# 6 FAM 1790 BUILDING, FACILITY, AND ROOM DESIGNATIONS

(CT:GS-158; 02-26-2009) (Office of Origin: A/OPR/RPM)

#### **6 FAM 1791 GENERAL PROVISIONS**

(CT:GS-135; 08-13-2004)

- a. A Federal building may be named by Act of Congress or by the Administrator of the General Services Administration (GSA) (40 U.S.C. 298d).
- b. The Secretary of State may designate the name for any component of a Department of State facility.

#### 6 FAM 1792 BUILDING DESIGNATIONS

(CT:GS-135; 08-13-2004)

- a. The Main State Department Building located at 2201 C Street, NW, Washington, DC 20520, was named the Harry S Truman Building by Public Law 106-218 (115 Stat. 2412) on June 21, 2000.
- b. The National Foreign Affairs Training Center (NFATC) located on Arlington Road in Arlington, Virginia, was named the George P. Shultz National Foreign Affairs Training Center by Public Law 107-132 (115 Stat. 2412) on January 16, 2002.

#### **6 FAM 1793 COMPONENT DESIGNATIONS**

(TL:GS-65; 12-31-2000)

A wing (built in 1938) of the Harry S Truman Building is designated the George Catlett Marshall Wing.

# **6 FAM 1794 ROOM DESIGNATIONS**

6 FAM 1794.1 Harry S Truman Building

#### (CT:GS-158; 02-26-2009)

- a. The following rooms constitute the Diplomatic Reception Rooms:
  - (1) Walter Thurston Gentleman's Lounge;
  - (2) Dolly Madison Powder Room;
  - Martha Washington Ladies Lounge;
  - (4) John Adams State Drawing Room;
  - (5) Thomas Jefferson State Reception Room;
  - (6) Benjamin Franklin State Drawing Room;
  - (7) James Monroe Reception Room;
  - (8) James Madison State Dining Room;
  - (9) Edward Vason Jones Memorial Hall; and
  - (10) Henry Clay Room.
- b. The following rooms constitute the Eighth Floor Dining Rooms:
  - Martin Van Buren Dining Room;
  - (2) James Buchanan Dining Room;
  - (3) Daniel Webster Dining Room; and
  - (4) Robert Livingston Dining Room.
- c. Other designated areas include:
  - (1) Room 1312—The Delegates Lounge;
  - (2) Room 1315—The Loy Henderson Conference Room;
  - (3) Room 1331—The Patricia Stevens Conference Room;
  - (4) Room 1409—The Dean Acheson Auditorium;
  - (5) Room 2209—The Carl T. Rowan Briefing Room;
  - (6) Room 3239—The Ralph Bunche Library;
  - (7) Room 4825—The Mazolli Conference Room;
  - (8) Room 6210—The Philip C. Habib Conference Room;
  - (9) Room 7223—The John Jay Reception Room;
  - (10) Room 7225—The Treaty Room;
  - (11) Room 7227—The George C. Marshall Reception Room;
  - (12) Room 7516—The Thomas R. Pickering Conference Room;
  - (13) Basement (no room number) "The Foggy Bottom" dedicated by Secretary Colin C. Powell on August 17, 2001; and

(14) Rooms 1472-1499 and 1921-1935 - "George C Marshall Conference Center" dedicated by Secretary Condoleezza Rice on October 26, 2007.

# **6 FAM 1794.2 Foreign Service Institute**

(CT:GS-135; 08-13-2004)

The Foreign Service Institute contains the:

- (1) George Kennan Auditorium; and
- (2) Stephen B. Low Library.

# 6 FAM 1795 THROUGH 1799 UNASSIGNED