NEWS

FEDERATION OF MATERIALS SOCIETIES 910 17th Street, NW, Suite 800 Washington, DC 20006

IMMEDIATE RELEASE: 9/27/07 CONTACT: BETSY HOUSTON (202)296-9282 betsyhou@ix.netcom.com

MIHAIL ROCO, U.S. NANOTECHNOLOGY LEADER, RECEIVES NATIONAL MATERIALS ADVANCEMENT AWARD

Dr. Mihail C. Roco, the primary coordinator of the U.S. nanotechnology science, engineering and technology effort, receives the National Materials Advancement Award from the Federation of Materials Societies at a reception at the National Press Club in Washington, DC, on December 5, 2007.

The National Materials Advancement Award is presented to recognize individuals who have demonstrated outstanding capabilities and contributions in: advancing the multi-disciplinary field of materials science and engineering; the effective and economic use of materials in the marketplace and the application of materials developments to national problems and defense; and the development and implementation of national policy which furthers the impact of materials sciences and engineering on our society.

Dr. Roco is the founding Chair of the National Science and Technology Council's subcommittee on Nanoscale Science, Engineering and Technology (NSET) and is Senior Advisor for Nanotechnology at the National Science Foundation. He is widely recognized as the individual most responsible for support and investment in nanotechnology by government, industry, and academia worldwide. Envisioning a "next industrial revolution" powered by advances in the control of matter at the nanoscale, he built a coalition of agencies that became the nucleus of the National Nanotechnology Initiative (NNI) launched in 2000. Since then, federal investment in nanotechnology has increased almost six fold, to nearly \$1.5 billion in fiscal year 2007. The NNI has served as a catalyst for additional investments in R&D, education, infrastructure, and commercialization by foreign governments, universities, states, venture capitalists, startups, and leading multinationals in many industrial sectors. It also recognizes the need to support education at all levels, including K-12 students and teachers. Dr. Roco's leadership has emphasized pre-competitive issues such as intellectual property, environmental/safety/health concerns, and standards/metrology.

Prior to joining NSF, Dr. Roco was Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Kentucky and held visiting professorships at the California Institute of Technology, Johns Hopkins University, Tohoku University, and Delft University of Technology. He is credited with 13 inventions, and has authored/co-authored numerous archival articles and 12 books. A Fellow of the Institute of Physics, the American

Institute of Chemical Engineers, and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, he also is a Correspondent Member of the Swiss Academy of Engineering Sciences. He helped create a new forum – the International Conference on Cooperation and Collaboration – whose third meeting was April 2007 in Brussels. Dr. Roco has been honored by the National Society of Professional Engineers, AIChE, and several European science and engineering societies. He is a co-founder of the AIChE Particle Technology Forum and of the International Multiphase Flow Council. He has served as editor for the Journal of Fluids Engineering and Journal of Measurement Science and Technology, and is Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Nanoparticle Research.

Previous recipients of the National Materials Advancement Award include Dr. Paul C. Maxwell, Science Consultant to the US House of Representatives Committeee on Science (1985); Dr. John B. Wachtman, Jr., Director of the Center for Ceramics Research at Rutgers University (1986); Dr. William O. Baker, retired Chairman of the Board of AT&T Bell Laboratories (1987); Dr. Morris Cohen, Institute Professor Emeritus, MIT (1988); Dr. Allen G. Gray, Technical Director Emeritus, ASM International (1989); Dr. Klaus M. Zwilsky, Director of the National Materials Advisory Board (1990); Dr. Rustum Roy, Director of the Materials Education Council (1991); Rep. George E. Brown, Jr., Chairman of the House Science, Space and Technology Committee (1992); Dr. Lyle H. Schwartz, Director of the Materials Science and Engineering Laboratory at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (1993); Dr. Nathan E. Promisel, retired Director of the National Materials Advisory Board (1994); Dr. Peter R. Bridenbaugh, Executive Vice President-Automotive, ALCOA (1995); Dr. Mary L. Good, Under Secretary of Commerce (1996); Dr. Arden L. Bement, Jr. (1997); Dr. Robert Baboian, retired Fellow of Texas Instruments (1998); Dr. Merton C. Flemings, Toyota Professor, MIT (1999); Dr. Mildred S. Dresselhaus, Director, Office of Science, US Department of Energy (2000); Dr. Bhakta B. Rath, Associate Director of the Naval Research Laboratory (2001); Dr. Jerry M. Woodall, D. Baldwin Sawyer Professor at Yale University (2002); Dr. John Hopps, Deputy Undersecretary of Defense (2003); Dr. James B. Roberto, Deputy Director, Science and Technology at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (2004); Dr. Alton D. Romig, Senior Vice President, Sandia National Laboratories (2005); and Dr. Leo Christodoulou, Program Manager, DARPA (2006)...

The Federation of Materials Societies is a consortium of technical and professional societies and associations whose constituencies include scientists, engineers and other professionals active in the areas of materials policy as well as R&D, processing, manufacturing, recovery, and resource availability.