The Human Genome Organization (HUGO)

HUGO has been established to promote international collaboration on the mapping and sequencing of the human genome. Knowledge gained from this project will have great benefits for human health and wellbeing.

Functions:

- To help coordinate research on the human genome, and to provide international training programs on the relevant methodology.
- 2. To arrange the exchange of data, samples, and technology relevant to genome research.
- To foster parallel studies in model organisms such as the mouse and coordinate that research with the human genome project.
- To provide public debate and develop guidelines on ethical, social, legal, and commercial implications of the genome project.

Implementation:

- To plan regional centers for large scale mapping and sequencing which will also coordinate major resources including databases, collections of DNA clones, cell lines, and other biological reagents.
- 2. Until such regional centers are established, to oversee the networking and distribution of data and biological samples.
- 3. To assist in organizing and funding the human gene mapping workshops and other international meetings.
- To assist international exchange of knowledge and research techniques through training 4. fellowships, instructional courses, and workshops.
- 5. To offer expert advice to governmental and nongovernmental agencies on the support of genome research.
- 6. To produce and distribute a periodic summary of genome activities.

The Council:

Sir Walter Bodmer (vice-president) Piet Boorst Sydney Brenner George F. Cahill, Jr. Charles R. Cantor (executive committee) C. Thomas Caskey Webster K. Cavenee Pierre Chambon John Collins **Iean Dausset** (vice-president) Renato Dulbecco Malcolm A. Ferguson-Smith (executive committee)

Iean Frézal

Walter Gilbert (treasurer)

Karl-Heinz Grzeschik Bernhard Hirt Tasuku Honjo Leroy E. Hood (executive committee)

François Jacob Nancy A. Jenkins Fotis C. Kafatos George Klein Mary Lyon Kenichi Matsubara

(vice-president) Victor A. McKusick (president)

Andrei D. Mirzabekov Peter L. Pearson Ulf Pettersson

Lennart Philipson (executive committee) Elizabeth B. Robson Frank H. Ruddle (executive committee) Nobuyoshi Shimizu Thomas B. Shows Edwin M. Southern Grant R. Sutherland Glauco Tocchini-Valentini John Tooze (secretary)

James D. Watson Sir David Weatherall Ronald G. Worton Norton D. Zinder Harald zur Hausen

The Council of The Human Genome Organization (HUGO):

Sir Walter Bodmer - Imperial Cancer Research Fund Laboratory, London

(vice-president)
Piet Boorst - The Netherlands Cancer Institute, Amsterdam

Sydney Brenner - Medical Research Council, Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK

George F. Cahill, Jr. - The Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Bethesda

Charles R. Cantor - Columbia University, New York

(elected member to executive committee)

C. Thomas Caskey - HHMI - Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX

Webster K. Cavenee - Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, Montreal

Pierre Chambon - Institut de Chimie Biologique, Strasbourg, France

John Collins - Technische Universität Braunschweig, Brauschweig, West Germany

Jean Dausset - CEPH, Paris

(vice-president)

Renato Dulbecco - The Salk Institute, San Diego

Malcolm A. Ferguson-Smith - Cambridge University, Cambridge, UK

(elected member to executive committee)

Jean Frézal - Hôpital des Enfants Malades, Paris

Walter Gilbert - Harvard University, Cambridge, MA

(treasurer)

Karl-Heinz Grzeschik - Institut für Humangenetik und Genetische Poliklinik, Marburg, West Germany

Bernhard Hirt - Swiss Institute for Experimental Cancer Research, Lausanne, Switzerland

Tasuku Honjo - Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan

Leroy E. Hood - California Insitute of Technology, Pasadena

(elected member to executive committee)

François Jacob - Institut Pasteur, Paris

Nancy A. Jenkins - Frederick Cancer Research Facility, Frederick

Fotis C. Kafatos - Harvard University, Cambridge, MA and Institute for Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, Crete, Greece.

George Klein - Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden

Mary Lyon - Medical Research Council, Radiobiology Unit, Oxon, UK

Kenichi Matsubara - Osaka University, Osaka, Japan

(vice-president)

Victor A. McKusick - Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore

(president)

Andrei D. Mirzabekov - Institute of Molecular Biology of the Academy of Sciences, Moscow

Peter L. Pearson - Sylvius Laboratories, Leiden, The Netherlands

Ulf Pettersson - University of Uppsala, Uppsala, Sweden

Lennart Philipson - EMBL - Heidelberg, West Germany

(elected member to executive committee)

Elizabeth B. Robson - Medical Research Council, Biochemical Genetic Unit, London

Frank H. Ruddle - Yale University, New Haven, CT

(elected member to executive committee)

Nobuyoshi Shimizu - Keio University School of Medicine, Tokyo, Japan

Thomas B. Shows - Roswell Park Memorial Institute, Buffalo, NY

Edwin M. Southern - University of Oxford, Oxford, UK

Grant R. Sutherland - Adelaide Children's Hospital, North Adelaide, Australia

Glauco Tocchini-Valentini - Istituto di Biologia Cellulare, Rome, Italy

John Tooze - EMBO, Heidelberg, West Germany

(secretary)

James D. Watson - Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, Cold Spring Harbor, NY

Sir David Weatherall - John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford, UK

Ronald G. Worton - Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, Canada

Norton D. Zinder - Rockefeller University, New York

Harald zur Hausen - Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum, Heidelberg, West Germany