Instruction Sheet to Departments/Agencies For Reporting Federal Workforce Data During a Pandemic Influenza

Instructions for: Federal Employees Status Report – Telework and Deaths

(Attachment B)

Completed by: Departments and agencies

Reporting Periods: Biweekly

Report due: Departments and agencies to provide data to OPM after the

end of each pay period

Definitions:

Top Row:

- # Federal Employees at Alternate Worksite means the total number of Federal civilian employees who worked from a location other than their official worksite at any time during the reporting period. Include any telework employees or employees receiving evacuation pay who continue to work from home (or an alternative telework site) during the pandemic influenza. Do not include employees who are on TDY or other travel status.
- Cumulative # Federal Employee Deaths means the total number of Federal civilian employees who have died since the beginning of the first reporting period, as determined by OPM.

Left Column:

- Outside U.S. means locations outside the 50 States, outside the District of Columbia, and outside any U.S. territory or possession.
- U.S. Territories/Possessions means American Samoa, Navassa Island, Northern Mariana Islands, Jarvis Island, Baker Island, Guam, Howland Island, Johnston Atoll, Kingman Reef, Midway Islands, Palmyra Atoll, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, and Wake Atoll.
- States means the 50 United States and the District of Columbia.
- U.S. Totals means computed totals for the 50 States and the District of Columbia.
- Grand Totals means computed totals for Outside U.S. + U.S. Territories/ Possessions + U.S. Totals.

Wash, DC Metropolitan Area means the District of Columbia; the counties of Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Calvert, Carroll, Charles, Frederick, Harford, Howard, Montgomery, Prince George's, Queen Anne's, St. Mary's, and Washington in Maryland; the city of Baltimore in Maryland; the counties of Adams and York in Pennsylvania; the counties of Arlington, Clarke, Culpeper, Fairfax, Fauquier, Frederick, King George, Loudoun, Prince William, Spotsylvania, Stafford, and Warren in Virginia; the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Fredericksburg, Manassas, Manassas Park, and Winchester in Virginia; and the counties of Berkeley, Hampshire, Jefferson, and Morgan in West Virginia.