How Do I
Research Databases for
History, Cultures & Social Studies
Logging on from home or work?
You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may register for one online. Please make sure that you are accessing our site via this URL: http://www.carnegielibrary.org/.
Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.
See also: Government & Law and Current Topics & Controversies.
| African American Experience | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full text information on African American history and culture.
| ||||
| American Women's History | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
American Women's History is a unique reference database containing biographies, historical and topical subject entries, speeches and other documents, maps and charts, photographs, and timeline entries that cover more than 500 years of American women's history.
| ||||
| CQ Researcher | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Provides in-depth, non-biased, full text reports on political and social issues & controversies.
| ||||
| Expanded Academic ASAP | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full-text articles and citations on all topics, from accounting to zoology.
| ||||
| Footnote |
Library Access
(Pennsylvania Department Only) | NO Remote Access | ||
|
A database of original source documents, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, US Presidents, historical newspapers, naturalization documents, and many more.
| ||||
| Historic Pittsburgh | Available to anyone | |||
|
A digital collection for Pittsburgh history, including full-text books, digital images & maps, census records, & a timeline.
| ||||
| History Reference Center | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
History Reference Center is a comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research.
| ||||
| History Resource Center: United States | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
One-stop source for U.S. history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.
| ||||
| History Resource Center: World | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
One-stop source for world history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.
| ||||
| LGBT Life with Full Text | Library Access |
Remote Access
(CLP Card) | ||
|
Full text articles and citations on LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender) issues
| ||||
| Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center | Library Access | Remote Access | ||
|
Full text of books that cover both sides of social issues.
| ||||
