|
The High-Altitude Sampling ProgramThe High-Altitude Sampling Program (HASP) database provides information on EML's archived stratospheric air filter samples and sample measurements. The HASP program was first established in 1957 to track the global dispersion of radioactive debris resulting from atmospheric nuclear testing. Stratospheric air filter samples and gas samples were collected at several locations in North and South America and analyzed for nuclear debris/trace gases. The database includes several sets of information about archived samples and data. The High-Altitude Balloon Sampling Program, Project Ashcan, ran from 1956 to 1983. This program used large polyethylene balloons to collect samples at altitudes from 20-27 km. The Stardust program used WU-2, RB-57F, RB-57C, and C-130 aircraft to collect samples at altitudes of 6-19 km, and ran from 1961 through 1967. However, there were earlier aircraft samples also collected (1957-1961), which were simply called the High-Altitude Sampling Program at the time, and which are treated here as belonging to Project Stardust due to similarities in collection and analysis procedures. In 1967, the aircraft sampling continued under the Airstream program, which was discontinued in 1983.
Technical note: The EML database searches require a frames-capable browser (Netscape 2+, IE 3+) and work best with Javascript enabled. You can download the latest version of Netscape free from their home page. Related links:
webmaster@eml.st.dhs.gov
Note:
The EML Sample Archives makes available environmental radiological data collected for programs funded through the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission, the U. S. Energy Research and Development Administration and the U. S. Department of Energy. All of these programs have been terminated. The databases were last updated in 1999. No additional data will be added to these databases. Any inquiries about these programs should be made to webmaster@eml.st.dhs.gov.
Contact: webmaster@eml.st.dhs.gov
|
| U.S. Department of Homeland Security |