

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION Office of Postsecondary Education

Monday, March 30, 2009

National Committee on Foreign Medical Education and Accreditation

The Madison – Lowes John Adams Room, A & B 1177 15th Street, N.W. Washington, D. C. 20005 (202) 862-1600

- 8:00 AM Introductions and Opening Remarks J. Lee Dockery, M.D., NCFMEA Chairperson Ms. Melissa Lewis, NCFMEA Executive Director
- 8:10 AM **Overview of Procedures for Review of Countries** J. Lee Dockery, M.D.
- 8:15 AM **Review of Countries:**

<u>CAYMAN ISLANDS</u> (Tab B) Type of Review: Redetermination

Committee Readers:

Raymond Caron, M.D. Martin Crane, M.D.

Department Staff:

Ms. Joyce Jones

Country Representatives:

- Dr. Ian Temperley, Chair, Accreditation Commission on Colleges of Medicine (ACCM)
- Dr. Anthony Peacock (ACCM)
- Dr. Barry Bresnihan (ACCM) [observer]

Committee Readers:

Paul LaPorte, M.D. Norman Maldonado, M.D.

Department Staff:

Mr. James Sneed

Country Representatives:

- Dr. Tony Peacock, Convenor (ACCM)
- Professor Ray Fitzgerald, Saba University

9:00 AM Welcoming Statements

Dan Madzelan, Delegated the Authority of Assistant Secretary For Postsecondary Education, U.S. Department of Education

<u>TAIWAN</u> (Tab M) *Type of Review: Redetermination*

Committee Readers:

John Jucas, M.D. David Munoz, M.D.

Department Staff:

Dr. Jennifer Hong-Silwany

Country Representatives:

- Dr. Chi-Wan Lai, CEO, Taiwan Medical Accreditation Council
- Dr. Chyi-Her Lin, Council Member/Dean, Taiwan Medical Accreditation Council/College of Medicine, National Cheng Kung University

<u>GRENADA</u> (Tab E) Type of Review: Report

Committee Readers:

James Hallock, M.D. Norman Maldonado, M.D.

Department Staff:

Mr. Bill James

Country Representatives:

- Mr. Thomas J. Monahan, Consultant, Grenada Ministry of Health
- Honorable Dessima Williams, Ambassador to Grenada

<u>HUNGARY</u> (Tab F) Type of Review: Redetermination

Committee Readers:

Martin Crane, M.D. Kiran Shah, M.D.

Department Staff:

Dr. Rachael Shultz

Country representatives:

- Dr. Gabor L. Kovacs, Chairman of the Hungarian Accreditation Committee Expert Committee on Medicine
- Dr. Rudolf Kolozsvari, University of Debrecen
- Balázs Erdei, Attaché/Science, Technology and Education, Embassy of the Republic of Hungary

DOMINICA (Tab C)

Type of Review: Report

Committee Readers:

James Hallock, M.D. Dennis Wentz, M.D.

Department Staff:

Mr. Steve Porcelli

Country representatives:

- Dr. Dorian C. Shillingford, M.D., Chairman, Dominica Medical Board
- Mr. Martin Michaelson, Esquire, Hogan & Hartson

- 12:15 PM Lunch -- Training: Dr. Thomas Nasca, Chief Executive Officer Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)
- 1:15 PM Review of Countries (continued)

DOMINICAN REPUBLIC (Tab D) Type of Review: Report

Committee Readers:

Norman Maldonado, M.D. Kiran Shah, M.D.

Department Staff:

Mr. Bill James

Country Representatives:

- Dr. Rosa Adelina Cespedes Garrido, Head. Department of Medical Education, Secretariat of Higher Education, Science and Technology
- Mr. Emilio E. Huyke, President, Edu-Con Educational Consultants
- Dr. Gustavo Batista, President, Member of the National Council for Higher Education, Secretariat of Higher Education, Science and Technology
- Dr. Franklin Garcia Fermin, Rector, Autónomous, University of Santo Domingo
- Lic. José Hazím Frappier Torres, Vice-Rector of Extension and Services to the Community, Central University of the East, UCE, in the delegation of the Dominican Republic

INDIA (Tab G)

Type of Review: Redetermination

Committee Readers:

Raymond Caron, M.D. Martin Crane, M.D.

Department Staff:

Dr. Jennifer Hong-Silwany

Country representatives:

- Dr. Ved Prakash Mishra, Member, Executive Committee, Medical Council of India
- Dr. Ashwani Kumar, Member, Medical Council of India

<u>PHILIPPINES</u> (Tab I) Type of Review: Report

Committee Readers:

Raymond Caron, M.D. Paul LaPorte, M.D.

Department Staff: Mr. Chuck Mula

Country representatives: None

<u>UNITED KINGDOM</u> (Tab N) *Type of Review: Redetermination*

Committee Readers:

John Jucas, M.D. Paul LaPorte, M.D.

Department Staff:

Mr. Bill James

Country representatives: None

5:00 PM Wrap-up

Lee Dockery, M.D. and Ms. Melissa Lewis