DECISION MEMORANDUM OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ACTING WITHOUT A QUORUM

Date: April 27, 1994

No.: 94-DM- 12

ISSUE: Approve 1993 Incentive Compensation Program awards for 11 FHLBank Presidents and the Managing Director of the Office of Finance.

FACTORS CONSIDERED:

The Finance Board, pursuant to 12 U.S.C. Section 1432 (Supp. I, 1989) approves the compensation for FHLBank Presidents.

The Finance Board approved, in December 1992, the 1993 Incentive Compensation Program (ICP) design and performance targets for System and individual FHLBank Plan criteria.

Each incentive award recommended for a FHLBank President and the Managing Director of the Office of Finance has been approved by each respective district board of directors.

1993 incentive awards were reviewed for compliance with the Finance Board approved ICP based on actual performance results for year ending 1993.

All ICP awards recommended by each FHLBank board of directors were in compliance with ICP guidelines, with the exceptions of the FHLBanks of Indianapolis and Des Moines.

The FHLBank of Indianapolis ICP award recommendation exceeded the allowable amount when calculated in accordance with the ICP, as a result of a request for an exception to be made on the profitability target and performance result.

The FHLBank of Des Moines ICP award recommendation was less that the allowable amount when calculated in accordance with the ICP, as a result of the Des Moines board using estimated target and performance result data, rather than final target and performance result data for the market presence criteria.

Having reviewed all the issues related to the FHLBanks of Indianapolis and Des Moines, Finance Board has determined that there are no substantive issues that substantiate an ICP award different than that as calculated in accordance with the ICP guidelines.

Finance Board staff has calculated $all\ ICP$ awards in accordance with the ICP guidelines and recommends those ICP award amounts for approval.

Approval of the 1993 incentive awards recommended by Finance Board staff would be consistent with the approved 1993 ICP.

DECISIONS:

Approve 1993 ICP awards for the following FHLBank Presidents and Managing Director of the Office of Finance in the amounts indicated below.

1. FHLBank of Boston

> Michael A. Jessee FHLBank President:

ICP Award Not To Exceed: \$60,377

2. FHLBank of New York

FHLBank President: Alfred A. DelliBovi

\$52,505 ICP Award Not To Exceed:

FHLBank of Pittsburgh 3.

FHLBank President: James D. Roy

ICP Award Not To Exceed: \$74,714

4. FHLBank of Atlanta

> FHLBank President: **Robert E. Showfety**

ICP Award Not To Exceed: \$59,916

FHLBank of Cincinnati 5.

> FHLBank President: Charles L. Thiemann

ICP Award Not To Exceed: \$71,797

FHLBank of Indianapolis 6.

Martin L. Heger FHLBank President:

ICP Award Not To Exceed: \$39,395

FHLBank of Chicago 7.

FHLBank President: Alex J. Pollock \$66,414

ICP Award Not To Exceed:

FHLBank of Des Moines 8.

FHLBank President: Thurman C. Connell

ICP Award Not To Exceed: \$50,849

9. FHLBank of Topeka

FHLBank President: Frank A. Lowman

ICP Award Not To Exceed: \$69,180

FHLBank of San Francisco 10.

> FHLBank President: Dean M. Schultz

ICP Award Not To Exceed: \$72,352

FHLBank of Seattle 11.

FHLBank President:

James R Fauistich

ICP Award Not To Exceed:

\$79,398

Office of Finance 12.

John K. Darr

Managing Director: ICP Award Not To Exceed:

\$62,870