## Basis for Closing the National Science Board's December 3, 2008 Vannevar Bush Award Committee teleconference

From November 20-25, 2008, the National Science Board voted to close the December 3, 2008 teleconference of its ad hoc Committee for the Vannevar Bush Award. Board Members Drs. Abbott, Beering, Benbow, Bruer, Clough, Droegemeier, Galloway, Griffiths, Gulari, Lanzerotti, Leshner, Reilly, Strauss, Souvaine, Sullivan, and Taylor participated in the vote and no Member objected to the closing.

The Board Members, National Science Board Office staff, and selected NSF staff will participate. The justification for closing the teleconference is provided in the attached certification.

## **CERTIFICATE**

It is my opinion that the teleconference meeting of the National Science Board's *ad hoc* Committee for the Vannevar Bush Award, scheduled for December 3, 2008, to discuss candidates for the 2009 Vannevar Bush Award, may properly be closed to the public under 5 U.S.C. § 552b(c) (2) and (6).

[signed]

Lawrence Rudolph General Counsel National Science Foundation