## U.S. Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

JUN 7 = 2008

MEMORANDUM FOR HEADS OF DEPARTMENT COMPONENTS

FROM:

Lee J. Lofthus Michael H. alland Assistant Attorney General

for Administration

SUBJECT:

2008 Leadership Excellence and Achievement Program (LEAP)

As you may know, our 2007 mid-level leadership development program – Leadership Excellence and Achievement Program (LEAP) was very successful. It was a positive experience for the participants, the senior managers who participated, as well as the organizations that offered rotational assignments for the LEAP participants. As a result, we intend to repeat this program on an annual basis.

I am pleased to announce the participants in the Department's second LEAP class. Thirty-four nominations from 15 Components were received and have been approved (see attached list).

Your participant(s) should expect to receive a congratulatory letter of acceptance into the program from Mari Barr Santangelo, Deputy Assistant Attorney General for Human Resources and Administration; and, a LEAP orientation package with additional information and guidance from Mary R. Jones, Justice Management Division, Personnel Staff, Learning and Workforce Development.

Please extend my congratulations to your nominees, and thank you for your continued support of this important succession planning program.

Attachment



## 2008 Leadership Excellence and Achievement Program Component Participants

| DOJ Component                              | Participants          |
|--|-----------------------|
| Alcohol Tobacco and Firearms               | Phillip Samuel Kaplan |
| Alcohol Tobacco and Firearms               | Kelly Lago            |
| Alcohol Tobacco and Firearms               | Adam Pallotto         |
| Bureau of Prisons                          | Bruce Plumley         |
| Community Oriented Policing Services       | Gilbert Moore         |
| Criminal Division                          | Renee S. Caputo       |
| Criminal Division                          | Marsha Liss           |
| Civil Rights Division                      | Regina E. Morgan      |
| Civil Rights Division                      | Moeen Chowdhury       |
| Civil Rights Division                      | Alexandra Vince       |
| Drug Enforcement Administration            | Harriett Richmond     |
| Environment and Natural Resources Division | David John Tonrey     |
| Environment and Natural Resources Division | George J. Schubert    |
| Executive Office for U.S. Attorneys/USAO   | Elizabeth Galinski    |
| Executive Office for U.S. Attorneys/USAO   | Carol Ruiz            |
| Executive Office for U.S. AttorneysUSAO    | Alan Burch            |
| Federal Bureau of Investigation            | Tammy J. Moore        |
| Interpol                                   | Warren Lewis          |
| Justice Management Division                | Chau H. Tran          |
| Justice Management Division                | James McDaniel        |
| Justice Management Division                | Michele B. Spencer    |
| Justice Management Division                | Darlene W. Brooks     |
| Justice Management Division                | Lawrence R. Pfeifle   |
| Justice Management Division                | Valeria O. Dungee     |
| National Security Division                 | Dana Miroballi        |
| Office of Justice Programs                 | Robin Delany-Shabazz  |
| Office of Justice Programs                 | Kim Norris            |
| Office of Justice Programs                 | Holly Ridgeway        |
| Office on Violence Against Women           | Michelle Brickley     |
| Office on Violence Against Women           | Kimberly Woodard      |
| Tax Division                               | Gregory Bockin        |