Acknowledgements

The following individuals are acknowledged for their contributions to the development of performance standards for the murine local lymph node assay (LLNA).

Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Validation of Alternative Methods (ICCVAM) Immunotoxicity Working Group (IWG)

U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission

Joanna Matheson, Ph.D. (IWG Co-Chair) Marilyn Wind, Ph.D.

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Office of Pesticide Programs
Masih Hashim, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Marianne Lewis
Deborah McCall
Timothy McMahon, Ph.D.
Amy Rispin, Ph.D.

Office of Prevention, Pesticides, and Toxic Substances

Ronald Ward, Ph.D.

Office of Research and Development Marsha Ward, Ph.D.

Office of Science Coordination and Policy Karen Hamernik, Ph.D.

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Center for Devices and Radiological Health Daniel Lyle, Ph.D. Vasant G. Malshet, Ph.D., D.A.B.T. Jeffrey Toy, Ph.D.

Center for Drug Evaluation and Research Paul Brown, Ph.D. Abigail Jacobs, Ph.D. (IWG Co-Chair) Jiaqin Yao, Ph.D.

Center for Veterinary Medicine Ruth Barratt, Ph.D., D.V.M.

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

Dori Germolec, Ph.D. William S. Stokes, D.V.M., D.A.C.L.A.M. Raymond R. Tice, Ph.D.

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health

B. Jean Meade, D.V.M., Ph.D.

European Centre for the Validation of Alternative Methods – Liaison Silvia Casati, Ph.D.

Japanese Center for the Validation of Alternative Methods – Liaison Hajime Kojima, Ph.D.

LLNA Independent Scientific Peer Review Panel

(March 4-6, 2008)

Michael Luster, Ph.D. (Panel Chair)

Senior Consultant to the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health Health Effects Laboratory Morgantown, WV

Nathalie Alépée, Ph.D.

Associate Research Fellow Pfizer PDRD MCT Laboratory Amboise, France

Anne Marie Api, Ph.D.

Vice President, Human Health Sciences Research Institute for Fragrance Materials Woodcliff Lake, NJ

Nancy Flournoy, M.S., Ph.D.

Professor and Chair Department of Mathematics and Statistics University of Missouri – Columbia Columbia, MO

Thomas Gebel, Ph.D.

Regulatory Toxicologist
Federal Institute for Occupational Safety
& Health
Dortmund, Germany

Sidney Green, Ph.D.*

Professor of Pharmacology College of Medicine Howard University Washington, DC

Kim Headrick, B.Admin., B.Sc.

International Harmonization and Senior Policy Advisor Policy and Programme Service Office Health Canada Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Dagmar Jírová, M.D., Ph.D.

Toxicologist, Research Manager
Head of Reference Center for Cosmetics
and Reference Laboratory for
Experimental Immunotoxicology
National Institute of Public Health
Prague, Czech Republic

David Lovell, Ph.D.

Reader in Medical Statistics Postgraduate Medical School University of Surrey Guildford, Surrey, U.K.

Howard Maibach, M.D.

Professor, Department of Dermatology University of California – San Francisco San Francisco, CA

James McDougal, Ph.D.

Professor and Director of Toxicology Research Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology Boonshoft School of Medicine Wright State University Dayton, OH

Michael Olson, Ph.D.

Director of Occupational Toxicology Corporate Environment, Health and Safety GlaxoSmithKline Research Triangle Park, NC

Raymond Pieters, Ph.D.

Associate Professor Immunotoxicology Group Leader Institute for Risk Assessment Sciences Utrecht University Utrecht, The Netherlands

Jean Regal, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Pharmacology University of Minnesota Medical School Duluth, MN

Jonathan Richmond, MB ChB, FRCSEd*

Head, Animal (Scientific) Procedures
Division
Home Office
London, U.K.

Peter Theran, V.M.D.

Consultant
Massachusetts Society for the Prevention
of Cruelty to Animals
Novato, CA

Stephen Ullrich, Ph.D.

Professor of Immunology Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center – Houston Houston, TX

Michael Woolhiser, Ph.D.

Technical Leader – Immunotoxicology Senior Toxicology Specialist Dow Chemical Midland, MI

Takahiko Yoshida, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Health Science Asahikawa Medical College Hokkaido, Japan

^{*} Drs. Green and Richmond were unable to attend the public meeting on March 4-6, 2008. However, they were involved in the peer review of the background review documents and concur with the conclusions and recommendations included in the *Independent Scientific Peer Review Panel Report - Validation Status of New Versions and Applications of the Murine Local Lymph Node Assay: A Test Method for Assessing the Allergic Contact Dermatitis Potential of Chemicals and Products.*

National Toxicology Program Interagency Center for the Evaluation of Alternative Toxicological Methods (NICEATM)

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

William Stokes, D.V.M., D.A.C.L.A.M.

Director; Project Officer

Raymond Tice, Ph.D.

Deputy Director

Deborah McCarley

Special Assistant; Assistant Project Officer

NICEATM Support Contract Staff (Integrated Laboratory Systems [ILS], Inc.)

David Allen, Ph.D. Eleni Salicru, Ph.D. Thomas Burns, M.S. Catherine Sprankle

Linda Litchfield Judy Strickland, Ph.D., D.A.B.T.

Gregory Moyer, M.B.A. Linda Wilson

Michael Paris

Statistical Consultant for ILS, Inc.

Joseph Haseman, Ph.D.

Other Acknowledgements

ICCVAM and NICEATM gratefully acknowledge the following individuals and institutions that submitted data to NICEATM used to support the development of performance standards for the LLNA.

Individuals

David Basketter, Ph.D.

Unilever Safety and Environmental Assurance Centre Sharnbrook, U.K.

G. Frank Gerberick, Ph.D.

Procter and Gamble Company Cincinnati, OH, U.S.

Ian Kimber, Ph.D.

Syngenta Central Toxicology Laboratory Macclesfield, U.K.

Institutions

BASF – The Chemical Company, U.S.

BAuA (The Federal Institute for Occupational Safety and Health), Germany

Dow AgroSciences, U.S.

DuPont, U.S.

ECPA (European Crop Protection Association), Belgium

EFfCI (European Federation for Cosmetic Ingredients), Belgium