## Cabinet members who did not attend the State of the Union Address (since 1984)

- February 24, 2009<sup>1</sup> Attorney General Eric Holder
- January 28, 2008 Secretary of the Interior Dirk Kempthorne
- January 23, 2007 Attorney General Alberto Gonzales
- January 31, 2006 Veterans Affairs Secretary Jim Nicholson
- February 2, 2005 Secretary of Commerce Donald Evans
- January 20, 2004 Secretary of Commerce Donald Evans
- January 28, 2003 Attorney General John Ashcroft
- January 29, 2002 Interior Secretary Gale Norton
- February 27, 2001<sup>2</sup> Veterans Affairs Secretary Anthony Principi
- January 27, 2000 Secretary of Energy Bill Richardson
- January 19, 1999 Secretary of Housing and Urban Development Andrew W. Cuomo
- January 27, 1998 Commerce Secretary Bill Daley
- February 4, 1997 Agriculture Secretary Dan Glickman
- January 30, 1996 Health and Human Services Secretary Donna Shalala
- January 24, 1995 Transportation Secretary Federico Pena
- January 25, 1994 Agriculture Secretary Mike Epsy
- February 17, 1993<sup>3</sup> Interior Secretary Bruce Babbitt

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>This address before a joint session of Congress is not considered an official "State of the Union" message, although President Obama followed the State of the Union tradition of having a cabinet member stay home.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>This address before a joint session of Congress is not considered an official "State of the Union" message, although President Bush followed the State of the Union tradition of having a cabinet member stay home.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup>This address before a joint session of Congress is not considered an official "State of the Union" message, although President Clinton followed the State of the Union tradition of having a cabinet member stay home.

- January 28, 1992 Secretary of Agriculture Ed Madigan
- January 29, 1991 Interior Secretary Manuel Lujan
- January 31, 1990 Veterans Affairs Secretary Edward J. Derwinski
- February 9, 1989<sup>4</sup> Unknown
- January 25, 1988 Interior Secretary Donald P. Hodel
- January 27, 1987 Agriculture Secretary Richard Lyng
- February 4, 1986 Secretary of Agriculture John Block
- February 6, 1985 Commerce Secretary Malcolm Baldrige
- January 25, 1984 Secretary of Housing and Urban Development Samuel R. Pierce Jr.

Senate Historical Office February 2009

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup>This address before a joint session of Congress is not considered an official "State of the Union" message.