Library Journal Databases 
(Employees Only)
The Census Bureau Library subscribes to on-line databases that allow you to
search for information on a broad range of topics in magazines and periodicals.
The Library is now offering off site access to four of these databases:
EBSCO, HeinOnline, JSTOR, ProQuest,
and WilsonWeb! These journal databases provide
access to over 3,000 full text journals.
To access these databases off-site, please use the bar code number that appears on your Census Library Card. If you do not have a Census Bureau Library card, or would like more information on this service, please contact the Reference Desk at 301-763-2511 or send an email to library@census.gov.
EBSCO host offers a variety of proprietary full text databases, including Business Source Premier, and Academic Search Premier. Business Source Premier, designed specifically for business schools and libraries, provides more than 2,950 full text scholarly publications, including nearly 900 peer-reviewed journals. Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 3,600 scholarly publications, including more than 2,700 peer-reviewed publications.
EBSCO Basic Search Help Sheet (2 pages)
EBSCOhost User Guide (39 pages)
HeinOnline features almost 50 million pages of legal information in collections such as: Legal Classics, Law Journal Library, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, Treaties and Agreements Library, U.S. Congressional Documents, Foreign & International Law Resources Database, World Trials, Session Laws and many more.
Helpful Links:
HeinOnline
Overview
Frequently Asked Questions
JSTOR is a full-text, digital archive of scholarly journals on the general sciences and arts and sciences. This archive includes entire print runs, some of which begin as far back as the nineteenth cenutry. High-resolution images are available for display and printing, with a linked text file for searching.
Helpful Links:
JSTOR Basic Help Sheet (PDF)
JSTOR Business
Collection (PDF)
JSTOR and
Statistics Collection (PDF)
ProQuest's ABI/INFORM® database now provides access to prominent journals from renowned business content providers Kluwer Academic Publishers, John Wiley & Sons, Inc., and Palgrave Macmillan Ltd. With these content additions, ABI/INFORM Global now offers the full text of more than 900 premium business journals. This includes all academic journals from Palgrave Macmillian Ltd, 40 business journals from the BoldIdeas™ Collection, also 125 STM business and economic journals from Kluwer Academic Publishers.
ProQuest
Basic Help Sheet (3 pages)
ProQuest
User Guide (7 pages)
WilsonWeb provides Social Sciences Index as a bibliographic database, that indexes articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals. Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994. Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full text coverage begins in January 1995.
WilsonWeb
Quick Tips (2 pages)
WilsonWeb
Tutorial (11 pages)
WilsonWeb
Quick Reference Guide (23 pages)
[PDF] or
denotes a file in Adobe’s Portable Document Format.
To view the file, you will need the
Adobe® Acrobat® Reader
available free from Adobe.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau
