

Department of Justice

Timothy M. Morrison, United States Attorney Southern District of Indiana

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Tuesday, September 30, 2008 http://www.usdoj.gov/usao/ins/

CONTACT: MARY BIPPUS (317) 229-2403 Fax: (317) 226-5002 Cell: (317) 590-7928

2008 ANNUAL UNITED STATES ATTORNEY AWARDS PRESENTATION HELD AT LAW ENFORCEMENT CONFERENCE

PRESS RELEASE

The 5th Annual United State Attorney Awards Presentation for the Southern District of Indiana was held today at the annual Law Enforcement Conference. The awards are presented to individuals who have exhibited extraordinary effort and made special contributions to successful prosecutions or litigation by the United States Attorney's Office. Timothy M. Morrison, United States Attorney for the Southern District of Indiana, announced that the following individuals were honored today:

Brian K. Ace, Federal Bureau of Investigation

Robert Bindley, Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco Firearms & Explosives

Charles L. Cohen, Indiana State Police

Arnold L. Fitzgerald, Drug Enforcement Administration, Kentucky

Ryan Harmon, Indiana State Police

Christopher L. Hill, Indiana State Police

Dennis L. Holt, Vincennes Police Department

Robert Hornbrook, Indiana State Police

Eric K. Jaeger, Bureau of Prisons

Mark M. Jenkins, Indiana State Police

Robert A. Langan, Drug Enforcement Administration

Troy McDaniel, Floyd County Sheriff's Department

Paul J. Meyer, Federal Bureau of Investigation

Jay Nawrocki, Indiana State Police

Aaron K. Payne, Hendricks County Sheriff's Department

James Robertson, Internal Revenue Service Investigative Division

Steven L. Schlobohm, Federal Bureau of Investigation

Daniel Schmidt, Drug Enforcement Administration

Garth Schwomeyer, Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department
Jill Semmerling, Department of Investigation, OIG
Mark Slaughter, Floyd County Sheriff's Department
Brent Steele, Department of Health & Human Services
Kevin W. Steele, Drug Enforcement Administration
Scotty Dean Stockton, Indiana State Police
Michael A. Vergon, Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco Firearms & Explosives
Edward M. Wheele, Federal Bureau of Investigation
Kenneth R. Weiss, Federal Bureau of Investigation
Allen Williams, Muncie Police Department
Rene Woods, Internal Revenue Service Investigative Division

"These awards celebrate the outstanding contributions of federal, state and local law enforcement to the mission of the United States Attorney's Office. All of these individuals demonstrated exemplary service and dedication in the investigation and trial preparation of matters brought to the United States Attorney's office for prosecution. The efforts of these law enforcement officers in cases involving crimes such as illegal drug distribution, embezzlement, felons in possession of firearms, arson-for-hire, mortgage fraud, prisoner litigation and misuse of federal funds, resulted in the prosecution of over 70 individuals", said Tim Morrison.

Gloria Riggs was also recognized today at the award ceremony and received a U.S. Attorney Award for her service and dedication to the Project Safe Neighborhoods initiative. Gloria served as a founding member of the Project Safe Neighborhoods Task Force Committee, volunteering her time and energy toward developing resources for the promotion of the PSN program.

"It is with grateful appreciation that we publicly recognize these individuals for their exemplary work and devotion to duty", said U.S. Attorney Morrison.

20080930. USAttorney Awards. wpd