

No.: **1999-08** 

Date: **January 27, 1999** 

## FEDERAL HOUSING FINANCE BOARD

Appointment of Directors -- Federal Home Loan Banks of

Pittsburgh, Indianapolis, Dallas, Des Moines and San Francisco

Designation of Chairs -- Federal Home Loan Banks of Pittsburgh, Dallas, Des Moines and San Francisco

WHEREAS, section 7(a) of the Federal Home Loan Bank Act, as amended, (Bank Act) (12 U.S.C. § 1427(a)), requires the Federal Housing Finance Board (Finance Board) to appoint directors to the board of each Federal Home Loan Bank (FHLBank); and

WHEREAS, section 7(a) of the Bank Act requires further that at least two of each FHLBank's directors appointed by the Finance Board be chosen from organizations with more than a two-year history of representing consumer or community interests on banking services, credit needs, housing, or financial consumer protections (community interest directors (cid));

WHEREAS, Resolution Number 1998-37, dated July 23, 1998, reaffirmed the Finance Board's prior designation of the seventh appointive directorship in the FHLBank of Des Moines District;

WHEREAS, section 7(a) of the Bank Act and 12 C.F.R. § 932.3(b)(5) provide that the Finance Board may designate an eighth appointive directorship in the FHLBank of Des Moines District for 1999 after consultation with the FHLBank, and staff has consulted with the FHLBank about an eighth appointive directorship; and

WHEREAS, section 7(g) of the Bank Act (12 U.S.C. § 1427(g)), requires the Finance Board to designate one of the directors of each FHLBank to be the chairman of the board of directors of such FHLBank;

NOW THEREFORE, IT IS RESOLVED that the following individuals are hereby appointed as directors of the FHLBanks indicated below for four-year terms beginning January 1, 1999:

Federal Home Loan Bank of Pittsburgh J. Roger Glunt

Catherine Baker Knoll (cid)

Robert W. O'Donnell

Federal Home Loan Bank of Indianapolis Freman Hendrix

Carolyn Sparks Hutting

Bill R. Livvix, Sr.

Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas Myra L. Jones (cid)

Catherine Baker Stetson

Federal Home Loan Bank of Des Moines Linda R. Cottington (cid)

Peter A. Fanchi Lewis F. Weinberg

Federal Home Loan Bank of San Francisco Elihu M. Harris

Elvin W. Moon

Robert F. Nielsen (cid)

IT IS FURTHER RESOLVED that the following individuals are hereby designated to serve at the pleasure of the Finance Board as the chair of the FHLBank indicated below for a term as of the date herein and ending December 31, 1999:

Federal Home Loan Bank of Pittsburgh Raymond R. Christman

Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas Henry Flores

Federal Home Loan Bank of Des Moines Anthony J. Scallon

Federal Home Loan Bank of San Francisco Mary Lee Widener

IT IS FURTHER RESOLVED that this action supercedes that portion of Resolution Number 1999-03, dated January 20, 1999, which designated FHLBank chairs pro-tem for the FHLBanks of Pittsburgh and Des Moines.

By the Board of Directors of the Federal Housing Finance Board

/s/ Bruce A. Morrison

Bruce A. Morrison, Chairman