



## MEMORANDUM TO MEMBERS AND CONSULTANTS OF THE NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD

**SUBJECT:** Major Actions and Approvals at the February 23-24, 2009 Meeting

This memorandum is made publicly available for any interested parties to review. A more detailed summary of the meeting will be forthcoming and posted on the National Science Board (Board, NSB) public Web site (<a href="http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/">http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/</a>). The minutes of the Plenary Open Session for the February 2009 meeting will also be posted on the Board's public Web site following Board approval at the May 2009 meeting.

Major actions and approvals at the 408th meeting of the Board included the following (not in priority order):

- The Board approved the minutes of the Plenary Open Session (<u>NSB-08-123</u>) for the December 2008 meeting (<u>http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2008/1209/minutes.pdf</u>). Minutes for the Plenary Executive Closed and Closed Sessions for December 2008 meeting of the Board were also approved.
- 2. On behalf of the Board, the Executive Committee approved a resolution to close portions of the upcoming May 13-14, 2009 Board meeting dealing with staff appointments; future budgets; grants and contracts; specific Office of the Inspector General investigations and enforcement actions; and National Science Foundation (NSF) participation in a civil or administrative action, proceeding, or arbitration (http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2009/0513/closing.pdf).
- 3. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make an award to Boston University for the Renewal of the Science of Learning Center (SLC), Center of Excellence for Learning in Education, Science, and Technology (CELEST).
- 4. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make an award to the University of Washington for the Renewal of SLC: Learning in Informal and Formal Environments (LIFE) Center.
- 5. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make an award to Carnegie-Mellon University for the Renewal of SLC: Pittsburgh Science of Learning Center (PSLC).
- 6. The Board approved the FY 2010 budget requests to the Office of Management and Budget for NSF, which includes the Board, as well as the Office of the Inspector General.

- 7. The Board approved the recipient for the 2009 Alan T. Waterman Award, and the Chairman announced the awardee: Dr. David Charbonneau, Associate Professor of Astronomy, Harvard University, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics.
- 8. The Board Chairman announced the recipients of the 2009 Vannevar Bush Award and the 2009 NSB Public Service Awards. Vannevar Bush Award: Dr. Mildred Dresselhaus, Institute Professor and Professor of Physics and Electrical Engineering, Massachusetts of Technology. Public Service Award Individual: Dr. Roald Hoffmann, Professor of Chemistry, Cornell University. Public Service Award Group: Project SEED (Summer Experiences for the Economically Disadvantaged) of the American Chemical Society. These honorary awards were approved by the Board at the December 2008 meeting.
- 9. The Board approved the final report, *Investing in the Future: NSF Cost Sharing Policies* for a Robust Federal Research Enterprise (public comment draft NSB-09-2, and final report NSB-09-20) for public release subject to minor edits approved by the Chairman of the Board, the CSB chairman, and the Task Force on Cost Sharing chairman.
- 10. The Board approved the draft report, *Building a Sustainable Energy Future* (draft for public comment NSB/CPP/SE-09-1) to be released for public review and comment, subject to additional edits from Board Members and approved by the Chairman of the Board, the CPP chairman, and the Task Force on Sustainable Energy co-chairmen.
- 11. The Board approved a charge for the new Committee on Strategy and Budget, Subcommittee on Facilities (SCF) (NSB-09-29) with Dr. José-Marie Griffiths, chairman, and members Drs. Mark Abbott, Barry Barish, and Esin Gulari.
- 12. The Board Chairman established the *ad hoc* Committee on Nominating for NSB Elections (Elections Committee) with Dr. Jon Strauss, chairman, and members Drs. Douglas Randall and Thomas Taylor.

[signed]
Craig R. Robinson
Acting Executive Officer