## **Country List/Citizenship Information**

Positions in the excepted service including ARS postdoctoral research associate positions may be filled either by (1) a citizen or national of the United States; (2) a citizen of a country the U.S. Congress has specifically exempted from the restricting legislation in the annual Treasury, Postal Service and General Government Appropriations Act; or (3) a national of a country currently allied with the United States in the current defense effort. Detailed information on Federal employment of noncitizens is available at: http://www.opm.gov/employ/html/non\_cit.htm

## The U.S. Congress has specifically exempted the following from the appropriations act restrictions:

- Persons who owe permanent allegiance to the United States (for example, natives of American Samoa and Swains Island);
- Aliens from Cuba, Poland, South Vietnam, or countries of the former Soviet Union (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan) lawfully admitted to the U.S. for permanent residence (have a 'green card');
- South Vietnamese, Cambodian, and Laotian refugees parolled into the U.S. after 1/1/75;
- Nationals of the People's Republic of China (PRC) who qualify under the Chinese Student Protection Act of 1992. Note: These individuals were in the U.S. on/after June 5, 1989 through April 11, 1990 and not physically present in the PRC for more than 90 days between April 11, 1990 and October 9, 1992. This is reflected by Code EC6 as the first three characters on the reverse of their Permanent Resident Card);
- Citizens of Ireland, Israel, or the Republic of the Philippines

Also exempt from the appropriations act ban are nationals of countries currently allied with the United States in a defense effort, (as determined by the Office of the Assistant Legal Adviser for Treaty Affairs, Department of State, 202 647-1345). **Listing of countries as of July 2006.** 

Argentina	Cuba	Haiti	New Zealand	Slovenia
Australia	Czech Rep.	Honduras	Nicaragua	Spain
Bahamas	Denmark	Hungary	Norway	Thailand
Belgium	Dominican Rep.	Iceland	Panama	Tobago
Bolivia	Ecuador	Italy	Paraguay	Trinidad
Brazil	El Salvador	Japan	Peru	Turkey
Bulgaria	Estonia	Korea (Rep. of)	Philippines	United
Canada	France	Latvia	Poland	Kingdom*
Chile	Germany	Lithuania	Portugal	Uruguay
Colombia	Greece	Luxembourg	Romania	Venezuela
Costa Rica	Guatemala	Netherlands	Slovak Republic	

<sup>\*</sup> Great Britain (England, Scotland, and Wales) and Northern Ireland.

**Note:** Immigration law bans employment of noncitizens unless lawfully admitted for permanent residence or are otherwise authorized to be employed.