

Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, S.W. Washington, D. C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

This is an unofficial announcement of Commission action. Release of the full text of a Commission order constitutes official action. See MCI v. FCC. 515 F 2d 385 (D.C. Circ 1974).

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

April 22, 2009

NEWS MEDIA CONTACT: David Fiske (202) 418-0513

Acting Chairman Copps Announces Membership and Initial Meeting of Federal Advisory Committee on Diversity for Communications in the Digital Age

Washington D.C. – Michael J. Copps, Acting Chairman of the Federal Communications Commission announced the full membership of the Commission's Advisory Committee on Diversity for Communications in the Digital Age. The members are:

Henry Rivera, Emma Bowen Foundation for Minority Interests in Media (Chairperson)

Raúl Alarćon, Jr., Spanish Broadcasting System

Jenny Alonzo, Mio.TV

James M. Assey, Jr., National Cable and Telecommunications Association

Geoffrey C. Blackwell, Chickasaw Nation Industries, Inc.

Matthew Blank, Showtime Networks

Maria E. Brennan, American Women in Radio and Television

Kathy Brown, Verizon

Toni Cook Bush, Virgin Mobile

Alan B. Davidson, Google, Inc.

Ralph de la Vega, AT&T Mobility and Consumer Markets

Steve Hillard, Council Tree Communications

David Honig, Minority Media and Telecommunications Council

Rodney Hood, National Credit Union Administration

Ronald Johnson, Ronson Network Services

Debra Lee, BET Holdings, Inc.

Jane Mago, National Association of Broadcasters

Robert Mendez, ABC Television Network

Marc H. Morial, National Urban League

Karen K. Narasaki, Asian American Justice Center

Melissa Newman, Owest

Jake Oliver, Afro-American Newspapers

Susan K. Patrick, Patrick Communications

Lisa Pickrum, The RLJ Companies

Rey Ramsey, One Economy Corporation

Michael V. Roberts, Roberts Broadcasting Companies LLC

Andrew Schwartzman, Media Access Project

Anita Stephens Graham, Opportunity Capital Partners

Diane Sutter, Shooting Star Broadcasting

Charles Warfield, Inner City Broadcasting

James Winston, National Association of Black Owned Broadcasters

The Diversity Committee's mission is to make recommendations to the FCC regarding policies and practices that will further enhance the ability of minorities and women to participate in telecommunications and related industries. Issues to be considered by the Committee will include, but are not limited to, financial issues such as access to capital, transactional transparency, career advancement, and the impact of new and emerging technologies on diversity issues. The Diversity Committee is organized under, and will operate in accordance with, the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act, 5 U.S.C. App 2 (1988). The committee is re-chartered through December 16, 2010.

"I am extremely pleased to announce the membership of this vital Advisory Committee," Acting Chairman Copps stated, "which will provide an important and independent voice for strengthening our commitment to diversity. The sad truth is that the diversity of this great nation is not reflected in the ownership of its media and telecommunications facilities. The time has come to chart a new course, to roll up our sleeves and get to work to craft sustainable solutions. I would like the Committee to convene as quickly as possible and, along with whatever priorities it has, to take up two issues that I believe warrant immediate attention: (1) recommendations regarding the state of past Commission *Adarand* studies and the nature, scope and methodology of any additional studies or updates that are necessary; and (2) recommendations on a "full file review" process that the FCC can implement on an interim basis and that builds on the work done by the prior Diversity Committee."

The Diversity Committee is scheduled to hold a meeting on May 7, 2009, at 10:00 a.m., Eastern Standard Time, in the Commission Meeting Room at the headquarters of the Federal Communications Commission, TW-C305, 445 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20554. The meeting is open to the general public. Real Audio access to the meeting will be available at www.fcc.gov/.

For additional information, please contact Barbara Kreisman, (202) 418-1605, Barbara.Kreisman@fcc.gov or Jamila Bess Johnson, (202) 418-2608, Jamila-Bess.Johnson@fcc.gov

-FCC-

News and information about the Federal Communications Commission is available at www.fcc.gov