Accessibility Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Main Content Home  |  Change Text Size  |  Contact IRS  |  About IRS  |  Site Map  |  Español  |  Help  
magnifying glass
Advanced Search   Search Tips

Contact a Local Taxpayer Advocate

The Taxpayer Advocate Service is an independent organization within the IRS, headed by the National Taxpayer Advocate. Each state has at least one Local Taxpayer Advocate who is independent of the local IRS office and reports directly to the National Taxpayer Advocate.

Select your “State” on the Map below, and call the Taxpayer Advocate Service office nearest you.

If you want to authorize another person to discuss the matter or to receive information about your case, download Form 2848, Power of Attorney and Declaration of Representative. You may also download Form 2848 Instructions. Or, you may use Form 8821, Tax Information Authorization if you want another person to receive information about your case but not represent you. If you are unable to download and print these documents, you can get them at most local IRS offices or by calling the IRS forms-only number, 1-800-829-3676.

Washington Oregon California Montana Idaho Nevada Utah Arizona Colorado Wyoming New Mexico Texas Hawaii Alaska Oklahoma Kansas Nebraska South Dakota North Dakota Minnesota Iowa Wisconsin Illinois Missouri Arkansas Louisiana Michigan Indiana Ohio Kentucky Tennessee Mississippi Alabama Florida Georgia South Carolina North Carolina Virginia West Virginia Pennsylvania Maryland Washington, D.C. Delaware New Jersey New York Connecticut Rhode Island Massachusetts Maine Vermont New Hampshire

Pacific US Territories (Guam, American Samoa and the Northern Mariana Islands)

Caribbean US Territories (Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands) and International

List of States


Page Last Reviewed or Updated: April 21, 2008