







American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 Broadband Initiative

March 24, 2009 (Washington, D.C.)

10:00 am - 11:00 am: Roundtable on Post-Award Compliance and Oversight

- Beth McConnell, Executive Director, Media and Democracy Coalition
- Eli Noam, Director, Columbia Institute for Tele-Information, and Professor of Finance and Economics, Columbia Business School, Columbia University
- Amina Fazlullah, Counsel, Media and Telecommunications Reform, U.S. Public Interest Research Group
- Sunne Wright McPeak, President and CEO, California Emerging Technology Fund
- Chris Murray, Senior Counsel, Consumers Union
- John Bunting, Broadband Technology Opportunities Program Audit Manager, Office of Inspector General, Department of Commerce

11:00 am - 11:30 am: Public Comment on Post-Award Compliance and Oversight

11:30 am - 1:00 pm: Lunch Break

1:00 pm - 2:30 pm: Roundtable on Selection Criteria

- Steve Morris, Associate General Counsel, National Cable and Telecommunications Association
- Richard Mirgon, President Elect, Association of Public Safety Communications Officials International
- Jenifer Simpson, Senior Director, Telecommunications & Technology Policy Initiatives, American Association of People with Disabilities
- John Muleta, CEO, M2Z Networks
- Derek Turner, Research Director, Free Press
- Jeannette Wing, Assistant Director of the Computer and Information Science and Engineering Directorate, National Science Foundation
- Ms. Jacqueline Johnson-Pata, Executive Director, National Congress of American Indians
- James Firman, President and CEO, National Council on Aging
- Lisa Scalpone, Vice President of Legal and Government Affairs, WildBlue

2:30 pm - 3:00 pm: Public Comment on Selection Criteria

3:00 pm - 3:15 pm: Break

3:15 pm - 4:15 pm: Roundtable on Community Economic Development

- Susan Au Allen, President & CEO, US Pan Asian American Chamber of Commerce
- Maggie Elehwany, Vice President of Government Affairs and Policy, National Rural Health Association
- Brian Fontes, CEO, National Emergency Number Association
- Ronald Johnson, President and CEO, Ronson Network Services Corp.
- Matthew Chase, Executive Director, National Association of Development Organizations
- Sandra Rosenblith, Senior Vice President, Rural Local Initiatives Support Corporation
- Debbie Goldman, Telecommunications Policy Director and Research Economist, Communications Workers of America
- Betty Manetta, CEO, Argent Associates

4:15 pm – 4:45pm: Public Comment on Community Economic Development