How Do I
Visitor Guides to Pittsburgh
Local Websites
-
VisitPittsburgh.com
At this website from the Greater Pittsburgh Convention & Visitors Bureau one can book hotels, theaters, and restaurants. -
Burgh Bits & Bites Food Tours
Take a tour of the Strip District, a fantastic food destination. -
City of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Portal
The official municipal website provides a portal for residents and visitors. -
Imagine Pittsburgh
Imagine what you can do here! One of the safest cities and a top adventure town. -
Pittsburgh Cultural Trust
The Pittsburgh Cultural Trust website will give you the latest information on what cultural events are happening downtown. -
Pittsburgh Magazine: City Guide
Check out this annual city guide (July's issue) from WQED for information on attractions, arts & entertainment, shopping areas, dining, trails. All sorts of things for the Pittsburgher or visitor to do! -
Pittsburgh Neighborhood Tours
A promotional website for the neighborhoods of Bloomfield, Lawrenceville, Oakland, Mount Washington, North Side, South Side and the Strip District. Find out what you can do in these neighborhoods. -
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette: Travel Videos
Discover what western Pennsylvania has to offer through travel videos – brought to you by a partnership between post-gazette.com and Discover Pittsburgh Country. -
Pop City
PopCity covers the city neighborhoods of Downtown, East Liberty, Friendship & Penn Avenue Arts District, Lawrenceville, North Side, Oakland, Shadyside, South Side, Squirrel Hill, and The Strip District.-
The Visitor's Guide to Downtown
A September 27, 2006 article by Jen Saffron -
Top 10 Unique Things to Pittsburgh
An article by Abby Mendelson about what the visitor should not miss.
-
The Visitor's Guide to Downtown
-
Western Pennsylvania Museum Council
The Western Pennsylvania Museum Council is a non-profit consortium currently comprised of 84 museums in 16 counties in Western Pennsylvania. Look here for places to go. -
About.com: Pittsburgh
Area guide run by local Pittsburgh residents offers attractions, events calendar, pictures, links, and travel info, plus coverage of surrounding Pennsylvania counties. -
AOL CityGuide: Pittsburgh
Check out the Pittsburgh version from this national portal site. They do a good job on the Movies with a handy list of Pittsburgh theaters and what they're playing.
Return to the topArticles
-
36 Hours in Pittsburgh
"PITTSBURGH has undergone a striking renaissance from a down-and-out smokestack to a gleaming cultural oasis. But old stereotypes die hard, and Pittsburgh probably doesn’t make many people’s short list for a cosmopolitan getaway. Too bad, because this city of 89 distinct neighborhoods is a cool and — dare I say, hip—city. There are great restaurants, excellent shopping, breakthrough galleries and prestigious museums. The convergence of three rivers and surrounding green hills also make it a surprisingly pretty urban setting." This is a July 6, 2008 article from the New York Times by Jeff Schlegel.
Guide Books
City-Smart Guidebook: Pittsburgh.
F159.P63 C48x 1999
In 1999, a national travel series finally came out with a book on Pittsburgh. Written by Doina Locke and published by John Muir Publications.
F159.P63 C48x 1999
In 1999, a national travel series finally came out with a book on Pittsburgh. Written by Doina Locke and published by John Muir Publications.
Fifield, Barringer
Seeing Pittsburgh
F159.P63 F54 1996
A collection of walking and driving architectural tours written and photographed by two non-Pittsburghers. A great way to explore the city! From the University of Pittsburgh Press.
Seeing Pittsburgh
F159.P63 F54 1996
A collection of walking and driving architectural tours written and photographed by two non-Pittsburghers. A great way to explore the city! From the University of Pittsburgh Press.
Fineberg, Louis
3 Rivers on 2 Wheels
"An Explorer's Guide to Urban Pittsburgh"
PENNA q GV1045.5.P42 P57 2002x
A compilation of 10 self-guided bicycle tours offering intimate encounters with Pittsburgh¹s most diverse neighborhoods and eclectic architecture, 3 Rivers on 2 Wheels encourages and advises visitors and residents to explore the city¹s storied past and celebrated transformation by bicycle. Written by Louis , a Pittsburgh resident who leads bike tours for the Berkeley, California-based adventure travel company Backroads. (May 2002)
3 Rivers on 2 Wheels
"An Explorer's Guide to Urban Pittsburgh"
PENNA q GV1045.5.P42 P57 2002x
A compilation of 10 self-guided bicycle tours offering intimate encounters with Pittsburgh¹s most diverse neighborhoods and eclectic architecture, 3 Rivers on 2 Wheels encourages and advises visitors and residents to explore the city¹s storied past and celebrated transformation by bicycle. Written by Louis , a Pittsburgh resident who leads bike tours for the Berkeley, California-based adventure travel company Backroads. (May 2002)
Insider's Guide to Pittsburgh
F159.P63 I57 2008 4th ed.
Published by Globe Pequot Press, this book is geared to new residents.
F159.P63 I57 2008 4th ed.
Published by Globe Pequot Press, this book is geared to new residents.
Kidney, Walter C.
Pittsburgh in Your Pocket : a Guide to Pittsburgh-Area Architecture
NA735.P53 K52 1988x
Published by the Pittsburgh History & Landmarks Foundation. Also look at Pittsburgh's Landmark Architecture : The Historic Buildings of Pittsburgh and Allegheny County, Walter Kidney's 1997 monumental treatment.
Pittsburgh in Your Pocket : a Guide to Pittsburgh-Area Architecture
NA735.P53 K52 1988x
Published by the Pittsburgh History & Landmarks Foundation. Also look at Pittsburgh's Landmark Architecture : The Historic Buildings of Pittsburgh and Allegheny County, Walter Kidney's 1997 monumental treatment.
Moon Handbooks: Pittsburgh
F159.P63 M66x 2007 1st ed.
Pittsburgh is beginning to go mainstream. This Moon handbook is written by Dan Eldridge, a Pittsburgher since the early 1990s.
F159.P63 M66x 2007 1st ed.
Pittsburgh is beginning to go mainstream. This Moon handbook is written by Dan Eldridge, a Pittsburgher since the early 1990s.
Pilecki, Michelle
Quick Escapes Pittsburgh: 25 Weekend Getaways from the Steel City
F159.P63 P55 2001
This Quick Escape guide details 26 diverse minivacations within driving distance of Pittsburgh from New York's Finger Lakes to West Virginia's Monongahela National Forest. Great for Pittsburghers!
Quick Escapes Pittsburgh: 25 Weekend Getaways from the Steel City
F159.P63 P55 2001
This Quick Escape guide details 26 diverse minivacations within driving distance of Pittsburgh from New York's Finger Lakes to West Virginia's Monongahela National Forest. Great for Pittsburghers!
Pittsburgh for Kids: a guidebook and directory for grownups and kids
j F159.P63 P64 1999x
Compiled and edited by Karrol Bachman and the McEwan Open School. This is the 1999 version of a classic guidebook for families with kids in the Pittsburgh region.
j F159.P63 P64 1999x
Compiled and edited by Karrol Bachman and the McEwan Open School. This is the 1999 version of a classic guidebook for families with kids in the Pittsburgh region.
Rich/Poor Man's Guide to Pittsburgh
TX907.3.P42 P584x 10th ed.
The 10th edition of this classic guide to Pittsburgh restaurants and food by Dorothy Miller. Also contains 10 terrific day trips. Order online from New Pittsburgh Publications. They also offer Pittsburgh's Walking Map
TX907.3.P42 P584x 10th ed.
The 10th edition of this classic guide to Pittsburgh restaurants and food by Dorothy Miller. Also contains 10 terrific day trips. Order online from New Pittsburgh Publications. They also offer Pittsburgh's Walking Map
Reid, Brian K.
The Guide to Living in Pittsburgh: A Narrative for New Pittsburghers
F159.P63 R4 2000x
The 9th Edition (2000) of a guide book published by the graduate student organization of the School of Computer Science of Carnegie Mellon University.
The Guide to Living in Pittsburgh: A Narrative for New Pittsburghers
F159.P63 R4 2000x
The 9th Edition (2000) of a guide book published by the graduate student organization of the School of Computer Science of Carnegie Mellon University.
Routes to Roots
F159.P63 R68 2004x
Produced by the Rivers of Steel National Heritage Area, this Driving Guide is organized into five driving routes named for the region's famous rivers--the Ohio, Beaver, Monongahela, Youghiogheny, Allegheny and Kiskiminetas. Routes to Roots begins each of the driving routes with an introduction telling the area's history and describing its unique character. Other features include maps, points of interest, local festivals and events, community profiles, itineraries, and useful information such as addresses, hours, admission, and telephone numbers. This book is available for purchase online from the Rivers of Steel website.
F159.P63 R68 2004x
Produced by the Rivers of Steel National Heritage Area, this Driving Guide is organized into five driving routes named for the region's famous rivers--the Ohio, Beaver, Monongahela, Youghiogheny, Allegheny and Kiskiminetas. Routes to Roots begins each of the driving routes with an introduction telling the area's history and describing its unique character. Other features include maps, points of interest, local festivals and events, community profiles, itineraries, and useful information such as addresses, hours, admission, and telephone numbers. This book is available for purchase online from the Rivers of Steel website.
Toker, Franklin
Pittsburgh: An Urban Portrait
F159.P63 T65 1994
"Franklin Toker, with the insights gained from his earlier studies as an architectural and urban historian, analyzes the city and paints a meticulously crafted portrait, neighborhood by neighborhood." From the University of Pittsburgh Press.
Pittsburgh: An Urban Portrait
F159.P63 T65 1994
"Franklin Toker, with the insights gained from his earlier studies as an architectural and urban historian, analyzes the city and paints a meticulously crafted portrait, neighborhood by neighborhood." From the University of Pittsburgh Press.
Videos
Rick Sebak and WQED have produced wonderful TV programs about Pittsburgh and its neighborhoods in their Pittsburgh History Series.
Sebak, Rick
Downtown Pittsburgh
1992 documentary focusing on the buildings, history and people of downtown Pittsburgh, the Golden Triangle.
Downtown Pittsburgh
1992 documentary focusing on the buildings, history and people of downtown Pittsburgh, the Golden Triangle.
Sebak, Rick
The Mon, the Al & the O
This 1993 documentary looks at Pittsburgh's three rivers: the Monongahela, the Allegheny, and the Ohio. Features stories from the rivers' past and visits with individuals whose work is on or along the rivers.
The Mon, the Al & the O
This 1993 documentary looks at Pittsburgh's three rivers: the Monongahela, the Allegheny, and the Ohio. Features stories from the rivers' past and visits with individuals whose work is on or along the rivers.
Sebak, Rick
North Side Story
A 1997 tour of Pittsburgh's historic North Side, formerly the city of Allegheny. Some of the places included are: the Mexican War Streets, Allegheny West, Manchester, Fineview, and Spring Garden neighborhoods; National Aviary; H.J. Heinz Plant; Andy Warhol Museum; Mattress Factory; Three Rivers Stadium; Pittsburgh Children's Museum; Allegheny Branch of the Carnegie Library; Penn Brewery; and Allegheny Observatory.
North Side Story
A 1997 tour of Pittsburgh's historic North Side, formerly the city of Allegheny. Some of the places included are: the Mexican War Streets, Allegheny West, Manchester, Fineview, and Spring Garden neighborhoods; National Aviary; H.J. Heinz Plant; Andy Warhol Museum; Mattress Factory; Three Rivers Stadium; Pittsburgh Children's Museum; Allegheny Branch of the Carnegie Library; Penn Brewery; and Allegheny Observatory.
Sebak, Rick
Something About Oakland
This video from 2000 features: Schenley Park, Phipps Conservatory, Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Museums of Pittsburgh, University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University, Forbes Field and several local shops and restaurants.
Something About Oakland
This video from 2000 features: Schenley Park, Phipps Conservatory, Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Museums of Pittsburgh, University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University, Forbes Field and several local shops and restaurants.
Sebak, Rick
South Side
This 1998 documentary tours the Pittsburgh, Pa. neighborhood and features Carson Street, designated a "Great American Main Street." Provides interviews with current residents and store owners, and describes the area's history, including its former steel mills and glass works.
South Side
This 1998 documentary tours the Pittsburgh, Pa. neighborhood and features Carson Street, designated a "Great American Main Street." Provides interviews with current residents and store owners, and describes the area's history, including its former steel mills and glass works.
