## **ANNEX 2**

## **Description of the Proposed North American<sup>Y</sup> Emission Control Area**

The area of the proposed ECA includes waters off the Pacific coast, the Atlantic/Gulf coast and the Hawaiian Islands. The Pacific portion of the ECA is bounded in the north such that it includes the approaches into Anchorage, but not the Aleutian Islands or points north. It continues contiguously to the South including water off the Pacific coasts of Canada and the U.S., with its southernmost boundary where California meets the border with Mexico. The Atlantic/Gulf portion of the ECA is bounded in the West by the border of Texas with Mexico, and continues contiguously to the East around the peninsula of Florida and north up the Atlantic coasts of the US and Canada and is bounded in the north by the 60<sup>th</sup> parallel. The Hawaiian Islands portion of the ECA includes only the eight main Hawaiian Islands. In the defined area, the outer boundary of the proposed ECA is 200 nautical miles from the territorial sea baseline, except that it will not extend into the marine areas subject to the sovereignty, sovereign rights, or jurisdiction of any State other than the United States or Canada consistent with international law and that is without prejudice to any undelimited maritime boundaries.

Specifically, the proposed ECA includes:

- a. the waters extending to an outer boundary of 200 nautical miles from the territorial sea baseline off the Pacific coast of the United States (except Alaska) and Canada;
- b. the waters extending to an outer boundary of 200 nautical miles from the territorial sea baseline off southeastern Alaska, United States, and located east of a rhumb line drawn between 58°51′04″ N., 153°15′03″ W. and 56°34′12″ N., 142°49′00″ W.;
- c. the waters extending to an outer boundary of 200 nautical miles from the territorial sea baseline off the Gulf of Mexico coast of the United States:
- d. the waters extending to an outer boundary of 200 nautical miles from the territorial sea baseline off the coasts of the following Hawaiian Islands: Hawaii, Maui, Oahu, Molokai, Niihau, Kauai, Lanai, and Kahoolawe; and
- e. the waters extending to an outer boundary of 200 nautical miles from the territorial sea baseline off the Atlantic coast of the United States and Canada, south of a line drawn between 60°00′00″ N., 64°09′36″ W. and 60°00′00″ N., 56°37′02″ W.;

provided that this emission control area excludes those marine areas subject to the sovereignty, sovereign rights, or jurisdiction of any State other than the United States or Canada consistent with international law and that is without prejudice to any undelimited maritime boundaries.

The coordinates presented above are based on North American Datum of 1983/World Geodetic System 1984 (NAD83/WGS84)

<sup>Z</sup> As used here, the main Hawaiian Islands are the populated islands of the Hawaiian Islands chain, including Hawaii, Maui, Oahu, Molokai, Nihau, Kauai, and Lanai, plus Kahoolawe, which is an uninhabited nature reserve.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>Y</sup> It is recognized that the proposed "North American ECA" includes only waters adjacent to the United States and Canada. This term is used for convenience.