASIA) [in **bold**]

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>/Acting Assistant Secretary – Indian Affairs

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup>/Deputy Assistant Secretary – Indian Affairs

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup>/Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary – Indian Affairs

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup>/Associate Deputy Secretary of the U.S. Department of the Interior who assumed authorities, functions and duties of the Assistant Secretary – Indian Affairs pursuant to Secretarial Order #3259, as amended, dated August 11, 2005.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup>/Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy and Economic Development – Indian Affairs and Director, Office of Indian Gaming, Office of the Assistant Secretary – Indian Affairs. In accordance with the delegation of authority issued by Interior Deputy Secretary P. Lynn Scarlett on May 23, 2008, he temporarily assumed the responsibilities of the ASIA following the departure of Carl J. Artman.