Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

OREGON COLLECTIONS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE

Compiled by: Megan M. Dreger
Series Editor: Joseph C. Hickerson

Publication Date: March 1996
Series Number: LCFAFA No. 18
ISSN 0736-4903

The compiler wishes to thank Judith A. Gray for her assistance in the entries relating to cylinders and Native American collections, and Claudia J. Widgery, who compiled an earlier version of this finding aid in 1982.

AFS 3155-3313: One hundred fifty-nine 12-inch discs of instrumentals and songs recorded in Arkansas, Florida, Kentucky, Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Tennessee, West Virginia, and Wisconsin by Sidney Robertson (Cowell), Charles Seeger, and Margaret Valiant, 1936-37, for the Resettlement Administration.

AFS 3280-3281A: Two discs containing four instrumentals and songs played on tambouritzas and sung by the Balkan Troubadors (Lubo Mitrovich and Nick Mitrovich [both "born in Portland, Oregon"], Dan Radakovich, Bob Rajacich, and George Rajacich). Recorded in Eveleth, Minnesota, by Sidney Robertson (Cowell), July 28, 1937. (Fifteen minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 216B-217A)

AFS 9543B6-9562: Twenty 16-inch discs of Native American music recorded in Arizona, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, and Washington by Willard Rhodes, summer 1947, for the Bureau of Indian Affairs.

AFS 9545A1-B3: One disc containing ten Alaskan Eskimo and Navajo songs sung by Flossie Connery, Agnes Hicks, Alfred Hicks, and Mrs. Alex Saluskin. Recorded in Chemawa, Oregon, July 1947. (Sixteen minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 234B)

AFS 9548B2-9550B5: Three discs containing twenty songs of the Wasco and other tribes. Recorded in Simnasho, Oregon, August 4, 1947. (Forty-seven minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 235)

AFS 9548B1; 9551-9553A4: Four discs containing thirty-four songs of the Nez Perce, Winnebago, and other tribes. Recorded in Pendleton, Oregon, August 9-11, 1947. (Fifty-two minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 235-236A)

AFS 10,366-10,367: Two 16-inch discs of fiddle tunes and songs recorded in Portland, Oregon, by William L. Alderson, 1946-48. (Tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 300B)

AFS 10,366: One disc containing six songs sung by Reed College students. Recorded spring 1948. (Sixteen minutes)

AFS 10,367A1-8: One disc containing eight tunes played on fiddle by Karl Hutcheson, originally of Ravalli County, Montana. Recorded November 14, 1946. (Eight minutes)

AFS 10,3676A9-11: One disc containing three songs sung by Mrs. Don H. Slocum of Lake Oswego, Oregon. Recorded November 1946. (Three minutes)

AFS 10,367B1-6: One disc containing six songs sung with guitar by Reed College student Warren E. Roberts of Norway, Maine. Recorded spring 1948. (Thirteen minutes)

AFS 11,007-11,299: One hundred sixty-seven 12-inch discs, seventy-nine 10-inch discs, forty 8-inch discs, and seven 7-inch discs of music originally recorded on cylinders at various locations by various collectors. Donated by Helen Heffron Roberts, June 1956.

AFS 11,131A2; 11,133B: Two discs containing two songs sung by Charlie Cowen. Recorded at the Klamath Reservation, Klamath Lake, Oregon, by Samuel Alfred Barrett, ca. August-September 1907. (Six minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 370)

AFS 12,096: One 7-inch tape of twenty-five songs sung with guitar and harmonica by "The Ozark Mountaineers" (Almus D. Sisson and Harold D. Sisson), originally of Mountain View, Arkansas. Recorded in Portland, Oregon, after 1942. (One hour and eight minutes; LWO 4300)

AFS 14,218-14,221: Four 10-inch tapes of narratives, radio programs, and songs recorded in California, Colorado, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, South Carolina, Washington, and Washington, D. C., by Benjamin A. Botkin and the Voice of America, 1949-58.

AFS 14,219A: One tape containing twelve songs sung with guitar and piano by Michael Loring and six examples of "street-corner rhetoric" spoken by Arthur Boose, "The Last of the Wobblies." Recorded in Portland, Oregon, by Benjamin A. Botkin, August 1-3, 1950. (Fifty-four minutes; LWO 6080 reel 2A)

AFS 14,618-14,625: Eight 10-inch tapes of Native American music recorded in Arizona, Oklahoma, Utah, and Wyoming by Willard Rhodes, June 1951 July 1952, and in Oregon by Louise B. Johannaber, in or before 1952, for the Bureau of Indian Affairs.

AFS 14,625A3-12: One 10-inch tape containing ten songs sung by students at the Chemawa Indian School. Recorded in Chemawa, Oregon, by Louise B. Johannaber, in or before 1952. (Twelve minutes; LWO 6692 reel 8A)

AFS 17,125-17,128: Four 10-inch discs of twenty-two songs sung by Native Americans of the Nez Perce, Umatilla, Warm Springs, and Yakima communities. Recorded in Pendleton, Oregon, by Laura Boulton, 1946. This is Part 17 of the Laura Boulton Collection. (Forty-one minutes; tape copy on LWO 7551 reels 70B-71A)

AFS 17,129-17,134: Six 10-inch discs of thirty-six songs sung by Native Americans recorded in Hood River, Oregon, by Laura Boulton, 1947. This is Part 18 of the Laura Boulton Collection. (Forty-four minutes; tape copy on LWO 7551 reel 71A)

AFS 18,052: One 7-inch tape of six songs of the Yakima and other tribes discussed and sung with drum by Leroy B. Selam of Monmouth, Oregon. Recorded at the Library of Congress by Gerald E. Parsons, December 12, 1975. The fourth song has been published by the Library of Congress as "Death Chant (Honor Song)" on recording number LBC 15, Religious Music: Solo & Performance. (Thirty-two minutes; LWO 8862)

AFS 18,471: One 10-inch tape of nineteen songs of the Kalapuya, eleven songs of the Shasta, twenty-four songs of the Tututni, and three songs of the Upper Umpqua tribes. Originally recorded on cylinders in Siletz, Oregon, by Leo Joachim Frachtenberg, 1915-16. (One hour and ten minutes; LWO 9049)

AFS 21,830-21,834: Five 10-inch tapes of one hundred thirteen narratives and songs of the Clackamas Chinook, Lakmiyuk, Mary's River, Shasta, Tualatin, Yamhill, and Yonkalla communities. Spoken and sung by Victoria Howard. Originally recorded on cylinders in West Linn, Oregon, by Melville Jacobs, 1929-30. (Three hours and forty-three minutes; LWO 12,980)

AFS 21,857-21,865; 26,017-26,042: Thirty-five 10-inch tapes of interviews and tunes spoken and played by various old-time fiddlers. Recorded in western Oregon by Linda Danielson, August-September 1976. (Seventy hours; RWA 5740-5748; RWB 6194-6219)

AFS 22,169: One 10-inch tape of thirteen Tututni Indian songs sung by Hoxie Simmons. Originally recorded on cylinders in Siletz, Oregon, by Leo Joachim Frachtenberg, August 1915. (Thirty minutes; RWA 4834)

AFS 23,260-23,267: Eight 10-inch tapes of interviews concerning Jewish festivals and religious customs, family histories, personal narratives, and songs in Ladino and Yiddish. Recorded in Eugene, Pleasant Hill, Portland, and Salem, Oregon, by Marcia Mint Danab, July-October 1981, for the Jewish Festivals Project. The collection includes 137 pages of transcriptions. (Fourteen hours and thirty minutes; RWA 8870-8877)