## U.S. Coral Reef Task Force Kona, Hawaii August 2008

## **Business Meeting Agenda**

## Wednesday, August 27

10:45 – 12:15	Special Session: The Future of Coral Reef Conservation –Key Threats & Innovative Solutions
10:35 – 10:45	Break
	<ul> <li>Felix Camacho, Guam</li> <li>Benigno R. Fitial, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands</li> <li>Sebastian Anefal, Yap Federated States of Micronesia</li> </ul>
9:50 – 10:35	USCRTF Governor Remarks • Togiola Tulafono, American Samoa
9:40 – 9:50	Council on Environmental Quality Chairman – James Connaughton
9:30 – 9:40	EPA Administrator Remarks – Stephen L. Johnson
9:25 – 9:30	USCRTF Member introductions
9:15-9:25	Welcome by Hawaii Delegate – Laura Thielen
9:00 - 9:15	Move to Kahaluu I-IV for Welcome remarks by Co-Chairs
8:30 - 9:00	Opening Protocol (Makai Lawn)
8:15 – 8:30	Meet in lobby for opening protocol
7:30 - 8:15	Registration

(~10-15 minute presentation each allowing for ~30 minute discussion)

- Land Based Sources of Pollution & Water Quality
  - o Arlen Lancaster, Chief of Natural Resources Conservation Service
  - o Wayne Nastri, Regional Administrator EPA Region 9
- Fishing Alan Friedlander, NOAA Biogeography Branch/The Oceanic Institute
- Climate Change & Alternative Energy Dennis Welch, Senior Vice President of Environment and Safety, American Electric Power
- Discussion (30-minutes)

12:15 – 12:30 USCRTF Decision Item: Framework for Action

(introduction and discussion, final discussion and decision Friday)

12:30 – 1:30	Lunch
1:30 – 2:30	Public Comment
2:30 – 3:15	<ul> <li>Workshop Reports</li> <li>Bridging Community and Government – Jared Makaiau, Western Pacific Fisheries Management Council</li> <li>Traditional Knowledge – Meghan Gombos and Mahina Duarte, NOAA</li> <li>Recreational Stewardship – Emma Anders, Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources (DLNR), Division of Aquatic Resources</li> <li>Watershed Planning – Kathy Chaston, NOAA</li> <li>Climate Change – Mark Eakin, Climate Change Working Group cochair, NOAA</li> </ul>
3:15 – 3:30	Break
3:30 – 4:40	<ul> <li>Special Session: Hawaii's Network of Marine Managed Areas</li> <li>Community based participation and process (10 minutes)         <ul> <li>Sara Peck – University of Hawaii, WH Sea Grant Extension</li> </ul> </li> <li>Monitoring and effectiveness of the sites, comparison to other sites in Hawaii (30 minutes)         <ul> <li>William Walsh – Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources, Division of Aquatic Resources</li> <li>Ivor Williams – Hawaii DLNR, DAR/USGS Hawaii Cooperative Fisheries Research Unit</li> <li>Alan Friedlander – NOAA Biogeography Branch/The Oceanic Institute</li> </ul> </li> <li>New initiatives (10 minutes)         <ul> <li>Russell Sparks – Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources, Division of Aquatic Resources</li> <li>Discussion (20 minutes)</li> </ul> </li> </ul>
4:40 – 4:50	Award Presentations
4:50 – 5:00	All Islands Committee Chair Update – Vangie Lujan
5:00 – 5:10	Guam Joint Military Build-up – <i>Brigadier General Rex C. McMillian</i> , <i>Deputy Commander of Mariana Forces Pacific</i>
5:10 – 5:45	USCRTF Member Announcements
5:45	Pau (Closing)
6:00	Reception

## Thursday, August 28

Field trips to various locations

Evening Public Event – Indigenous Stewardship and Conservation Initiatives across the Pacific

|--|

,,,	
8:30 - 8:45	Opening Protocol
8:45 –10:15	<ul> <li>Special Session: Sustainable Use of Watersheds and Aquifers for Kona's Reefs</li> <li>Jim Juvik – University of Hawai'i, Hilo</li> <li>Eric Grossman – US Geological Survey, Pacific Science Center</li> <li>Sallie Beavers – National Park Service, Kaloko-Honokohau NHP</li> <li>Chris Yuen – Director of Planning, County of Hawai'i</li> </ul>
10:15 – 10:30	Break
10:30 – 11:40	<ul> <li>USCRTF Member and Partner Initiative Updates</li> <li>Rapid response to coral disease outbreak, Dry – Matt Patterson, National Park Service (10 minutes)</li> <li>International Coral Reef Symposium: Science to Management – Richard Dodge, National Coral Reef Institute (10 minutes)</li> <li>U.S. State of the Coral Reef Ecosystem Report – Jenny Waddell, NOAA (5 minutes)</li> <li>Two Samoa's Initiative on Environmental Collaboration – Samoa Ministry of Natural Resources &amp; Environment (10 minutes)</li> <li>Palmyra Atoll Research Consortium – Healy Hamilton, California Academy of Sciences (10 minutes)</li> <li>Micronesia Challenge – Fran Castro, CNMI (10 minutes)</li> </ul>
11:40 – 12:10	Public Comment
12:10 – 12:20	Award Presentations
12:20 – 1:20	Lunch

1:20 – 1:50	<ul> <li>International Year of the Reef Updates and Accomplishments</li> <li>International and Caribbean – Karlyn Langahr, USVI Coral Management Fellow</li> <li>Pacific Year of the Reef – Jeff Kinch, Secretariat of the Regional Environment Programme</li> <li>Highlights from Hawaii – Emma Anders, Department of Land and Natural Resources (DLNR), Division of Aquatic Resources</li> </ul>
1:50 – 2:20	Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument Update – Monument Co-Managers  • Athline Clark, State of Hawaii  • Susan White, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service  • Aulani Wilhelm, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
2:20 – 2:30	Hold for Governor Anefal remarks
2:30 – 2:45	Break
2:45 – 3:15	NOAA Coral Reef Conservation Program "Roadmap for the Future" Kacky Andrews – NOAA
3:15 – 4:15	USCRTF Priorities for Future Action: Discussion and Decision
4:15 – 4:45	Closing Remarks – Environmental Leadership – James Connaughton, Chairman Council on Environmental Quality, Executive Office of the President
4:45 – 5:15	USCRTF Member Closing Remarks