

## United States – Sub-Saharan Africa Trade and Economic Cooperation Forum Accra, Ghana July 18-19, 2007

The United States is pleased to announce that the sixth U.S.-sub-Saharan Africa Trade and Economic Cooperation Forum (AGOA Forum) will take place in Accra, Ghana, with a new format in which representatives of the private sector and civil society, as well as government ministers, will participate in an integrated Forum. The Government of Ghana will host the Forum in the Accra International Conference Center July 18–19, 2007. The theme of the Forum is: "As Trade Grows, Africa Prospers: Optimizing the Benefits Under AGOA."

The AGOA Forum is an essential element of the African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA) that offers participants a regular opportunity to renew U.S.–African ties and confer on a broad range of policy issues in a spirit of partnership and mutual interdependence. The Forum will bring together the governments of the United States and AGOA eligible countries, as well as representatives from the private sector and civil society. Participants will discuss how to optimize the opportunities offered under AGOA legislation, with a particular focus on ways the small and medium business sector can address the challenges of exporting.

AGOA was signed into law May 18, 2000, to encourage African countries to continue to open their economies and build free markets. On August 6, 2002; July 12, 2004; and December 20, 2006, President Bush signed additional amendments to AGOA that would increase preferential access for imports from beneficiary sub-Saharan African countries. Currently 38 of the 48 countries in sub-Saharan Africa have been designated as AGOA beneficiary countries.

## AGOA eligible countries:

Angola; Benin; Botswana; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cameroon; Cape Verde; Chad; Republic of Congo; Democratic Republic of Congo; Djibouti; Ethiopia; Gabon; The Gambia; Ghana; Guinea; Guinea-Bissau; Kenya; Lesotho; Liberia; Madagascar; Malawi; Mali; Mauritius; Mozambique; Namibia; Niger; Nigeria; Rwanda; Sao Tome and Principe; Senegal; Seychelles; Sierra Leone; South Africa; Swaziland; Tanzania; Uganda; Zambia.